The best thin extension cord is the one that disappears: flat enough to run behind the desk, thin enough to slide under a rug, and short enough to leave no coil of cable on the floor. A standard round cord is a trip hazard and an eyesore; a flat, low-profile cord is not. We compared five thin extension cords by stated length, gauge, outlets and safety listings, using only what each listing publishes.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall TROND Rotating Flat Plug Cord: ETL listed, flame-retardant, rotating plug, 3 outlets Check price on Amazon
Best UL Certified Maximm Rotating Flat Plug Cord: UL certified 16 AWG, rotating flat plug, 3 outlets Check price on Amazon
Best Slim Plug LitStar Flat Plug Cord: 0.35-inch flat plug, 3 sockets, 1625 watts Check price on Amazon
Best Long Cord Elecan Flat Extension Cord: 12 feet, flat cable, runs under rugs Check price on Amazon
Best Clear Cord Jplenty Clear Thin Cord: Clear 10-foot cord, 5 amps, for lamps and lights Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | TROND Rotating Flat Plug Cord | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Maximm Rotating Flat Plug Cord | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | LitStar Flat Plug Cord | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Elecan Flat Extension Cord | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Jplenty Clear Thin Cord | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

TROND Rotating Flat Plug Cord
A 6-foot flat extension cord with a 360-degree rotating plug, 3 outlets and ETL listing, for indoor home office use.
Pros
- ETL listed with UL94 V-0 flame-retardant housing
- 360-degree rotating plug in 0.73-inch thickness
- 3-sided power cube fits large plugs
- 16 AWG at 13 amps and 1625 watts stated
Cons
- 6 feet only; no longer option in this listing
- White only in this listing
- Bulky plugs may still crowd the cube
- 30-day money back is separate from the warranty
Detailed Review
TROND lists the TD-EC-US01X as a 6-foot flat extension cord with a patented 360-degree rotating plug. The bullets state a swivel wall plug at 0.73-inch thickness, a 3-sided power cube with 3 grounded outlets on different sides, ETL listing with UL94 V-0 flame-retardant PC and ABS, and 1625 watts at 125 volts and 13 amps. The listing states an 18-Month Product Warranty with a 30-Day Money Back Guarantee.
Who it's for: someone who wants the strongest stated safety package here. Who should skip it: anyone who needs more than 6 feet.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 6 feet |
|---|---|
| Gauge | 16 AWG |
| Outlets | 3 |
| Max | 1625W, 13A |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. ETL listed with UL94 V-0 flame-retardant housing, so safety scores 7 of 10. 18-Month Product Warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Maximm Rotating Flat Plug Cord
A 6-foot UL certified flat extension cord with a 360-degree rotating plug and 3 grounded outlets.
Pros
- UL certified 16 AWG wire stated
- 360-degree rotating flat plug
- Converts one outlet into three grounded outlets
- Low-profile design fits behind furniture
Cons
- 6 feet only in this listing
- White only in this listing
- No flame-retardant rating stated
- Replacement only within one year, per the listing
Detailed Review
Maximm lists the ADW-360-3306-W as a 6-foot flat extension cord with a 360-degree rotating flat plug. The bullets state 16 AWG UL certified wire, 3 grounded outlets for TVs, computers, monitors and lamps, a low-profile design for behind furniture, beds and desks, and 13 amps at 125 volts. The listing states a Limited 1-Year Warranty that does not cover misuse or normal wear and tear.
Who it's for: someone who wants UL certification with a rotating plug. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a longer cord.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 3/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 6 feet |
|---|---|
| Gauge | 16 AWG |
| Outlets | 3 |
| Amps | 13 A |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL certified 16 AWG wire, grounded 3-prong, so safety scores 6 of 10. Limited 1-Year Warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

LitStar Flat Plug Cord
A 6-foot white flat plug extension cord with 3 outlets and a 0.35-inch low-profile plug, for home office and travel.
Pros
- 0.35-inch low-profile flat plug
- 2 front plus 1 rear sockets avoid blocking
- Fits the top socket without blocking the bottom
- 16/3 AWG at 13 amps and 1625 watts stated
Cons
- 6 feet only in this listing
- No safety listing stated
- White only in this listing
- 18 months is shorter than some warranties here
Detailed Review
LitStar lists the LXE01-MB-CP-6 as a 6-foot white flat plug extension cord with 3 outlets. The bullets state a 0.35-inch low-profile plug for tight spaces behind TVs, bedframes and couches, 2 front-facing plus 1 rear-facing 3-prong grounded sockets, and 16/3 AWG at 13 amps and 1625 watts. The listing states an 18 Months warranty.
Who it's for: someone who wants the slimmest stated plug here. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a safety listing stated.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 6 feet |
|---|---|
| Gauge | 16/3 AWG |
| Outlets | 3 |
| Max | 1625W, 13A |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. 3-prong grounded sockets, low-profile plug, so safety scores 5 of 10. 18 Months. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Elecan Flat Extension Cord
A 12-foot flat extension cord with a slim 45-degree angled plug, thin enough to run under rugs.
Pros
- 12 feet, the longest stated here
- Thin flat cable runs under rugs
- 45-degree angled plug sits flush to the wall
- 16 AWG at 13 amps and 125 volts stated
Cons
- 12 feet leaves slack when the outlet is close by
- Single outlet only
- Black color only
- No safety listing stated
Detailed Review
Elecan lists the ZJ-2Z as a 12-foot flat extension cord with a 45-degree flat NEMA 5-15P plug. The bullets state a 0.35-inch ultra flat plug design that sits flush against the wall, a flat cord thin enough to run under rugs without hurting when stepped on, and 16 AWG at 13 amps and 125 volts. The bullets state a 2-Year Warranty: a refund or replacement if any quality issues occur within the first two years of purchase.
Who it's for: someone who needs the longest thin cord here. Who should skip it: anyone who needs more than one outlet.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 12 feet |
|---|---|
| Gauge | 16 AWG |
| Outlets | 1 |
| Plug | 45-degree flat |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Thin flat cable that runs under rugs, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Jplenty Clear Thin Cord
A 10-foot clear thin polarized extension cord, 20 AWG, for lamps, fairy lights and festive decor.
Pros
- Clear cord blends into any space
- Slides under carpet, rug or door
- Rated 5 amps at 125 volts and 625 watts
- Flexible wear-resistant insulation stated
Cons
- 20 AWG is the thinnest wire stated here
- 2-prong polarized, no ground
- Single outlet only
- Not water resistant, for indoor use only
Detailed Review
Jplenty lists the 002 as a 10-foot clear thin polarized extension cord. The bullets state a clear cord that slides under carpet, rug or door, a 5-amp 125-volt 625-watt rating for desk lamps, fairy lights and festive decor, and flexible wear-resistant insulation with reinforced stress points. The listing states a 30 Dyas Manufacturer warranty.
Who it's for: someone hiding a cord for lights or a lamp. Who should skip it: anyone who needs grounded 3-prong power.
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 19/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 10 feet |
|---|---|
| Gauge | 20 AWG |
| Outlets | 1 |
| Max | 625W, 5A |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Polarized 2-prong plug for small devices, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Maximm 15 Ft Rotating Cord15-foot Maximm rotating flat plug cord with 3 outlets, for longer runs.Check on Amazon
Maximm 3 Ft Rotating Cord3-foot Maximm rotating flat plug cord with 3 outlets, for short runs.Check on Amazon
UVTaoYuan 10 Ft Flat Cord10-foot flat thin 2-prong cord, ETL listed, single outlet.Check on Amazon
Jplenty 15 Ft Thin Cord15-foot black thin 2-prong cord, 20 AWG, single outlet.Check on Amazon
UVTaoYuan 5 Ft Power Cord5-foot black 2-prong cord with 2 outlets, for holiday lights.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Extension Cord | Office Score | Length | Gauge | Outlets | Safety | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TROND Rotating Flat Plug Cord | 9.6/10 | 6 ft | 16 AWG | 3 | ETL listed | View on Amazon |
| Maximm Rotating Flat Plug Cord | 9.6/10 | 6 ft | 16 AWG | 3 | UL certified | View on Amazon |
| LitStar Flat Plug Cord | 9.6/10 | 6 ft | 16/3 AWG | 3 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Elecan Flat Extension Cord | 9.5/10 | 12 ft | 16 AWG | 1 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Jplenty Clear Thin Cord | 9.4/10 | 10 ft | 20 AWG | 1 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 23 October 2026. Stated lengths run from 6 to 12 feet across the five picks.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance (stated gauge, outlets and length), build (plug design and materials), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For extension cords, safety means a safety listing and a grounded plug; the Maximm states UL certification and the TROND states ETL listing with flame-retardant housing. Four picks state a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TROND Rotating Flat Plug Cord | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 20 | 7 | 3 |
| Maximm Rotating Flat Plug Cord | 9.6 | 30 | 20 | 20 | 6 | 3 |
| LitStar Flat Plug Cord | 9.6 | 30 | 20 | 20 | 5 | 3 |
| Elecan Flat Extension Cord | 9.5 | 28 | 19 | 20 | 5 | 0 |
| Jplenty Clear Thin Cord | 9.4 | 26 | 19 | 19 | 5 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best thin extension cord
Gauge and what it can run
Four picks state 16 AWG wire at 13 amps and 125 volts, which the LitStar and TROND state as 1625 watts maximum. The Jplenty states 20 AWG at 5 amps and 625 watts for lamps and chargers. Thicker 16 AWG suits computers and monitors; the thinner 20 AWG suits fairy lights and small devices. Never exceed the stated wattage on the listing.
Plug shape and placement
The Maximm and TROND state a 360-degree rotating flat plug that points the cord in any direction behind furniture. The LitStar states a 0.35-inch low-profile flat plug that fits the top socket without blocking the bottom one. The Elecan states a 45-degree angled flat plug that sits flush against the wall. For more flat-plug options, see our extension cord with flat plug picks.
| Extension cord | Length | Gauge | Outlets | Plug |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TROND Rotating Cord | 6 ft | 16 AWG | 3 | 360-degree rotating |
| Maximm Rotating Cord | 6 ft | 16 AWG | 3 | 360-degree rotating |
| LitStar Flat Plug Cord | 6 ft | 16/3 AWG | 3 | 0.35-inch flat |
| Elecan Flat Cord | 12 ft | 16 AWG | 1 | 45-degree flat |
| Jplenty Clear Cord | 10 ft | 20 AWG | 1 | 2-prong polarized |
One outlet or three
Three picks give three grounded outlets: the Maximm, LitStar and TROND all turn one wall outlet into three. The LitStar states 2 front-facing plus 1 rear-facing sockets so bulky plugs do not block each other, and the TROND states a 3-sided power cube for the same reason. The Elecan and Jplenty state a single outlet for one device. Count the devices before choosing.
Running cords under rugs
The Elecan states its flat cord is thin enough to run under rugs and will not hurt when stepped on. The Jplenty states its clear cord slides under carpet, under rug or under door to hide clutter. A flat profile is the whole point for under-rug runs; a round cord bunches up. For longer runs, see our long extension cords guide.
Read the warranty line
Four picks state a warranty term: the Maximm states a limited 1-year warranty, the LitStar states 18 months, the TROND states an 18-month product warranty with a 30-day money back guarantee, and the Jplenty states 30 days. The Elecan states no warranty term. Keep the listing in case the cord fails early.
Setup Notes
- Match the cord length to the run: the picks state 6, 10 and 12 feet.
- Check the gauge against the load: 16 AWG at 13 amps, or 20 AWG at 5 amps on the Jplenty.
- Count the outlets: three on the Maximm, LitStar and TROND; one on the Elecan and Jplenty.
- Place flat cords under rugs with the plug accessible, not buried.
Frequently Asked Questions
What gauge extension cord do I need for a desk?
The Maximm, LitStar, TROND and Elecan state 16 AWG at 13 amps and 125 volts. The Jplenty states 20 AWG at 5 amps for lamps and chargers.
Can an extension cord run under a rug?
The Elecan states its flat cord is thin enough to run under rugs. The Jplenty states its clear cord slides under carpet, under rug or under door.
What does a 360-degree rotating plug do?
The Maximm and TROND state a rotating flat plug that points the cord in any direction. The low-profile design fits behind furniture, beds and desks.
How many devices can these cords power?
The Maximm, LitStar and TROND state 3 grounded outlets each. The Elecan and Jplenty state a single outlet.
Which picks have a safety listing?
The Maximm states UL certification and the TROND states ETL listing with a UL94 V-0 flame-retardant housing. The others state no listing.
Related guides
See every Audio, Power and Connectivity guide and all Surge Protectors and Cable Management guides.
More picks: extension cord with flat plug, long extension cords, clear extension cord, extension cord heavy duty.




