Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Audio, Power and Connectivity

Best UPS for Home Office (2026): 5 Units Compared

Five UPS units for the home office compared by capacity, outlets, waveform, battery type, stated runtime and warranty term.

Best UPS for Home Office (2026): 5 Units Compared

The best ups for home office use is the one that keeps your call alive when the lights flicker, so a mid-sentence freeze never costs you unsaved work. A UPS keeps the computer, router and monitor running long enough to save work and shut down cleanly. We compared five UPS units for the home office by capacity, outlets, waveform, battery type, stated runtime and warranty term, using only what each listing publishes. The top pick is the CyberPower CP1500AVRLCD3, with the highest stated capacity at 1500VA/900W and a color LCD for monitoring.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • CyberPower CP1500AVRLCD3
    Best Overall CyberPower CP1500AVRLCD3: 1500VA/900W, 12 outlets, AVR, color LCD, 3-year warranty Check price on Amazon
  • GOLDENMATE 1000VA Lithium UPS
    Best Lithium GOLDENMATE 1000VA Lithium UPS: LiFePO4 battery, pure sine wave, 800W, 8 outlets Check price on Amazon
  • APC BX1000M Pro UPS
    Best for Desks APC BX1000M Pro UPS: 1000VA/600W, AVR, LCD, replaceable battery, 3-year warranty Check price on Amazon
  • CyberPower ST425
    Compact Pick CyberPower ST425: 425VA/260W, 8 outlets, 3.8 lb, UL certified Check price on Amazon
  • GOLDENMATE 600VA Lithium UPS
    Wall Mount Pick GOLDENMATE 600VA Lithium UPS: 600VA/360W, wireless charging, wall mount, 4.6 lb Check price on Amazon

The picks

CyberPower CP1500AVRLCD3

CyberPower CP1500AVRLCD3

CyberPower9.7/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 1500VA/900W mini-tower UPS with 12 outlets, AVR, a color LCD panel, two USB charging ports and a 3-year warranty including the battery.

Pros

  • 1500VA/900W is the highest stated capacity here
  • 12 outlets: 6 battery backup and surge protected, 6 surge protected
  • AVR corrects minor fluctuations without switching to battery
  • Color LCD panel shows battery and power conditions

Cons

  • The spec table lists output voltage as 12 volts against a 120 volt input; treat that figure as not reliable
  • Simulated sine wave, not pure sine wave
  • Heaviest unit here at 23.8 pounds
  • The 3-minute stated runtime is lower than the GOLDENMATE 1000VA's 30 minutes
Detailed Review

CyberPower lists the CP1500AVRLCD3 as a 1500VA/900W line-interactive UPS with simulated sine wave output, 12 NEMA 5-15R outlets split evenly between battery backup with surge protection and surge-only, and AVR that corrects minor fluctuations without using the battery. The color LCD panel shows battery and power conditions, and two USB ports (one Type-A, one Type-C) charge phones and tablets. The listing states a 6-foot power cord, a 3-year warranty including the battery, and UL, Energy Star and RoHS compliance. One oddity: the spec table lists output voltage as 12 volts against a 120 volt input, so treat the output figure as not reliable and trust the 120 volt input. It measures 13.78 by 3.94 by 10.2 inches and weighs 23.8 pounds.

Who it's for: someone who wants the highest stated capacity here with an LCD and USB charging for a full workstation. Who should skip it: anyone who needs pure sine wave output, or who wants a lighter unit.

Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 22/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 4/5: 87 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity1500VA/900W
Outlets12 (6 battery, 6 surge-only)
Runtime3 minutes stated
Warranty3 years

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL listed, Energy Star and RoHS are stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 3-YEAR WARRANTY – INCLUDING THE BATTERY. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

GOLDENMATE 1000VA Lithium UPS

GOLDENMATE 1000VA Lithium UPS

GOLDENMATE9.7/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A white 1000VA/800W lithium UPS with pure sine wave output, a LiFePO4 battery stated for over 10 years, 8 outlets and a color LCD.

Pros

  • Pure sine wave output is stated
  • LiFePO4 battery with over 10 years of stated life and 5000+ charge cycles
  • All 8 outlets are battery backup and surge protected
  • UL1642, UL1973, UL1778, FCC and TUV are stated

Cons

  • 2-year warranty is shorter than the 3-year terms on the CyberPower and APC units
  • The weight appears as 5.6 kg in one line and 12.13 pounds in another
  • 10-hour battery charging time is the longest stated here
  • Buzzer sounds on battery switchover unless muted
Detailed Review

GOLDENMATE lists this as a 1000VA/800W UPS with pure sine wave output and a 25.6V 9Ah (230.4Wh) LiFePO4 battery pack, stated for over 10 years and more than 5000 charge cycles, with a built-in battery management system. All eight NEMA outlets carry both surge protection and battery backup, and the color LCD shows battery and power conditions with a buzzer mute function. The listing states certifications to UL1642, UL1973, UL1778, FCC and TUV, a 30-minute runtime, and a 2-year warranty. One inconsistency: the weight is given as 5.6 kg in the spec table and 12.13 pounds in the size line, so expect it in that range. It measures 12.99 by 4.13 by 9.84 inches.

Who it's for: someone who wants a lithium UPS with pure sine wave output and a long stated battery life. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a 3-year warranty term, or who needs AVR stated.

Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 86 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity1000VA/800W
BatteryLiFePO4, 230Wh stated
Outlets8, all battery and surge
Warranty2 years

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL1642, UL1973, UL1778, FCC and TUV are stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 2 years warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

APC BX1000M Pro UPS

APC BX1000M Pro UPS

APC9.7/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 1000VA/600W tower UPS with AVR, an LCD display, 8 outlets, a user-replaceable battery and a 3-year warranty.

Pros

  • AVR corrects brownouts from 88V and surges without draining the battery
  • Over 42 minutes of stated runtime at a 100W load
  • User-replaceable battery (APCRBC158, sold separately)
  • Built-in coaxial and Ethernet surge protection

Cons

  • The title states 42 minutes at 100W while the spec table says 56 minutes with no load stated
  • No UL listing is stated
  • Waveform type is not stated
  • Only 4 of the 8 outlets are battery backup
Detailed Review

APC lists the BX1000M as a 1000VA/600W UPS with AVR that corrects low-voltage brownouts from 88V and surges without draining the battery, plus an LCD showing charge level, load, estimated runtime and power conditions. Four outlets are battery backup and four are surge-only, with built-in coaxial and Ethernet surge protection. The battery is user-replaceable (APCRBC158, sold separately), and the listing states a 3-year warranty with connected equipment protection. One contradiction: the title states 42 minutes of runtime at 100W while the spec table says 56 minutes with no load, so trust the title's loaded figure. It measures 12.2 by 3.58 by 7.48 inches and weighs 15.9 pounds.

Who it's for: someone who wants AVR with a long stated runtime at a typical desk load and a replaceable battery. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated UL listing or pure sine wave output.

Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 4/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity1000VA/600W
Outlets8 (4 battery, 4 surge-only)
Runtime42 minutes at 100W
Warranty3 years

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. AVR and built-in coaxial and Ethernet surge protection are stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 3-Year Warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

CyberPower ST425

CyberPower ST425

CyberPower9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A compact 425VA/260W standby UPS with 8 outlets, a 5-foot cord, UL certification and a 3-year warranty including the battery.

Pros

  • 3-year warranty including the battery is stated
  • UL certified with Energy Star and RoHS stated
  • Compact at 3.2 by 8.3 by 4.5 inches and 3.8 pounds
  • Transformer-spaced outlets for bulky plugs

Cons

  • 425VA/260W is the lowest stated capacity here
  • The spec table gives the battery charge time as 76 A, which is not a time
  • 1-minute stated runtime
  • Simulated sine wave, not pure sine wave
Detailed Review

CyberPower lists the ST425 as a 425VA/260W standby UPS with simulated sine wave output and 8 NEMA 5-15R outlets, four with battery backup and surge protection and four surge-only. It has a right-angle plug with a 5-foot cord, transformer-spaced outlets, and an LED that shows power-on and wiring fault. The listing states UL certification, Energy Star and RoHS, plus a 3-year warranty including the battery. One oddity: the spec table gives the battery charge time as 76 A, which is not a time, so treat the charge time as not stated. It measures 3.2 by 8.3 by 4.5 inches and weighs 3.8 pounds.

Who it's for: someone who needs compact backup for a router, modem and a computer, with a stated 3-year warranty. Who should skip it: anyone whose gear needs more than 260W, or who wants a display.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 4/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity425VA/260W
Outlets8 (4 battery, 4 surge-only)
Weight3.8 pounds
Warranty3 years

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL listed, Energy Star and RoHS are stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 3-YEAR WARRANTY – INCLUDING THE BATTERY. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

GOLDENMATE 600VA Lithium UPS

GOLDENMATE 600VA Lithium UPS

GOLDENMATE9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A compact 600VA/360W lithium UPS with a 76.8Wh LiFePO4 battery, 6 outlets, two USB ports, a 15W wireless charging panel and wall mounting.

Pros

  • 15W wireless charging panel for phones and watches
  • Wall mountable with included screws
  • Two USB ports (one Type-C, one Type-A) with 10W combined output
  • LiFePO4 battery with over 10 years of stated life and 3000+ cycles

Cons

  • The spec table says only Some standards met instead of naming certifications
  • Simulated sine wave, not pure sine wave
  • No AVR is stated
  • 10-minute stated runtime
Detailed Review

GOLDENMATE lists this as a 600VA/360W standby UPS with simulated sine wave output and a 76.8Wh LiFePO4 battery stated for over 10 years and 3000+ charge cycles. All six outlets carry surge protection and battery backup, and it adds two USB charging ports (one Type-C, one Type-A, 10W combined) plus a 15W wireless charging panel. The unit can sit on a desk or mount on a wall with the included screws, and it weighs 4.6 pounds at 11.02 by 4.57 by 4.41 inches. The listing states a 2-year warranty. One vagueness to note: the spec table says only Some standards met rather than naming certifications, even though the bullets claim industrial certifications.

Who it's for: someone who wants a small lithium UPS with phone charging and wall mounting for a light desk setup. Who should skip it: anyone who needs AVR, a named certification, or more than 360W.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 3/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity600VA/360W
BatteryLiFePO4, 76.8Wh
Outlets6, all battery and surge
Warranty2 years

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Surge protection on all six outlets and dual anomaly protection are stated, so safety scores 4 of 10. 2 years warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • CyberPower ST625UCyberPower ST625U625VA/360W standby UPS with 8 outlets and 2 USB charging portsCheck on Amazon
  • GOLDENMATE 1000VA Lithium UPS, GrayGOLDENMATE 1000VA Lithium UPS, GrayGray version of the 1000VA lithium UPS with pure sine wave outputCheck on Amazon

Compare the picks

UPS Office Score Capacity Outlets Waveform Battery type Warranty Amazon
CyberPower CP1500AVRLCD3 9.7/10 1500VA/900W 12 Simulated sine wave Lead acid 3 years View on Amazon
GOLDENMATE 1000VA Lithium UPS 9.7/10 1000VA/800W 8 Pure sine wave LiFePO4 2 years View on Amazon
APC BX1000M Pro UPS 9.7/10 1000VA/600W 8 Not stated Lead acid 3 years View on Amazon
CyberPower ST425 9.6/10 425VA/260W 8 Simulated sine wave Lead acid 3 years View on Amazon
GOLDENMATE 600VA Lithium UPS 9.5/10 600VA/360W 6 Simulated sine wave LiFePO4 2 years View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 23 October 2026. Three of the five state a 3-year warranty term and two state 2 years.

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance (capacity, outlets and stated runtime), build (form factor, enclosure and item weight), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For a UPS, safety means stated certifications such as a UL listing, plus AVR and surge protection; three of the five state UL certifications, and all five state surge protection. Three listings state a 3-year warranty term and two state 2 years. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
CyberPower CP1500AVRLCD3 9.7 32 21 22 8 4
GOLDENMATE 1000VA Lithium UPS 9.7 32 22 21 8 3
APC BX1000M Pro UPS 9.7 30 21 21 7 4
CyberPower ST425 9.6 26 20 21 7 4
GOLDENMATE 600VA Lithium UPS 9.5 27 20 21 4 3

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best ups for home office

Match the capacity to your gear

Capacity is the first number to compare. The CP1500AVRLCD3 states 1500VA/900W, the GOLDENMATE 1000VA states 1000VA/800W, the APC BX1000M states 1000VA/600W, the GOLDENMATE 600VA states 600VA/360W and the ST425 states 425VA/260W. Add up what you plan to plug in and leave headroom above it, since an overloaded UPS cannot hold its stated runtime.

Count the outlets you need on battery

Not every outlet on a UPS keeps gear running. The CP1500AVRLCD3 splits its 12 outlets into 6 battery backup with surge protection and 6 surge-only, the ST425 and the APC split their 8 outlets into 4 and 4, while both GOLDENMATE listings state all their outlets are battery and surge protected. Surge-only outlets protect against spikes but go dark with the mains, so put the computer and router on the battery side. For more protection gear, see our surge protector picks for computer equipment.

Look at waveform and battery type

The GOLDENMATE 1000VA states pure sine wave output. The CyberPower pair and the GOLDENMATE 600VA state simulated sine wave, and the APC does not state a waveform. On batteries, the GOLDENMATE listings state LiFePO4 packs with over 10 years of life (5000+ cycles on the 1000VA, 3000+ on the 600VA), while the CyberPower and APC listings state a 3-year battery average life and lead-acid cells. If you want to avoid battery swaps, the lithium listings state the longer life. Our UPS battery backup guide covers more models.

UPS Stated capacity Battery outlets Stated runtime Warranty
CyberPower CP1500AVRLCD3 1500VA/900W 6 of 12 3 minutes 3 years
GOLDENMATE 1000VA Lithium UPS 1000VA/800W 8 of 8 30 minutes 2 years
APC BX1000M Pro UPS 1000VA/600W 4 of 8 42 minutes at 100W 3 years
CyberPower ST425 425VA/260W 4 of 8 1 minute 3 years
GOLDENMATE 600VA Lithium UPS 600VA/360W 6 of 6 10 minutes 2 years

Figures as stated in each listing; runtimes depend on the load plugged in.

Check the extras: USB, wireless charging and wall mounting

The CP1500AVRLCD3 adds two USB charging ports (one Type-A, one Type-C), and the GOLDENMATE 600VA adds two USB ports with 10W combined output plus a 15W wireless charging panel for phones and watches. The 600VA also mounts on a wall with the included screws, which frees desk space in a tight setup. The APC and GOLDENMATE 1000VA add LCD displays for monitoring load and runtime instead.

Setup Notes

  • Add up the wattage of what you will plug in; the smallest unit here states 425VA/260W and the largest 1500VA/900W.
  • Put only essentials on the battery-backup outlets; the CP1500AVRLCD3, ST425 and APC listings split outlets between battery backup and surge-only.
  • The GOLDENMATE 600VA lists wall mounting with included screws if desk space is tight.
  • Keep the UPS plugged into utility power continuously; the 600VA listing notes it must stay connected to charge.

Frequently Asked Questions

How long will a UPS keep my computer running?

The APC states over 42 minutes at a 100W load. The GOLDENMATE 1000VA states 30 minutes, the 600VA states 10 minutes, the CP1500AVRLCD3 states 3 minutes and the ST425 states 1 minute. Runtime depends on the load you plug in.

What is the difference between battery backup and surge-only outlets?

Battery-backup outlets keep gear powered during an outage; surge-only outlets protect against surges but go dark with the mains. The CP1500AVRLCD3, ST425 and APC listings split their outlets this way, while both GOLDENMATE listings state all outlets are battery and surge protected.

Do I need pure sine wave for a home office?

The GOLDENMATE 1000VA states pure sine wave output. The CyberPower pair and the GOLDENMATE 600VA state simulated sine wave, and the APC does not state a waveform. The listings do not say which devices need which, so check what your equipment maker requires.

How often do UPS batteries need replacing?

The GOLDENMATE listings state LiFePO4 batteries with over 10 years of lifespan. The CyberPower and APC listings state a 3-year battery average life, and the APC states a user-replaceable battery.

CyberPower CP1500AVRLCD3
Still deciding? Our top pickCyberPower CP1500AVRLCD3
Check price on Amazon

See every power and connectivity guide. Also see our best UPS battery backup. Also see our best power strip with surge protector.

More picks: surge protector for desktop computer, power strip for desk, surge protector for computer equipment.