Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Docking Stations and USB Hubs

Best USB Hub for Vive Tracker Dongles (2026): 5 Compared

Five USB hubs compared for Vive tracker dongles, from a 7-port Vive-ready hub with a smart charging port to compact USB 3.0 and USB 2.0 picks.

Best USB Hub for Vive Tracker Dongles (2026): 5 Compared

Finding the best usb hub for vive tracker dongles starts at the desk where the VR rig lives, with a headset, a handful of tracker dongles and exactly one free USB port on the PC. Each dongle wants its own stable connection, and one overloaded port means dropouts in the middle of a session. We compared five USB hubs by port count, USB version, transfer speed, cable length and warranty term, using only what each listing publishes.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • IVETTO 7-Port USB 3.0 Hub
    Best Overall IVETTO 7-Port USB 3.0 Hub: 7 USB 3.0 ports, 5 Gbps, protection chip stated Check price on Amazon
  • Cable Matters 4-Port USB Hub
    Best Compact Cable Matters 4-Port USB Hub: 1 oz mini hub, 5 Gbps, over-current protection Check price on Amazon
  • Rebuff Reality 7-Port USB Hub
    Best for Vive Trackers Rebuff Reality 7-Port USB Hub: 7 ports, one smart charging port, Vive-ready Check price on Amazon
  • SABRENT HB-MCRM USB 2.0 Hub
    Best Travel Pick SABRENT HB-MCRM USB 2.0 Hub: 9.5-inch cable, 4 ports, 1-year warranty Check price on Amazon
  • SABRENT HB-UMLS USB 2.0 Hub
    Best Port Switches SABRENT HB-UMLS USB 2.0 Hub: Individual LED power switches, 4 ports Check price on Amazon

The picks

IVETTO 7-Port USB 3.0 Hub

IVETTO 7-Port USB 3.0 Hub

IVETTO9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 7-port USB 3.0 hub at 5 Gbps with a stated protection chip and a 3.3 ft cable.

Pros

  • 7 USB 3.0 ports at 5 Gbps
  • Protection chip against over current, over voltage, short circuit and high temperature, per the listing
  • 3.3 ft cable gives placement flexibility
  • Plug and play with no driver, per the listing

Cons

  • Does not support charging
  • No warranty term is stated
  • Plastic enclosure
  • No per-port power switches
Detailed Review

IVETTO lists a 7-port USB 3.0 hub with data transfer up to 5 Gbps, a 3.3 ft cable and dimensions of 2.87 by 1.97 by 1.97 in in a plastic enclosure. The bullets state a built-in chip against over current, over voltage, short circuit and high temperature, plug-and-play operation with no driver, and wide compatibility with Windows, Mac, Linux and Unix. The listing states it does not support charging, and no warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: a VR user who wants seven fast ports with stated circuit protection for a dongle-heavy setup. Who should skip it: anyone who needs charging support or a warranty term.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Ports7
Speed5 Gbps
Cable3.3 ft
ProtectionOver current/voltage, short circuit, high temp

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Stated chip protects against over current, over voltage, short circuit and high temperature, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Cable Matters 4-Port USB Hub

Cable Matters 4-Port USB Hub

Cable Matters9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 1 oz mini 4-port USB 3.0 hub with over-current protection and a 5-inch cable.

Pros

  • USB 3.0 at 5 Gbps in a 1 oz mini body
  • Over-current protection is stated
  • 5-inch flexible cable tucks into the hub for travel
  • Molded strain-relief connectors, per the listing

Cons

  • Only 4 ports
  • Bus-powered, so no external power for demanding devices
  • No warranty term is stated
  • Short 5-inch cable limits placement
Detailed Review

Cable Matters lists an ultra-mini 4-port USB 3.0 hub at 5 Gbps with an integrated 5-inch flexible cable, dimensions of 2 by 2 by 0.4 in and a weight of 1 oz. The bus-powered design needs no power adapter and the listing states over-current protection, backwards compatibility with USB 2.0, and molded strain-relief connectors for frequent use. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: a traveler or minimalist who wants a tiny USB 3.0 hub with stated over-current protection. Who should skip it: anyone who needs more than 4 ports or a longer cable.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Ports4
Speed5 Gbps
Cable5 in
Weight1 oz

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Over-current protection is stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Rebuff Reality 7-Port USB Hub

Rebuff Reality 7-Port USB Hub

Rebuff Reality9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 7-port powered USB 3.0 hub built for Vive tracker dongles, with one smart charging port.

Pros

  • Designed for Vive Tracker 3.0 and 2.0 dongles, per the listing
  • 7 ports including one smart charging port
  • 31.5-inch cable, the longest here
  • Powered hub for stable multi-device connections, per the listing

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No protection circuitry is stated
  • Largest footprint here at 3.5 by 1 by 6.25 in
  • Heaviest here at 128 g
Detailed Review

Rebuff Reality lists a 7-port USB 3.0 hub with one smart charging port, designed for Vive Tracker 3.0 and 2.0 dongles with support for up to 7 dongles. The listing states 5 Gbps data transfer, a 31.5-inch cable, dimensions of 3.5 by 1 by 6.25 in, a weight of 128 g, and a powered design for steady operation. No warranty term and no protection circuitry are stated.

Who it's for: a VR user running Vive trackers who wants a purpose-built hub with the longest cable here. Who should skip it: anyone who wants stated circuit protection or a warranty term.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Ports7
Speed5 Gbps
Cable31.5 in
Charging1 smart charging port

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SABRENT HB-MCRM USB 2.0 Hub

SABRENT HB-MCRM USB 2.0 Hub

SABRENT9.3/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A compact travel 4-port USB 2.0 hub with a 9.5-inch cable and a 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • 9.5-inch cable suits ultrabooks and tablets
  • 1-year limited warranty is stated
  • Compact 3.7 by 0.5 by 0.5 in body at 1 oz
  • Plug and play with no driver

Cons

  • USB 2.0 at 480 Mbps only
  • Charging not supported, with a 5V 500mAh combined limit
  • Only 4 ports
  • No protection circuitry is stated
Detailed Review

SABRENT lists the HB-MCRM as a 4-port portable USB 2.0 hub at 480 Mbps with a 9.5-inch cable, dimensions of 3.7 by 0.5 by 0.5 in and a weight of 1 oz. The listing states charging is not supported with a combined limit of 5 volts 500mAh, compatibility with Windows, Mac and Linux, and a 1-year limited warranty.

Who it's for: a traveler who wants a tiny USB 2.0 hub with a stated warranty for basic dongle duty. Who should skip it: anyone who needs USB 3.0 speeds or more than 4 ports.

Its Office Score of 9.3/10 comes from performance 22/35, build 19/25, value 18/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 62 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Ports4
Speed480 Mbps
Cable9.5 in
Warranty1 year limited

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 1 year limited. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SABRENT HB-UMLS USB 2.0 Hub

SABRENT HB-UMLS USB 2.0 Hub

SABRENT9.3/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4-port USB 2.0 hub with individual LED power switches and daisy-chain support.

Pros

  • Individual LED-lit power switches for each port
  • Daisy-chain capable up to 127 devices, per the listing
  • Compact 3.5 by 1.5 by 0.5 in ABS body
  • Plug and play with hot swap, per the listing

Cons

  • USB 2.0 at 480 Mbps only
  • Data only; charging not supported
  • No warranty term is stated
  • 1 ft cable is short for desk placement
Detailed Review

SABRENT lists the HB-UMLS as a 4-port USB 2.0 hub at 480 Mbps with individual LED-lit power switches, a 1 ft cable, dimensions of 3.5 by 1.5 by 0.5 in, a 2 oz weight and an ABS enclosure. The listing states data-only operation with no charging, plug-and-play hot swap, and daisy-chain capability up to 127 devices. One contradiction: the spec table lists speed as USB 3.0 while the title and bullets say USB 2.0; we trust the title and bullets. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: a desk user who wants per-port power switches and daisy-chain expansion on USB 2.0. Who should skip it: anyone who needs USB 3.0 speeds or charging.

Its Office Score of 9.3/10 comes from performance 23/35, build 19/25, value 19/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 61 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Ports4
Speed480 Mbps
SwitchesIndividual LED per port
Size3.5 x 1.5 x 0.5 in

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Hub Office Score Ports USB version Speed Warranty Amazon
IVETTO 7-Port USB 3.0 Hub 9.5/10 7 USB 3.0 5 Gbps Not stated View on Amazon
Cable Matters 4-Port USB Hub 9.5/10 4 USB 3.0 5 Gbps Not stated View on Amazon
Rebuff Reality 7-Port USB Hub 9.5/10 7 USB 3.0 5 Gbps Not stated View on Amazon
SABRENT HB-MCRM USB 2.0 Hub 9.3/10 4 USB 2.0 480 Mbps 1 year limited View on Amazon
SABRENT HB-UMLS USB 2.0 Hub 9.3/10 4 USB 2.0 480 Mbps Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 18 October 2026. One of the five states a warranty term.

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance (port count, USB version, speed and Vive dongle fit), build (materials, size and weight), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For a USB hub, safety means stated over-current, over-voltage or short-circuit protection on the listing; the IVETTO and Cable Matters state it, the other three do not. One listing states a warranty term: the SABRENT HB-MCRM at 1 year limited. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
IVETTO 7-Port USB 3.0 Hub 9.5 28 19 20 8 0
Cable Matters 4-Port USB Hub 9.5 27 20 20 7 0
Rebuff Reality 7-Port USB Hub 9.5 33 20 21 0 0
SABRENT HB-MCRM USB 2.0 Hub 9.3 22 19 18 0 3
SABRENT HB-UMLS USB 2.0 Hub 9.3 23 19 19 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best usb hub for vive tracker dongles

Count the dongles first

Each tracker dongle needs its own port, so start with how many you run. The IVETTO and the Rebuff Reality hubs give you 7 ports each, while the Cable Matters and the two SABRENT hubs give you 4. If you run a full-body set with room to grow, the 7-port hubs leave headroom; a 4-port hub suits a smaller setup. For more connection gear, browse our docking stations and USB hubs guides.

USB 3.0 versus USB 2.0

The IVETTO, Cable Matters and Rebuff Reality hubs are USB 3.0 at 5 Gbps, while the two SABRENT hubs are USB 2.0 at 480 Mbps. The Rebuff listing is built around Vive Tracker 3.0 and 2.0 dongles, so it is the natural fit for this keyword. The USB 2.0 SABRENT hubs still move dongle data, but their 480 Mbps ceiling is the slowest stated here.

Powered or bus-powered

The Rebuff Reality hub is powered and includes one smart charging port, which helps when several dongles draw at once. The Cable Matters hub is bus-powered with stated over-current protection, and both SABRENT hubs state that charging is not supported. For dongles, steady data matters more than charging speed, so favor the hub whose power design matches your port count.

Cable length and placement

Where the hub sits affects signal clutter around your dongles. The Rebuff Reality hub has a 31.5-inch cable, the IVETTO a 3.3 ft cable, the SABRENT HB-MCRM a 9.5-inch cable, the SABRENT HB-UMLS a 1 ft cable, and the Cable Matters a 5-inch tail. A longer cable lets you park the hub away from the PC’s own wireless noise. Pair it with tidy wiring from our surge protectors and cable management guides.

Hub Ports USB Speed Cable
IVETTO 7-Port 7 3.0 5 Gbps 3.3 ft
Cable Matters 4-Port 4 3.0 5 Gbps 5 in
Rebuff Reality 7-Port 7 3.0 5 Gbps 31.5 in
SABRENT HB-MCRM 4 2.0 480 Mbps 9.5 in
SABRENT HB-UMLS 4 2.0 480 Mbps 1 ft

Figures as stated in each listing. More ports and a longer cable give you more placement options for a VR setup.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many dongles can I plug into these hubs?

The IVETTO and Rebuff Reality hubs each have 7 ports, so up to 7 dongles. The Cable Matters and the two SABRENT hubs each have 4 ports.

Does USB 2.0 work for Vive tracker dongles?

The Rebuff Reality listing is USB 3.0 and built for Vive Tracker 3.0 and 2.0 dongles. The SABRENT hubs are USB 2.0 at 480 Mbps; the listings do not claim Vive-specific design.

Which hubs state safety protection?

The IVETTO states a chip against over current, over voltage, short circuit and high temperature, and the Cable Matters states over-current protection. The other three listings state no protection circuitry.

Do any of these charge devices?

The Rebuff Reality hub has one smart charging port. The SABRENT HB-UMLS is data only, the HB-MCRM states charging is not supported, and the IVETTO states it does not support charging.

Which has the longest cable?

The Rebuff Reality hub at 31.5 inches, followed by the IVETTO at 3.3 ft. The shortest is the Cable Matters at 5 inches.

IVETTO 7-Port USB 3.0 Hub
Still deciding? Our top pickIVETTO 7-Port USB 3.0 Hub
Check price on Amazon

See every docking stations and USB hubs guide and all connectivity guides.

More picks: headsets, computer speakers, surge protectors and cable management.