A laptop running everything off one hub is the modern desk, and the best usb hub under 30 sorts the cable spaghetti without drama. We compared five hubs on stated port counts, data speeds, video output, power delivery and warranty terms, so you can match the hub to the desk. Every pick here stays under the keyword’s price cap, and two of the five state a warranty term, so the fine print gets its own look too.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Acer 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: 4K@60Hz HDMI with 100W PD and 5Gbps data Check price on Amazon
Best with Card Reader Yottamaster Triangle Hub: SD and TF slots with 5Gbps USB-A ports Check price on Amazon
Best 8-Port atolla 8-Port Hub: Powered hub with a smart charging port Check price on Amazon
Best 4-Port vienon 4-Port Hub: Four USB 3.0 ports at 5Gbps Check price on Amazon
Best Slim UGREEN 4-Port Hub: Ultra-slim 4-port USB 3.0 hub Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Acer 5-in-1 USB-C Hub | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Yottamaster Triangle Hub | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | atolla 8-Port | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | vienon 4-Port USB Hub | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | UGREEN 4-Port USB Hub | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Acer 5-in-1 USB-C Hub
A 5-in-1 USB-C hub with 4K@60Hz HDMI, 100W power delivery and 5Gbps data ports.
Pros
- 4K@60Hz HDMI output for an external monitor
- 100W PD input with 90W pass-through to the laptop
- USB-C and USB-A 3.0 ports at 5Gbps
- Aluminum shell for heat dissipation
Cons
- Ultrawide monitors are not supported, per the listing
- The 100W power adapter and cable are not included
- No safety certifications are stated
- The 1-year warranty is shorter than the Yottamaster 2-year term
Detailed Review
The listing states a 5-in-1 USB-C hub with 4K@60Hz HDMI 2.0, 100W PD input with 90W output to the laptop, and USB-C 3.0 and USB-A 3.0/2.0 data ports at 5Gbps, in an aluminum shell. It works with Windows, macOS and ChromeOS laptops with full-featured USB-C ports. The listing notes ultrawide monitors are not supported and the 100W adapter and cable are not included.
Who it's for: a laptop user who wants an external 4K monitor, charging and extra ports from one hub. Who should skip it: anyone with an ultrawide monitor or who needs the power adapter included.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Ports | 5 (HDMI, USB-C, USB-A 3.0, USB-A 2.0) |
|---|---|
| Video | 4K@60Hz HDMI |
| Power | 100W PD in, 90W out |
| Warranty | 1 Year Manufacturer |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No UL, FCC or over-current protection statement is stated, so safety scores zero. 1 Year Manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Yottamaster Triangle Hub
A triangle desktop hub with 3 USB-A 3.0 ports, TF and SD card readers, and a 1.64ft cable.
Pros
- 3 USB-A 3.0 ports at 5Gbps plus TF and SD card slots
- 34-degree slope design for easy plugging
- 1.64ft cable with USB-C to USB-C data cable and USB-A adapter
- 2-year warranty stated
Cons
- Does not support charging, per the listing
- No video output is stated
- No safety certifications are stated
- Power adapter not included; needs a 5V 2A source for high-power devices
Detailed Review
The listing states a triangle desktop USB 3.0 hub with 3 USB-A 3.0 ports at 5Gbps, TF and SD card reader slots, and a 34-degree slope design. It includes a 1.64ft cable with USB-C to USB-C data cable and a USB-A adapter, and works with Windows and Mac with no drivers. The listing states it does not support device charging and no power adapter is included.
Who it's for: a desktop user who moves files from SD cards and wants easy-reach ports. Who should skip it: anyone who needs charging or video output.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Ports | 3 USB-A 3.0 + TF/SD |
|---|---|
| Data | 5Gbps USB 3.2 Gen1 |
| Cable | 1.64ft |
| Warranty | 2 years |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 2 years. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

atolla 8-Port
An 8-port powered USB 3.0 hub with 7 data ports, a smart charging port and individual switches, for drive-heavy desks.
Pros
- 7 data ports plus 1 smart charging port
- 5V/4A power adapter for hungrier devices
- Individual on/off switches per port
- 18-month warranty stated
Cons
- Plastic housing, not aluminum
- No circuit protection statement
- Charging port does not carry data
- 100cm cord may be short for some desks
Detailed Review
atolla lists the 8-port hub as 7 USB 3.0 data ports plus a smart charging port, with speeds up to 5Gbps and a 5V/4A power adapter. The bullets describe individual on/off switches, plug and play with hot swapping, and an 18-month warranty.
Who it's for: someone running several external drives who wants a warranty in writing. Who should skip it: anyone who needs aluminum build or stated circuit protection.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Ports | 7 data + 1 charging |
|---|---|
| Speed | 5Gbps |
| Adapter | 5V/4A |
| Warranty | 18 months |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No UL, FCC or over-current protection statement is stated, so safety scores zero. 18-month warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- Expands one USB-A port into four
- 5Gbps USB 3.0 data port stated
- Soft blue LED indicator for status
- 3.94 x 1.18 x 0.39 inches at 1.5 ounces
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Designed for data and low-power devices only; no charging
- Plastic enclosure
- No safety certification or protection features are stated
Detailed Review
vienon lists a 4-port USB hub that expands one USB-A port into four, with 5Gbps USB 3.0 transfer, a soft blue LED indicator, and a body measuring 3.94 x 1.18 x 0.39 inches at 1.5 ounces. The listing notes it is designed for data transfer and low-power peripherals only, with no charging of laptops or tablets.
Who it's for: a desktop user who needs four basic ports cheaply. Who should skip it: someone who wants a stated warranty or metal build.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety not scored (non-powered gear) and warranty 0/5: 67 of 90 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Ports | 4 |
|---|---|
| Speed | 5Gbps |
| Size | 3.94 x 1.18 x 0.39 in |
| Weight | 1.5 ounces |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

UGREEN 4-Port USB Hub
An ultra-slim 4-port USB 3.0 hub with a short 0.5 ft cable, suited to travelers who want a pocketable expander.
Pros
- 24-month warranty service, longest here alongside SABRENT
- Ultra-slim at 0.4 inches thick and 33g
- 5Gbps transfer; the listing says a 10 GB file moves in 16.4 seconds
- Wide compatibility including Xbox and PS5
Cons
- 0.5 ft cable limits placement
- Bus-powered with no power input
- No individual port switches
- No charging support mentioned
Detailed Review
The UGREEN 25851 is the travel pick: 4 USB-A 3.0 ports at up to 5Gbps in a case just 0.4 inches thick and 33g, with a short 0.5 ft cable that keeps things tidy. The listing states a 24-month warranty service and plug-and-play support across Windows, macOS, Linux and Chrome OS.
Who it is for: a traveler or student who needs four extra ports in a jacket pocket. Who should skip it: anyone with multiple spinning hard drives, since it is bus-powered with no power input and the short cable limits desk placement.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 4/5: 70 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Ports | 4 USB-A 3.0 |
|---|---|
| Data rate | 5Gbps |
| Cable | 0.5 ft |
| Thickness | 0.4 inches |
| Weight | 33 g |
| Warranty | 24 months service |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 24-month warranty service. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| USB hub | Office Score | Ports | Video | Power | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Acer 5-in-1 USB-C Hub | 9.5/10 | 5 | 4K@60Hz HDMI | 100W PD in, 90W out | 1 Year Manufacturer | View on Amazon |
| Yottamaster Triangle Hub | 9.5/10 | 3 USB-A + TF/SD | Not stated | No charging | 2 years | View on Amazon |
| atolla 8-Port Hub | 9.5/10 | 8 | Not stated | Powered | Not stated | |
| vienon 4-Port Hub | 9.5/10 | 4 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | |
| UGREEN 4-Port Hub | 9.5/10 | 4 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For USB hubs, performance means the stated port count and data speed, build means the stated materials and design, and value means what the listing delivers at this price point. Safety means stated certifications and safe power handling; none of the five listings states a safety certification, so every pick scored zero on safety. Two of the five picks state a warranty term: 1 year on the Acer and 2 years on the Yottamaster. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Acer 5-in-1 USB-C Hub | 9.5 | 30 | 21 | 20 | 0 | 3 |
| Yottamaster Triangle Hub | 9.5 | 29 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 3 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best usb hub under 30
Count the ports you actually use
The atolla hub gives 8 ports, the Acer gives 5 including HDMI, and the UGREEN and vienon hubs give 4 each. The Yottamaster gives 3 USB-A ports plus TF and SD card slots. Count your always-plugged devices first, then add one spare: a keyboard, a mouse and a card reader already fill three ports, and a headset or external drive fills a fourth. If you dock every day with multiple monitors and peripherals, a hub may not be enough; for bigger setups, see our best docking station for home office picks.
Decide if you need video or charging
Only the Acer hub states video output: 4K@60Hz HDMI, which suits a single external monitor on a laptop desk. Only the atolla hub states a powered design with a smart charging port; the Yottamaster explicitly does not support charging, so do not expect it to top up a phone. The vienon and UGREEN hubs state no charging or video details. If the monitor is the priority, see best USB hub with HDMI.
Check the cable and the fine print
The Yottamaster includes a 1.64ft cable with USB-C to USB-C and a USB-A adapter; the Acer needs a 100W adapter and cable that are not included. Warranty terms: 1 year on the Acer, 2 years on the Yottamaster, none stated on the other three. Keep cables tidy with best cable management for small desk.
Match the hub to the host
The Acer hub only pays off on a laptop with a full-featured USB-C port that supports DisplayPort Alt Mode and power delivery. On an older machine with plain USB-A ports, the Yottamaster triangle hub is the easier fit: it ships a USB-A adapter in the box and runs plug-and-play on Windows and Mac. The atolla 8-port hub suits a desktop that never moves, while the slim UGREEN and vienon hubs suit a laptop that lives in a bag. Check the host ports before you buy.
Setup Notes
- Check the host port: the Acer hub needs a full-featured USB-C port with DisplayPort Alt Mode.
- For high-power USB devices on the Yottamaster, connect a 5V 2A power source to its USB-C power interface.
- The Acer hub needs a 100W power adapter and cable for full 90W charging; neither is included.
- Place the hub within cable reach: the Yottamaster cable is 1.64ft.
- Plan for power: the atolla hub is powered, the Yottamaster needs a 5V 2A source for high-power devices, and the Acer needs a 100W adapter for full charging.
- Leave air around the hub: the Acer uses an aluminum shell for heat dissipation, so avoid stacking it under papers or blankets.
Frequently Asked Questions
Will these hubs charge my laptop?
The Acer hub passes 90W to the laptop with a 100W adapter and cable, neither of which is included. The atolla hub is powered with a smart charging port. The Yottamaster explicitly does not support charging.
Which hub has an SD card reader?
The Yottamaster hub has TF and SD card slots. None of the other four picks states a card reader.
Do any support an external monitor?
The Acer hub supports 4K@60Hz over HDMI. The other four picks state no video output.
Which state a warranty?
The Acer states a 1-year manufacturer warranty and the Yottamaster states 2 years. The atolla, vienon and UGREEN listings state no warranty term.
What is the fastest data speed stated?
The Acer, Yottamaster and vienon listings state 5Gbps. The atolla and UGREEN listings state USB 3.0 without a speed figure.
Can I use these hubs with a Mac?
The Acer listing states compatibility with Windows, macOS and ChromeOS on full-featured USB-C ports; the Yottamaster works with Windows and Mac and ships a USB-A adapter. The other three listings state no compatibility details.
Related guides
See every Docking Stations and USB Hubs guide and all Audio, Power and Connectivity guides.
More picks: USB hub with HDMI, docking station for home office and cable management for small desk.





