The best wireless mouse for desktop pc starts with a simple question asked with a full inbox on a Monday morning: do you want no cable at all, or do you want the fastest click you can get? Two of the five mice compared here are wired gaming models with strong sensors and switch specs, and three are wireless office picks, one of which states a long battery. They are compared by sensor resolution, switch rating, button count, stated weight and warranty term, using only what each listing publishes.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Razer Cobra: 8500 DPI sensor, Gen-3 switches rated 90-million clicks, 58g Check price on Amazon
Most Buttons Stated Logitech G502 X: 13 buttons in title, HERO 25K sensor, free-spin scroll wheel Check price on Amazon
Best 6-Button Acer Wireless Mouse: 6 buttons and 1600 DPI stated, wireless Check price on Amazon
Longest Battery Stated HP X3000 G3: 15-month battery stated in the title, wireless Check price on Amazon
Best Compact Logitech M317: compact wireless mouse in blue Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Razer Cobra | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Logitech G502 X | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | HP X3000 G3 Wireless Mouse | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Logitech M317 | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Acer Wireless Mouse | 9.3/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Razer Cobra
A 58g wired gaming mouse with Gen-3 optical switches rated for a 90-million click lifecycle, an 8500 DPI sensor adjustable in 50 DPI increments, and a 2 year manufacturer warranty.
Pros
- 90-million click lifecycle stated on Gen-3 optical switches
- 8500 DPI sensor adjustable in 50 DPI increments
- 0.2 ms actuation with no debounce delay stated
- 100 percent PTFE mouse feet on the front, rear and sensor ring
Cons
- Corded electric power, so it is not a wireless pick
- Spec table lists 1 12V batteries required against a corded electric power source
- Spec table lists a 5.0 meter range on a wired mouse
- Chroma RGB lighting adds 16.8 million colors that add nothing to desk work
Detailed Review
Razer lists the Cobra as a 58g wired gaming mouse with Gen-3 optical switches rated for a 90-million click lifecycle and 0.2 ms actuation, an 8500 DPI optical sensor adjustable in 50 DPI increments, Chroma RGB lighting with gradient underglow in 16.8 million colors, a SpeedFlex cable, and 100 percent PTFE feet on the front, rear and sensor ring. The listing states an ambidextrous fit, 6 buttons, a 6.25 by 4 in body at 2.04 ounces, and a 2 year manufacturer warranty. Two contradictions: the spec table lists 1 12V batteries required against a corded electric power source, and it lists a 5.0 meter range on a wired mouse; the title and bullets take precedence.
Who it's for: someone who wants a light, fast-clicking wired mouse for a desktop PC and values the stated 2 year warranty. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a truly wireless mouse, since this one is corded.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety not scored (non-powered gear) and warranty 4/5: 78 of 90 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Sensor | 8500 DPI, 50 DPI increments |
|---|---|
| Buttons | 6 |
| Item weight | 2.04 ounces |
| Body | 6.25 x 4 in |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 2 year manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Fit the desk first. Check the stated size against your desk depth and keyboard tray, and charge or pair as the manual describes. No keyboard, mouse or wrist rest prevents or treats injury.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Logitech G502 X
A wired gaming mouse with a HERO 25K sensor, LIGHTFORCE hybrid optical-mechanical switches, a hyperfast scroll wheel, and an 89 gram stated weight.
Pros
- HERO 25K sensor with zero smoothing, filtering or acceleration stated
- LIGHTFORCE hybrid optical-mechanical switch technology
- Hyperfast scroll wheel switches between free spin and ratcheting, tilts left and right
- Reversible and removable DPI-shift button for precise customization
Cons
- Corded electric power, so it is not a wireless pick
- Title states 13 buttons while the spec table states 9
- Spec table lists headphones as an included component on a mouse
- Spec table lists a nonstandard battery against a corded electric power source
Detailed Review
Logitech lists the G502 X as a wired gaming mouse with LIGHTFORCE hybrid optical-mechanical switches, a HERO 25K sensor stated as precise down to the sub-micron, a redesigned DPI-shift button that is reversible and removable, and a hyperfast scroll wheel that switches between free spin and precise ratcheting and tilts left and right for two more controls. The listing states an 89 gram weight, black and white colorways, a 3.1 by 1.6 in body at 3.14 ounces, Mac and PC compatibility, and a 1 Year Limited Hardware Warranty. The title states 13 buttons while the spec table states 9; the spec table also lists headphones as an included component and a nonstandard battery against corded electric power. The title and bullets take precedence.
Who it's for: someone who wants the most buttons and the strongest sensor in this group for a desktop PC, and does not mind a cable. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a wireless mouse or is bothered by a listing that contradicts itself.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety not scored (non-powered gear) and warranty 3/5: 76 of 90 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Sensor | 25600 dots_per_inch |
|---|---|
| Buttons | 13 in title, 9 in spec table |
| Item weight | 3.14 ounces |
| Body | 3.1 x 1.6 in |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 1 Year Limited Hardware Warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Fit the desk first. Check the stated size against your desk depth and keyboard tray, and charge or pair as the manual describes. No keyboard, mouse or wrist rest prevents or treats injury.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

HP X3000 G3 Wireless Mouse
An ambidextrous wireless mouse with a stated 15-month battery life and 1600 DPI.
Pros
- 15-month battery stated in the bullets
- Ambidextrous contoured shape with side grips
- 1600 DPI optical sensor
- USB nano receiver stores inside the mouse
Cons
- Bullets say 1 AA while the spec table says 2 AA
- Only 3 buttons stated
- Stated warranty: "HP standard 1 year warranty"
- 1600 DPI maximum is mid-range here
Detailed Review
HP lists the X3000 G3 as a contoured wireless mouse with 3-button navigation, a 1600 DPI optical sensor and a 30 ft range. The bullets state up to 15 months of use on a 1 AA battery, while the spec table says 2 AA batteries are required; we trust the bullets on the term. The nano receiver stores inside the mouse. The listing states an "HP standard 1 year warranty".
Who it's for: travelers and either-hand users who want a compact mouse with a long battery term. Who should skip it: anyone who needs more buttons or higher DPI.
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 68 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Battery | 15 months |
|---|---|
| DPI | 1600 max |
| Buttons | 3 |
| Hand | Ambidextrous |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No FCC or other safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Fit the desk first. Check the stated size against your desk depth and keyboard tray, and charge or pair as the manual describes. No keyboard, mouse or wrist rest prevents or treats injury.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Logitech M317
Logitech's compact ambidextrous wireless mouse with rubber grips, 1000 dpi tracking and a 12-month battery.
Pros
- Works With Chromebook certification stated
- 1 Year Limited Hardware Warranty stated
- Soft rubber grips and contoured ambidextrous shape
- 12-month battery life on one AAA battery
Cons
- Spec table lists 6.06 by 3.5 in dimensions that do not match the compact mouse described
- 1000 dpi with no adjustable levels stated
- No explicit small-hands statement on the listing
- USB receiver only; no Bluetooth is listed
Detailed Review
Logitech lists the M317 as a compact ambidextrous wireless mouse with soft rubber grips and 1000 dpi optical tracking. One contradiction to note: the spec table lists item dimensions of 6.06 by 3.5 in, which does not describe the compact mouse in the title and bullets; we trust the title and bullets. Battery life is stated at 12 months on one AAA, the range up to 33 ft, and the listing states a 1 Year Limited Hardware Warranty plus Works With Chromebook certification.
Who it's for: a Chromebook user who wants a compact ambidextrous mouse with a stated warranty. Who should skip it: anyone who needs an explicit small-hands fit statement or adjustable DPI.
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 2/5: 68 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| DPI | 1000 |
|---|---|
| Battery | 12 months |
| Warranty | 1 year |
| Hand | Ambidextrous |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No FCC or other safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 1 Year Limited Hardware Warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Fit the desk first. Check the stated size against your desk depth and keyboard tray, and charge or pair as the manual describes. No keyboard, mouse or wrist rest prevents or treats injury.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Acer Wireless Mouse
A right-hand wireless mouse with 6 buttons and 1600 DPI; no battery life is stated.
Pros
- 6 buttons with forward and backward controls
- 1600 DPI with 3 adjustable levels
- 85 g stated weight
- 5.1 x 3.2 in, a mid size for medium to large hands
Cons
- No battery life is stated
- 2 AAA batteries are not included
- Side button does not work on Mac, per the listing
- Stated warranty: "1 Year Manufacturer"
Detailed Review
Acer lists a 2.4GHz wireless mouse with 3 adjustable DPI levels up to 1600, 6 buttons including forward and backward, and a 32 ft range, at 85 g and 5.1 x 3.2 in for medium to large hands. The listing notes the side button does not work on Mac and says to remove the film from the bottom before use. No battery life is stated; the listing states a "1 Year Manufacturer" warranty.
Who it's for: someone who wants 6 buttons and adjustable DPI at a mid size. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated battery life.
Its Office Score of 9.3/10 comes from performance 21/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 60 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Battery | Not stated |
|---|---|
| DPI | 1600 max |
| Buttons | 6 |
| Hand | Right |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No FCC or other safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Fit the desk first. Check the stated size against your desk depth and keyboard tray, and charge or pair as the manual describes. No keyboard, mouse or wrist rest prevents or treats injury.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
TECKNET Wireless MouseCheck on Amazon
Logitech Signature M550 Wireless MouseCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Mouse | Office Score | Connectivity | Buttons | Sensitivity | Battery | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Razer Cobra | 9.7/10 | Wired, corded electric | 6 | 8500 DPI | Corded, no battery | 2 year manufacturer | View on Amazon |
| Logitech G502 X | 9.7/10 | Wired, corded electric | 13 in title, 9 in spec table | 25600 dots_per_inch | Corded, no battery | 1 Year Limited Hardware Warranty | View on Amazon |
| Acer Wireless Mouse | 9.3/10 | Wireless | 6 | 1600 DPI | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| HP X3000 G3 | 9.4/10 | Wireless | Not stated | Not stated | 15-month battery stated | Not stated | |
| Logitech M317 | 9.7/10 | Wireless | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 18 October 2026. Two of the five state a warranty term; the other three state none.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance (sensor resolution, switch rating and button count), build (materials and item weight), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For a mouse, safety would mean a stated certification or a rated safety feature; none of these listings states one, so safety did not move the ranking. Two listings state a warranty term: the Razer Cobra at 2 years and the Logitech G502 X at 1 year. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Razer Cobra | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 21 | n/a | 4 |
| Logitech G502 X | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 20 | n/a | 3 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Safety counts only for powered gear or where the listing states safety features; where it does not apply, the score is taken over the remaining 90 points.
How to choose the best wireless mouse for desktop pc
Wired or wireless comes first
Three of the five are wireless and two are wired, and that split matters more than any sensor number. The Razer Cobra and the Logitech G502 X both list corded electric power, so they sit out of the wireless question entirely; they stay in this roundup because they lead on sensor and switch specs. If the cable has to go, the shortlist is the Acer, the HP X3000 G3 and the Logitech M317. See our best wireless mouse for daily office use picks for more cable-free options.
Count the buttons you will actually use
The Logitech G502 X title states 13 buttons while its spec table states 9, a contradiction worth knowing before you buy; the title and bullets take precedence, so read it as 13. The Razer Cobra and the Acer both state 6. More buttons suit anyone who binds shortcuts to the mouse, but each extra button is another thing to learn. Our mice and mouse pads guides compare more picks.
Sensor resolution is a ceiling, not a requirement
The G502 X lists 25600 dots_per_inch, the Razer Cobra 8500 DPI adjustable in 50 DPI increments, and the Acer 1600 DPI. Higher resolution suits large or multi-monitor desks where the cursor must cross more pixels; it does not make a mouse more accurate on its own. A mouse pad for high DPI gives any of these sensors a consistent surface.
Check the battery and the warranty line
Only the HP X3000 G3 states battery life: a 15-month battery. The other two wireless listings state nothing about batteries, so check the listing before you buy. On warranties, the Razer states a 2 year manufacturer term and the G502 X states a 1 Year Limited Hardware Warranty; the Acer, HP and Logitech M317 state no term. A stated term beats a vague promise, and a missing one is a fact worth knowing.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which of these mice are actually wireless?
Three of them: the Acer Wireless Mouse, the HP X3000 G3 and the Logitech M317. The Razer Cobra and the Logitech G502 X both list corded electric power, so they are wired picks.
Which mouse states the longest battery life?
The HP X3000 G3, with a 15-month battery stated in its title. The other two wireless listings state no battery life at all.
Which listings state a warranty?
Two. The Razer Cobra states a 2 year manufacturer warranty and the Logitech G502 X states a 1 Year Limited Hardware Warranty. The Acer, HP X3000 G3 and Logitech M317 state no term.
Which mouse has the most buttons?
The Logitech G502 X title states 13 buttons, though its spec table states 9. The Razer Cobra and the Acer state 6 each.
Does any of these work with a Mac?
The Logitech G502 X lists Mac and PC compatibility. The other listings state no platform support.
Related guides
See every mice and mouse pads guide and all monitor mounts, keyboards and mice guides. Also see our best wireless mouse for daily office use. Also see our best mouse pad for desktop.
More picks: keyboard and mouse pad for work, mouse pad for home office, wrist rest for keyboard and mouse and extended mouse pad for work.



