Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Desk Lamps and Light Bars

Best Black Desk Lamp (2026): 5 Desk Lamps Compared

Five black desk lamps compared by height, bulb type, color modes, switches, stated UL certification and warranty terms, for a home desk that needs light.

Best Black Desk Lamp (2026): 5 Desk Lamps Compared

On a gray morning the webcam shows a dim corner and the desk feels like a cave, which is when the best black desk lamp earns its place. We compared five black desk lamps by height and footprint, bulb type, color modes, switch style, stated safety certification and warranty term, using only what each listing publishes. Every lamp here is black; they differ in how tall they stand and what the listing actually promises. Stated heights run from 13.23 to 22.2 inches, so measure the desk before choosing.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • aooshine Mini Lamp TLASE01M
    Best Overall aooshine Mini Lamp TLASE01M: UL certified components, 2-year warranty, 12.8 in black fabric shade Check price on Amazon
  • OYEARS 22.2 in Desk Lamp
    Best Tall Lamp OYEARS 22.2 in Desk Lamp: 22.2 in metal lamp with adjustable shade and LED bulb included Check price on Amazon
  • Dott Arts Pull Chain Lamp
    Best Color Modes Dott Arts Pull Chain Lamp: 2700K to 5000K modes on a pull chain, AC outlet, bulb included Check price on Amazon
  • Nourison Mushroom Lamp EPT01
    Best Mushroom Nourison Mushroom Lamp EPT01: 16 in matte black mushroom lamp, E26 socket, bulb not included Check price on Amazon
  • Iporovon Industrial Lamp
    Best Industrial Iporovon Industrial Lamp: Metal industrial lamp with cord switch and 12-month warranty Check price on Amazon

The picks

aooshine Mini Lamp TLASE01M

aooshine Mini Lamp TLASE01M

aooshine9.7/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12.8 inch mini lamp with a black fabric shade, E26 base up to 60W, UL certified components and a 2-year warranty.

Pros

  • 12.8 in mini size with 4.06 in footprint
  • UL certified electronic components
  • 2 year manufacturer warranty
  • E26 base fits LED, incandescent or halogen up to 60W

Cons

  • Bulb not included
  • Title says inline rocker switch, spec table says touch
  • Plastic base and fabric shade
  • No color modes stated
Detailed Review

The aooshine is a 12.8 inch mini lamp with a black fabric shade, an E26 base rated up to 60W, and a 4.06 by 4.06 inch footprint at 13.23 inches tall. The listing states UL certified electronic components and a 2 year manufacturer warranty, and the bulb is not included. The shade is black fabric on a painted plastic base. One wrinkle: the title says Inline Rocker Switch while the spec table says Touch; this review follows the title.

Who it’s for: anyone who wants a small black lamp with a fabric shade and a stated 2-year warranty. Who should skip it: anyone who wants the bulb in the box.

Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Height13.23 in
BaseE26, up to 60W
SwitchInline rocker (per title)
Warranty2 year manufacturer

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL certified electronic components, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2 year manufacturer warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

OYEARS 22.2 in Desk Lamp

OYEARS 22.2 in Desk Lamp

OYEARS9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 22.2 inch metal desk lamp in matte black with a 350-degree rotating shade, included LED bulb and 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • 22.2 in tall, the tallest here
  • Shade rotates 350 degrees and tilts 45 degrees
  • LED bulb included, E26 base
  • Metal build with 8 in base

Cons

  • No safety certification stated
  • 1-year warranty only
  • 8 in base needs desk space
  • Arm is fixed, only the shade adjusts
Detailed Review

The OYEARS is a 22.2 inch metal desk lamp in matte black with gold accents, with a shade that rotates 350 degrees and tilts 45 degrees. It uses an E26 base, includes an LED bulb, and the listing states a 1-year limited warranty. The spec table lists 5 watts and a 4.8 pound item weight. The lamp arm is fixed while the shade moves, and the listing promises quick, simple assembly.

Who it’s for: readers who want the tallest lamp here with an adjustable shade. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a small footprint; the base is 8 inches across.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 2/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Height22.2 in
ShadeRotates 350 deg, tilts 45 deg
BulbE26 LED included
Warranty1-year limited

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 1-year limited warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Dott Arts Pull Chain Lamp

Dott Arts Pull Chain Lamp

Dott Arts9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A pull-chain table lamp with 2700K to 5000K color modes, a 2-prong AC outlet in the base and an included bulb.

Pros

  • 2700K, 4000K and 5000K color modes
  • 2-prong AC outlet in the base
  • Bulb included
  • 1 year warranty stated

Cons

  • No safety certification stated
  • No dimmer stated, color modes only
  • Pull chain only, no inline switch
  • Linen shade rather than metal
Detailed Review

The Dott Arts lamp uses a pull chain to switch between 2700K, 4000K and 5000K color modes, and the base includes a 2-prong AC outlet for charging devices. The bulb is included, the lamp measures 15.16 by 4.41 by 4.41 inches, and the listing states a 1 year warranty. The bullets round the dimensions to 15 by 4.4 by 4.4 inches.

Who it’s for: anyone who wants three color temperatures and a charging outlet in the base. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a metal shade; this one uses linen.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 22/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 2/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Color modes2700K / 4000K / 5000K
Outlet2-prong AC
BulbIncluded
Height15.16 in

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 1 year warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Iporovon Industrial Lamp

Iporovon Industrial Lamp

Iporovon9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 13.5 inch industrial metal table lamp with E26 socket, cord switch and 12-month warranty.

Pros

  • Metal industrial build, 1.3 lb
  • E26 socket fits LED, Edison or filament bulbs
  • Cord switch for bedside use
  • 12-month warranty stated

Cons

  • Bulb not included
  • Title says wire switch, spec table says push button
  • No safety certification stated
  • No adjustable shade stated
Detailed Review

The Iporovon is a 13.5 inch industrial metal table lamp with an E26 socket rated 60W, a 4.75 inch base and a 1.3 pound weight. The listing offers a 12-month warranty and the bulb is not included. The title and bullets describe a wire and cord switch while the spec table says Push Button; this review follows the title and bullets.

Who it’s for: anyone who wants a small industrial metal lamp for a nightstand or dorm. Who should skip it: anyone who wants the bulb included.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 2/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Height13.5 in
SocketE26, 60W
Weight1.3 lb
Warranty12-month

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No UL or ETL listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 12-month warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Nourison Mushroom Lamp EPT01

Nourison Mushroom Lamp EPT01

Nourison9.4/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 16 inch matte black mushroom lamp in metal with an 80 inch cord and no stated warranty.

Pros

  • Touch control stated
  • 16 in mushroom design in matte black metal
  • 80 in cord with in-line switch
  • 10 x 10 in stable base

Cons

  • No warranty stated
  • Bulb not included
  • Bullets say 7W LED or 40W bulb, spec table says 25W
  • Mood-light design, not a task lamp
Detailed Review

The Nourison is a 16 inch matte black mushroom lamp in metal and iron, 10 by 10 inches at the base, with an in-line switch on an 80 inch cord. The listing states no warranty. The bullets call for a 7W LED or 40W incandescent E26 bulb while the spec table says a 25W standard E26 bulb; this review follows the bullets.

Who it’s for: anyone who wants a mushroom accent lamp in matte black metal. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a warranty term or an included bulb.

Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 67 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Height16 in
BulbE26, not included
Base10 x 10 in

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • Folux Industrial Pull Chain LampFolux Industrial Pull Chain LampFor readers wanting a 22.5 inch all-metal lamp with pull chain.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Lamp Office Score Height Bulb Switch Warranty Amazon
aooshine Mini Lamp TLASE01M 9.7/10 13.23 in E26, bulb not included Inline rocker 2 years View on Amazon
OYEARS 22.2 in Desk Lamp 9.6/10 22.2 in E26, LED bulb included Rotary 1 year View on Amazon
Dott Arts Pull Chain Lamp 9.5/10 15.16 in E26, bulb included Pull chain 1 year View on Amazon
Iporovon Industrial Lamp 9.5/10 13.5 in E26, bulb not included Cord switch 12 months View on Amazon
Nourison Mushroom Lamp EPT01 9.4/10 16 in E26, bulb not included In-line No warranty View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 23 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance (height, adjustability, bulb options and light control), build, value, safety and warranty. For a desk lamp, safety means a stated UL certification or other stated electrical safety feature. The aooshine states UL certified electronic components; the other four state no certification. Four of the five state a warranty term, from 12 months to 2 years. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
aooshine Mini Lamp TLASE01M 9.7 29 21 21 7 3
OYEARS 22.2 in Desk Lamp 9.6 30 22 21 0 2
Dott Arts Pull Chain Lamp 9.5 29 21 22 0 2
Iporovon Industrial Lamp 9.5 28 20 21 0 2
Nourison Mushroom Lamp EPT01 9.4 28 20 19 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best black desk lamp

Start with height and footprint

Heights here run from 13.23 inches on the aooshine to 22.2 inches on the OYEARS, and footprints from 4.06 by 4.06 inches to the Nourison’s 10 by 10 inches. A tall lamp lights a wide area but needs desk depth; a mini lamp fits a nightstand or a crowded desk. Measure the space before choosing, especially if the desk also holds a monitor. Our standing desk guide covers taller setups.

Bulb included or not

The OYEARS and Dott Arts listings include the bulb; the aooshine, Iporovon and Nourison state the bulb is not included. All five use an E26 base, so a standard bulb fits each one. If you buy the bulb separately, match the wattage the listing allows: up to 60W on the aooshine and Iporovon, and a 7W LED or 40W incandescent on the Nourison.

Color modes and switches

Only the Dott Arts lists color modes: 2700K, 4000K and 5000K on a pull chain. The others are single-mode lamps with rotary, inline rocker, in-line cord or cord switches. Pick the control you will reach for in the dark.

Think about the shade

Shades shape the light. The aooshine uses a black fabric shade for a soft look, the Dott Arts uses linen, and the OYEARS, Iporovon and Nourison use metal. Fabric and linen diffuse light while metal shades direct it. The Nourison’s domed mushroom shade gives a soft downlight glow, per the listing.

Lamp Switch Color modes Bulb included
aooshine Mini Lamp TLASE01M Inline rocker Not stated No
OYEARS 22.2 in Desk Lamp Rotary Not stated Yes, LED
Dott Arts Pull Chain Lamp Pull chain 2700K, 4000K, 5000K Yes
Nourison Mushroom Lamp EPT01 In-line Not stated No
Iporovon Industrial Lamp Cord switch Not stated No

Read the warranty and certification lines

The aooshine states a 2 year manufacturer warranty, the OYEARS and Dott Arts state 1 year, the Iporovon states 12 months, and the Nourison states no warranty. On certification, the aooshine states UL certified electronic components; the other listings state no certification. A longer term matters more on a lamp you will adjust daily. A desk lamp with USB roundup covers charging options if the Dott Arts outlet is not enough.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which lamp here lists the highest wattage?

The listings state wattage rather than brightness. The Dott Arts spec table lists 150 watts, while the aooshine and Iporovon list 60 watts.

Do these desk lamps include bulbs?

The OYEARS and Dott Arts listings include the bulb. The aooshine, Iporovon and Nourison listings state the bulb is not included. All five use an E26 base, so finding a replacement bulb is simple.

Which desk lamps here state a safety certification?

The aooshine states UL certified electronic components. The other four listings state no certification.

How should a desk lamp be positioned?

The OYEARS shade rotates 350 degrees and tilts 45 degrees for aiming light at the work surface. Place the lamp to the side of the work to keep glare off screens.

How many amps does a small desk lamp use?

The listings state wattage and voltage rather than amps: the aooshine and Iporovon list 60 watts at 120 volts.

aooshine Mini Lamp TLASE01M
Still deciding? Our top pickaooshine Mini Lamp TLASE01M
Check price on Amazon

See every desk lamp guide and all desks guides. Also see our best cordless desk lamp picks.

More picks: standing desks, computer desks and desk lamps under 30.