When paint tubes, sketchbooks and fabric bins outgrow the desk drawer, the best bookshelf for art supplies is the one that keeps every project visible and off the floor. We compared four shelves by tiers, capacity, stated materials, size and warranty terms, using only what each listing publishes.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall JAQ 6-Tier Metal Kids Bookshelf: 6 tiers, metal frame, 17.9-pound capacity, art supplies named Check price on Amazon
Best Rolling Pick TNDCKP 5-Tier Rolling Book Cart: 5 tiers with lockable wheels, cup holder, 20 pounds Check price on Amazon
Worth a Look SUPERJARE Triple Bookshelf: 11 adjustable shelves in 4 tiers, title-only listing Check price on Amazon
Also Consider VASAGLE 6-Tier Bookcase: 6-tier bookcase, 23.6 inches wide, title-only listing Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | VASAGLE 6-Tier | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | JAQ 6-Tier Metal Kids Bookshelf | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | TNDCKP 5-Tier Rolling Book Cart | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | SUPERJARE Triple Bookshelf | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
Pros
- 4 of 6 tiers adjust to 3 heights, up or down 1.2 inches
- Supports up to 22 lb per tier, 154 lb maximum
- Anti-tip kit included for safety
- H-shaped structure with slot-in back panel
Cons
- Particleboard and MDF, not solid wood
- 9.4 inch depth fits books but not deep storage boxes
- Assembly required with labeled parts
- Cloud white shows dust and marks
Detailed Review
The listing describes a 6-tier bookcase measuring 23.6 inches wide by 9.4 inches deep by 63.3 inches high, with the 2nd, 3rd, 5th and 6th tiers adjustable to 3 heights. It supports 22 lb per tier and includes an anti-tip kit.
Who it is for: a home office that needs adjustable shelving for books and boxes. Who should skip it: someone who wants solid wood or a deeper shelf.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 0/5: 85 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Brand | VASAGLE |
|---|---|
| Model | ULBC166T14 |
| Tiers | 6 |
| Dimensions | 23.6W x 9.4D x 63.3H in |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Anti-tip kit included; H-shaped structure and slot-in back panel for stability, so safety scores 9 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

JAQ 6-Tier Metal Kids Bookshelf
A heavy-duty metal kids bookshelf with 6 tiers, a 17.9-pound capacity and a named use for art supplies.
Pros
- 6 tiers with a named use for art supplies
- Heavy-duty reinforced rust-resistant metal frame
- Frame stated to prevent wobbling or tipping
- Wipe-clean metal surface, white finish
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Weight capacity is 17.9 pounds total, so spread heavy supplies low
- Kids-oriented open layout, not a deep supply cabinet
- Assembly required with included hardware and wrench
Detailed Review
JAQ lists a 6-tier metal kids bookshelf with a heavy-duty reinforced rust-resistant metal build and a frame the maker says prevents wobbling or tipping. It states a 17.9-pound maximum weight, a 37-inch height with 35-by-14.37-inch dimensions, a named use for storybooks, magazines and oversized picture books. The listing includes all necessary hardware with clear instructions, and the spec table calls it a tiered shelf with a white painted finish. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: someone who wants open, kid-friendly access to art supplies and storybooks in a playroom or classroom. Who should skip it: anyone who wants deep bins or a stated warranty term.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Tiers | 6 |
|---|---|
| Max weight | 17.9 pounds |
| Size | 37.01 x 35 x 14.37 in |
| Material | Metal, plastic |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Reinforced rust-resistant metal frame stated to prevent wobbling or tipping, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

TNDCKP 5-Tier Rolling Book Cart
A 5-tier rolling book cart with lockable wheels, a cup holder and small grids for stationery.
Pros
- 5 tiers with 360-degree rolling wheels
- Two lockable casters hold it firmly in place
- Top layer has a cup holder and small grids
- Assembles in 3 to 5 minutes
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- 4.7-inch depth is slim for deep bins
- Polypropylene plastic, not metal
- No stated warranty or support note
Detailed Review
TNDCKP lists a 5-tier rolling book cart made from heavy duty polypropylene with 360-degree rotating wheels, two of them lockable. It states a 20-pound maximum weight, 30.6-by-15.9-by-4.7-inch dimensions, a top layer with an embedded cup holder and two small grids for cups, notes and pen containers, and 3-to-5-minute assembly. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: someone who moves supplies between desk, classroom and studio and wants them parked and locked. Who should skip it: anyone with deep bins or who wants a stated warranty term.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Tiers | 5 |
|---|---|
| Max weight | 20 pounds |
| Size | 30.6 x 15.9 x 4.7 in |
| Material | Polypropylene |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Two lockable caster wheels stated to hold the cart firmly in place, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SUPERJARE Triple Bookshelf
A wide 4-tier ladder bookshelf with 11 adjustable shelves and anti-tilt brackets.
Pros
- 11 adjustable open shelves that can be set to fit different item sizes
- Each shelf holds up to 22 lbs, with a 242-pound minimum weight listed
- Steel frame and particle board with anti-tilt brackets for wall fastening
- Assembles within 1 hour with numbered components and included tools
Cons
- Bullets list 63 x 9.5 x 54.6 in while the spec table lists 9.5 x 59.5 x 54.9 in; the listing contradicts itself on width and height
- 9.5 in depth is shallow for deep books
- 18.5 kg unit is heavy to move
- No warranty term is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states 11 adjustable open shelves in a steel frame and particle board ladder bookshelf, with each shelf holding up to 22 lbs, anti-tilt brackets for wall support, 8 adjustable plastic feet, and 12mm board with 20 x 20mm metal tubes. It contradicts itself on size: the bullets state 63 x 9.5 x 54.6 in while the spec table states 9.5 x 59.5 x 54.9 in; the bullets are trusted over the table.
Who it's for: a wide wall of books and decor in a living room or office. Who should skip it: anyone with deep art books or who needs a narrow bookcase.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Shelves | 11, adjustable |
|---|---|
| Size | 63 x 9.5 x 54.6 in |
| Shelf capacity | 22 lbs each |
| Safety | Anti-tilt brackets |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Anti-tilt brackets fasten the bookcase to the wall, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| Bookshelf | Office Score | Tiers | Max Weight | Size (H x W x D) | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| JAQ 6-Tier Metal Kids Bookshelf | 9.6/10 | 6 | 17.9 pounds | 37.01 x 35 x 14.37 in | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| TNDCKP 5-Tier Rolling Book Cart | 9.6/10 | 5 | 20 pounds | 30.6 x 15.9 x 4.7 in | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| SUPERJARE Triple Bookshelf | 9.6/10 | 4 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| VASAGLE 6-Tier Bookcase | 9.7/10 | 6 | Not stated | 23.6 in wide | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 23 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance (tiers, capacity and how the listing fits art supplies), build (materials and stated durability), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For a bookshelf, safety means a frame stated to resist wobbling or tipping, or casters stated to lock firmly. The JAQ and the TNDCKP state such features; the two title-only picks state none. None of the four states a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| JAQ 6-Tier Metal Kids Bookshelf | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 7 | 0 |
| TNDCKP 5-Tier Rolling Book Cart | 9.6 | 29 | 20 | 21 | 7 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best bookshelf for art supplies
Count the tiers against what you store
The JAQ offers 6 tiers at 37 inches tall, with a named use for storybooks and art supplies. The TNDCKP is a 5-tier rolling cart with a cup holder and small grids for cups, notes and pen containers. Tall tubes and canvas pads need taller openings, so measure your tallest supply before choosing. For a desk-side shelf, our bookshelf for home office guide compares more options.
Rolling or freestanding
The TNDCKP rolls on 360-degree wheels with two lockable casters, so it moves between the desk and the project table and stays put when parked. The JAQ is freestanding, with a reinforced frame the maker says resists wobbling or tipping. If you rearrange the room often, wheels win; if the shelf stays against a wall, a freestanding frame is simpler.
| Bookshelf | Tiers | Max Weight | Size (H x W x D) | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| JAQ 6-Tier Metal Bookshelf | 6 | 17.9 pounds | 37.01 x 35 x 14.37 in | Not stated |
| TNDCKP 5-Tier Rolling Cart | 5 | 20 pounds | 30.6 x 15.9 x 4.7 in | Not stated |
| SUPERJARE Triple Bookshelf | 4 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| VASAGLE 6-Tier Bookcase | 6 | Not stated | 23.6 in wide | Not stated |
Check the weight and the depth
The JAQ states a 17.9-pound maximum weight and a 14.37-inch depth, room for paint sets and stacked paper. The TNDCKP states a 20-pound maximum and a slim 4.7-inch depth, which suits books, folders and small supplies but not deep bins. Art supplies get heavy fast, so read the weight line before loading the top tier.
Read the warranty line
None of the four listings states a warranty term, so check each listing’s support note before you count on one. Our bookshelf for DVDs guide shows how the same listings read for a different room. A stated term matters most on the shelf holding the expensive supply set.
Setup Notes
- Measure the tallest supply: the JAQ is 37 inches tall and the TNDCKP is 30.6 inches tall.
- The TNDCKP assembles in 3 to 5 minutes and locks two of its four casters when parked.
- The JAQ needs hardware and a wrench, all included in the box.
- Place heavy supplies on the lowest tier of any shelf.
- The VASAGLE is 23.6 inches wide, so check the wall space before buying.
Frequently Asked Questions
What size bookshelf do I need for art supplies?
The JAQ is 37.01 inches tall with 6 tiers, and the TNDCKP is 30.6 inches tall with 5 tiers. Measure your tallest supply before choosing, since canvas pads and tall tubes need taller openings.
Do any of these bookshelves roll?
The TNDCKP is a rolling cart with 360-degree wheels and two lockable casters. The other three are freestanding shelves.
How much weight can these bookshelves hold?
The JAQ states a 17.9-pound maximum weight and the TNDCKP states a 20-pound maximum. The two title-only picks state no weight capacity.
Are the shelves adjustable?
The SUPERJARE has 11 adjustable shelves in 4 tiers, and the VASAGLE has adjustable storage shelves with 6 tiers. The JAQ and TNDCKP listings do not state adjustable shelves.
Which bookshelves have a warranty?
None of the four listings states a warranty term. Read each listing’s support note before you count on one.
Related guides
See every bookshelves and file cabinets guide and all office machines and storage guides.
More picks: browse bookshelves for home offices, bookshelves for DVDs and bookshelves for living rooms.





