The best flat extension cord for under rug is the one you forget is there until you need the outlet it feeds. The desk sits against the far wall, the only outlet hides behind the bookcase, and the laptop cable has been stretched across the walkway all morning, waiting for a foot. A flat cord that slides under the rug ends that daily obstacle course. We compared five flat extension cords by length, outlet count, electrical rating, plug profile and warranty term, using only what each listing publishes.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall NTONPOWER 15 ft Power Strip: 4 AC outlets plus 3 USB ports, overload and 1080 J surge protection Check price on Amazon
Best Rotating Plug Maximm ADW-360-3310-W: 360° rotating flat plug, 3 outlets, UL certified, 1-year warranty Check price on Amazon
Thinnest Cord DEWENWILS LA004E: 0.19 in ultra-thin cord, fits under carpets, ETL listed Check price on Amazon
Best Slimline Woods 2255 Slimline: 13 ft slimline flat plug, 180-day warranty stated Check price on Amazon
Best Cord Cover Electriduct PE-5FT-UL: 5 ft with built-in low profile cable protector, UL rated Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | NTONPOWER 15 ft Power Strip | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Maximm ADW-360-3310-W | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | DEWENWILS LA004E | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Woods 2255 Slimline | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Electriduct PE-5FT-UL | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

NTONPOWER 15 ft Power Strip
A 15 ft flat extension cord with 4 AC outlets, 2 USB-A and 1 USB-C ports, overload protection and mounting holes for wall or desk use.
Pros
- 4 AC outlets plus 2 USB-A and 1 USB-C charge up to 7 devices at once
- Overload protection trips automatically, plus 1080 J surge protection stated
- Two mounting holes fit a wall, nightstand or desk
- 45-degree flat plug is 0.31 in thick for tight spaces
Cons
- 10 A and 1250 W is the lowest electrical rating in this group
- No UL or ETL listing is stated
- Spec table says 25 ft while the title, bullets and 180 in item length say 15 ft
- USB output of 2.4A/12W is the only stated USB figure
Detailed Review
NTONPOWER lists this as a 15 ft flat extension cord with 4 AC outlets, 2 USB-A ports and 1 USB-C port, with a stated USB output of 2.4A/12W. The 45-degree flat plug is 0.31 in thick, the strip has two mounting holes, and the listing claims overload protection with an automatic trip, 1080 J of surge protection and a fire-resistant ABS+PC shell the maker rates to 1382 F. The spec table lists the cord length as 25 ft, but the title, bullets and 180 in item length all say 15 ft, so we trust 15 ft; it also lists USB totals of both 2 and 3, and the title's 2 USB-A plus 1 USB-C is the more specific claim. The listing states an 18-month product warranty for refund or replacement and includes a cable tie.
Who it's for: a home worker whose desk sits far from the only outlet and who wants outlets plus USB in one under-rug run. Who should skip it: anyone whose devices need more than the stated 10 A and 1250 W rating, or anyone who wants a UL or ETL listing, which is not stated.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 3/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 15 ft |
|---|---|
| Outlets | 4 AC, 2 USB-A, 1 USB-C |
| Rating | 10 A, 125 V, 1250 W |
| Surge protection | 1080 J stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Overload protection with automatic trip and 1080 J surge protection are stated, so safety scores 9 of 10. 18 months product warranty for refund or replacement. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Maximm ADW-360-3310-W
A 10 ft UL certified flat extension cord with a 360-degree rotating flat plug and 3 grounded outlets for tight spaces behind furniture.
Pros
- 360° rotating plug keeps the second outlet free on a duplex receptacle
- 3 grounded outlets on a 16 AWG cord rated 13 A and 1625 W
- UL certified, with a stated 1-year limited warranty
- Flat plug suits furniture, bookshelves and desks close to the wall
Cons
- 10 ft is the second lowest length here
- No cable tie or mounting holes are stated
- Indoor use only; not water resistant
- Warranty excludes misuse and normal wear and tear
Detailed Review
Maximm lists a 10 ft flat extension cord with a 360-degree rotating flat plug and 3 grounded outlets on 16 AWG, 3-conductor wire. The cord is rated 13 A at 125 V and 1625 W, uses a grounded NEMA 5-15P plug to NEMA 5-15R outlets, and is UL certified for indoor use. The listing states the rotating plug keeps the second outlet on a duplex receptacle free and suits tight spaces behind furniture, bookshelves and desks. It states a limited 1-year warranty that excludes misuse and normal wear and tear.
Who it's for: someone who needs power behind furniture with the second outlet left free. Who should skip it: anyone who needs USB ports, mounting holes or more than 3 outlets.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 10 ft |
|---|---|
| Outlets | 3 grounded |
| Rating | 13 A, 125 V, 1625 W |
| Wire | 16 AWG, 3 conductor |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL Certified; grounded 3-prong plug rated 13 A and 1625 W, so safety scores 8 of 10. Limited 1-Year Warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

DEWENWILS LA004E
A 15 ft ultra-thin flat extension cord, 0.19 in thick, with 3 grounded outlets, ETL listed and stated to hide under carpets.
Pros
- 0.19 in cord is the thinnest here and is stated to hide under carpets
- ETL listed with a stated 13 A, 125 V and 1625 W rating
- Flame-retardant PVC outer layer and reinforced strain relief are stated
- Flat plug fits behind sofas, beds and dressers per the listing
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Only 3 outlets, with no USB ports
- No cable tie or mounting hardware is stated
- Stated for indoor narrow spaces; no outdoor use is stated
Detailed Review
DEWENWILS lists a 15 ft ultra-thin flat extension cord, 0.19 in thick, with 3 grounded outlets on 16/3 SPT-3 wire. The cord is rated 13 A at 125 V and 1625 W, is ETL listed, and the listing states a full copper core, a flame-retardant PVC outer layer and a reinforced strain relief. The listing says the cord can be hidden under carpets, pass under doors and sit behind sofas, bedside tables and dressers. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: someone who wants the thinnest cord here to disappear under a rug. Who should skip it: anyone who needs USB charging, a stated warranty or more than 3 outlets.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 0/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 15 ft |
|---|---|
| Cord thickness | 0.19 in |
| Rating | 13 A, 125 V, 1625 W |
| Outlets | 3 grounded |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. ETL Listed; flame-retardant PVC jacket and strain relief are stated, so safety scores 9 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Woods 2255 Slimline
A 13 ft beige slimline flat plug extension cord with 2 three-wire outlets, UL listed, for lamps and lighting near walls.
Pros
- UL listed, rated 13 A and 1625 W
- Slimline flat plug pushes furniture close to the wall
- 180-day limited warranty is stated
- Stated for clocks, lamps and lighting
Cons
- Only 2 outlets, the fewest here
- No cord thickness or plug profile figure is stated
- 180-day warranty is the lowest stated term here
- No USB ports or mounting features are stated
Detailed Review
Woods, sold under the Coleman Cable brand, lists a 13 ft beige slimline flat plug extension cord with 2 three-wire outlets. The cord is rated 13 A at 125 V and 1625 W and is UL listed. The bullets say the slimline design keeps the cord close to the wall so furniture can sit against it, and name clocks, lamps and lighting as the intended indoor uses. The listing states a 180-day limited warranty.
Who it's for: someone who needs a simple flat cord for a lamp or two near a wall. Who should skip it: anyone who needs 3 or more outlets, USB ports or the thinnest cord profile.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 19/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 2/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 13 ft |
|---|---|
| Outlets | 2 |
| Rating | 13 A, 125 V, 1625 W |
| Color | Beige |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL listed; 3-wire grounded cord rated 13 A and 1625 W, so safety scores 7 of 10. 180 Days Limited Warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Electriduct PE-5FT-UL
A 5 ft black lay flat extension cord with a built-in low profile cable protector and a duplex receptacle for crossing doorways and halls.
Pros
- Built-in low profile cable protector reduces trip risk
- Duplex receptacle at the box end
- UL rated at 13 A and 1625 W
- Extra 2 ft of cable reaches distant outlets per the listing
Cons
- 5 ft is the lowest length in this group
- No warranty term is stated
- A single duplex receptacle means 2 outlets total, fewer than most here
- No USB ports or flat plug angle options are stated
Detailed Review
Electriduct lists a 5 ft black lay flat extension cord with a built-in low profile cable protector and a duplex receptacle at one end. The cord is 3-prong grounded, rated 13 A at 125 V and 1625 W, and UL rated. The listing says the unit safely runs power across doorways and hallways and includes 2 ft of additional cable for easy outlet access. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: someone crossing a doorway or hallway where a bare cord would be a trip hazard. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a longer run, USB ports or a stated warranty.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 5 ft |
|---|---|
| Receptacle | Duplex, grounded |
| Rating | 13 A, 125 V, 1625 W |
| Protector | Built-in low profile cable cover |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL Rated; 3-prong grounded plug rated 13 A and 1625 W, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Maximm 15 ft Rotating Plug CordSingle-outlet cord for one device under a rug.Check on Amazon
NTONPOWER 15 ft Black Power StripBlack cord with outlets and USB for a dark rug.Check on Amazon
Maximm 12 ft Angled Plug CordAngled plug frees the adjacent outlet behind furniture.Check on Amazon
Elecan 12 ft Flat Plug CordETL certified cord with a slim flat plug.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Extension cord | Office Score | Length | Outlets | Rating | Certification | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NTONPOWER 15 ft Power Strip | 9.7/10 | 15 ft | 4 AC + 3 USB | 10 A, 1250 W | None stated | 18 months | View on Amazon |
| Maximm ADW-360-3310-W | 9.6/10 | 10 ft | 3 | 13 A, 1625 W | UL Certified | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| DEWENWILS LA004E | 9.6/10 | 15 ft | 3 | 13 A, 1625 W | ETL Listed | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Woods 2255 Slimline | 9.5/10 | 13 ft | 2 | 13 A, 1625 W | UL Listed | 180 days | View on Amazon |
| Electriduct PE-5FT-UL | 9.5/10 | 5 ft | Duplex | 13 A, 1625 W | UL Rated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026. Three of the five state a warranty term; four state a UL or ETL listing.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance (length, outlet count, plug profile and stated rating), build (wire gauge, jacket and strain relief), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For an extension cord, safety means a stated UL or ETL listing, grounded construction, overload or surge protection, or a stated amp and watt rating; four of the five state a listing, and all five state a rating. Three listings state a warranty term: NTONPOWER at 18 months, Maximm at one year and Woods at 180 days. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NTONPOWER 15 ft Power Strip | 9.7 | 28 | 21 | 21 | 9 | 3 |
| Maximm ADW-360-3310-W | 9.6 | 29 | 20 | 20 | 8 | 3 |
| DEWENWILS LA004E | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 9 | 0 |
| Woods 2255 Slimline | 9.5 | 26 | 19 | 19 | 7 | 2 |
| Electriduct PE-5FT-UL | 9.5 | 27 | 19 | 20 | 7 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best flat extension cord for under rug
Measure the run before you buy the cord
Length is the first filter. The cords here run from 5 ft to 15 ft: the DEWENWILS and the NTONPOWER are 15 ft, the Woods is 13 ft, the Maximm is 10 ft, and the Electriduct is 5 ft. Measure from your outlet to the far edge of the rug, then pick the lowest length that makes the run, because extra length becomes a coil under the carpet. If the outlet sits behind furniture, a flat plug design such as the ones in our best extension cord for behind furniture roundup keeps the run tight to the wall.
Count outlets and USB ports together
Add up everything you plan to plug in, then add one more for the device you forgot. The NTONPOWER leads here with 4 AC outlets plus 2 USB-A and 1 USB-C, enough for a lamp, a charger and a laptop brick at once. The Maximm and the DEWENWILS each give you 3 grounded outlets, the Woods gives 2, and the Electriduct ends in a single duplex receptacle. A cord that runs under a rug is hard to swap later, so buy the outlet count you will need next year, not just today.
Read the amp and watt rating like a label
Every cord here states its limit, and the limit is the whole story. Four cords are rated 13 A at 125 V and 1625 W; the NTONPOWER is rated 10 A at 125 V and 1250 W. Keep the combined draw of your devices under the stated watt figure. The NTONPOWER adds an overload switch that trips automatically plus 1080 J of surge protection, which suits a desk full of chargers.
| Extension cord | Outlets | Rating | Plug or cord profile |
|---|---|---|---|
| NTONPOWER 15 ft Power Strip | 4 AC, 2 USB-A, 1 USB-C | 10 A, 1250 W | 0.31 in flat plug, mounting holes |
| Maximm ADW-360-3310-W | 3 | 13 A, 1625 W | 360° rotating flat plug |
| DEWENWILS LA004E | 3 | 13 A, 1625 W | 0.19 in cord |
| Woods 2255 Slimline | 2 | 13 A, 1625 W | Slimline flat plug |
| Electriduct PE-5FT-UL | Duplex | 13 A, 1625 W | Built-in cable protector |
Figures as stated in each listing. Amp and watt ratings are the maker’s maximums; the USB output on the NTONPOWER is stated as 2.4A/12W.
Check the plug profile for tight spots
The plug decides whether the cord works behind a bookcase. The Maximm’s plug rotates a full 360° and stays flat, the DEWENWILS cord is 0.19 in thick and stated to pass under doors, and the Woods slimline plug is made to let furniture sit close to the wall. For the run across the room itself, our best cable management for desk in middle of room guide covers keeping the visible part tidy, and the surge protectors and cable management category collects related guides.
Setup Notes
- Measure the outlet-to-rug run before choosing: the cords here run from 5 ft to 15 ft.
- Count devices first: the NTONPOWER feeds up to 7 devices at once, the Woods only 2.
- Keep total draw under the stated rating: 1625 W on the 13 A cords, 1250 W on the 10 A NTONPOWER.
- Check plug clearance behind furniture: the Maximm plug rotates 360°, and the DEWENWILS cord is 0.19 in thick.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can a flat extension cord go under a rug?
The DEWENWILS listing states its 0.19 in cord can be hidden under carpets, and the NTONPOWER is described as thin enough to run along the floor or under the carpet. Both are stated for indoor use.
How do you cover an extension cord crossing a walkway?
The Electriduct has a built-in low profile cable protector in a single 5 ft unit, and its listing says it safely runs power across doorways and hallways. A flat cord under a rug, such as the DEWENWILS, is the other approach these listings state.
What do the amp and watt numbers on these cords mean?
They are the maker’s maximum ratings. Four cords here are rated 13 A at 125 V and 1625 W, while the NTONPOWER is rated 10 A at 125 V and 1250 W. Keep the combined draw of your devices under the stated watt figure.
Which cord here charges phones over USB?
The NTONPOWER lists 2 USB-A ports and 1 USB-C port with a stated 2.4A/12W USB output, plus 4 AC outlets. No other cord in this group lists USB ports.
How long are the cords in this comparison?
The DEWENWILS and the NTONPOWER are 15 ft, the Woods is 13 ft, the Maximm is 10 ft, and the Electriduct is 5 ft.
Related guides
See every surge protector and cable management guide and all audio, power and connectivity guides. Also see our best extension cord for cable management. Also see our best cable management box with power strip. Also see our best indoor extension cord.
More picks: extension cords for behind furniture, under-desk cable trays, docking stations and USB hubs.




