A morning call on a dim webcam and a chair that sinks by noon sets the scene for a workday at a small desk, and the best folding study desk is the piece that folds away when the workday ends. The five desks below were compared by size, folded size, stated weight capacity, assembly and frame, with two more folding desks listed as extra options after the picks. Where a listing states nothing on a point, this article says so plainly, rather than filling the gap with a guess.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall HDOFM Folding Desk: 330 lb capacity, no assembly, 39.4 in wide, storage shelf Check price on Amazon
Best Slim Fold WOHOMO Folding Desk: Folds to 2.76 in deep, 39.4 in wide, side hook Check price on Amazon
Best Wide Desk XBurmo Folding Desk: 43.3 in wide, 200 lb capacity, folds to 2.9 in Check price on Amazon
Best Compact Elephance Folding Desk: 31.5 in wide, no assembly, steel frame Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | HDOFM Folding Desk | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | WOHOMO Folding Desk | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | XBurmo Folding Desk | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Elephance Folding Desk | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Furinno Riau Folding Desk | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

HDOFM Folding Desk
A 39.4 inch folding desk with a stated 330 lb capacity, adjustable feet and a storage shelf, arriving fully assembled.
Pros
- Stated 330 lb capacity, the highest here
- No assembly required, ready on unfolding
- Adjustable feet for uneven floors
- Storage shelf stated
Cons
- One spec row states 31.5 in width against 39.4 in elsewhere
- No folded measurement stated, only folds flat
- No warranty term stated
- No certification stated
Detailed Review
HDOFM lists this desk as a 39.4 inch folding desk with no assembly required, a high-strength powder-coated steel frame, a reinforced 0.7 inch thick desktop, arc-welded joints, H-shaped legs, adjustable leg pads and a storage shelf, with a stated capacity of 330 lb. One spec row states a 31.5 inch size and a 31.5 inch width, while the title and the item dimensions state 39.4 inches; following the title and item dimensions, this article uses 39.4 inches.
Who it's for: someone who wants the highest stated capacity here with no assembly. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated folded measurement before ordering.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety not scored (non-powered gear) and warranty 0/5: 76 of 90 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Size | 39.4 by 19.7 by 28.7 in |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 330 lb |
| Top | 0.7 in thick |
| Assembly | None |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 24 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Moving desk, heavy load. Stay under the stated lift or weight capacity, leave slack in every cable, keep children, pets and fingers clear while the desk moves, and treat anti-collision as the maker's claim.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

WOHOMO Folding Desk
A 39.4 inch oak folding desk that folds to 2.76 inches deep, with a side hook and room for 2 monitors, per the listing.
Pros
- Folds to 2.76 in deep for slim storage
- 39.4 in wide surface, room for 2 monitors stated
- Nylon buckle fold with triangular plates
- Side hook for small items
Cons
- Assembly required, unlike the three no-assembly desks
- Bullets state 14.96 lb while the spec table states 17.9 lb
- No weight capacity stated
- No warranty term stated
Detailed Review
WOHOMO lists this desk as a 39.4 by 15.75 by 29.52 inch folding desk in oak, folding to 2.76 inches deep for storage behind a door, under a bed or beside a refrigerator, with a nylon buckle under the surface, triangular supporting plates, a side hook and room for 2 monitors. Assembly is required, with a manual and tools included. The bullets state 14.96 lb while the spec table states 17.9 lb; both figures are given here and neither is used as the desk weight.
Who it's for: someone who wants the slimmest folded size here and a wide surface. Who should skip it: anyone who wants no assembly or a stated weight capacity.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety not scored (non-powered gear) and warranty 0/5: 74 of 90 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Size | 39.4 by 15.75 by 29.52 in |
|---|---|
| Folded | 2.76 in deep |
| Assembly | Required |
| Material | Engineered wood, iron |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 24 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Moving desk, heavy load. Stay under the stated lift or weight capacity, leave slack in every cable, keep children, pets and fingers clear while the desk moves, and treat anti-collision as the maker's claim.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

XBurmo Folding Desk
A 43.3 inch light maple folding desk with a stated 200 lb capacity, folding to 2.9 inches thick, arriving fully assembled.
Pros
- Widest desk here at 43.3 in
- Stated 200 lb capacity on a steel frame
- Folds to 2.9 in thick for storage
- No assembly required
Cons
- Largest open size, not for the smallest rooms
- No warranty term stated
- No shelf or hook stated
- No certification stated
Detailed Review
XBurmo lists this desk as a 43.3 by 19.6 by 28.7 inch folding desk in light maple, arriving fully assembled, with a reinforced steel structure, high-tension springs, arc-welded joints, a one-piece frame, adjustable foot pads and a stated capacity of 200 lb, folding to 2.9 inches thick for storage behind a door or under a bed.
Who it's for: someone who wants the widest surface here with a stated capacity and no assembly. Who should skip it: anyone with a very small room or anyone who wants a shelf or hook stated.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 19/25, safety not scored (non-powered gear) and warranty 0/5: 73 of 90 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Size | 43.3 by 19.6 by 28.7 in |
|---|---|
| Folded | 2.9 in thick |
| Capacity | 200 lb |
| Assembly | None |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 24 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Moving desk, heavy load. Stay under the stated lift or weight capacity, leave slack in every cable, keep children, pets and fingers clear while the desk moves, and treat anti-collision as the maker's claim.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Elephance Folding Desk
A 31.5 inch black oak folding desk with a P2 particle board top on an I-shaped steel frame, arriving fully assembled.
Pros
- Smallest open size here at 31.5 in
- No assembly required
- P2 particle board on a thicker I-shaped steel frame
- Slim storage in a corner space, per the listing
Cons
- No weight capacity stated
- No folded measurement stated, only slim storage
- Storage options listed as limited
- No warranty term stated
Detailed Review
Elephance lists this desk as a 31.5 by 19.7 by 29.5 inch folding desk in black oak, fully assembled on arrival, made of P2 class particle board with a thicker I-shaped steel frame, a 0.75 inch thick top and a stated weight of 22.9 lb, slim enough to store in a small corner space when not in use.
Who it's for: someone with the smallest room here who wants no assembly. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated weight capacity or a folded measurement.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety not scored (non-powered gear) and warranty 0/5: 71 of 90 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Size | 31.5 by 19.7 by 29.5 in |
|---|---|
| Frame | I-shaped steel |
| Top | 0.75 in thick |
| Assembly | None |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 24 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Moving desk, heavy load. Stay under the stated lift or weight capacity, leave slack in every cable, keep children, pets and fingers clear while the desk moves, and treat anti-collision as the maker's claim.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Furinno Riau Folding Desk
A no-tool folding desk with a metal frame that folds flat, suited to a simple laptop setup in a small room.
Pros
- No tools needed for assembly
- Folds flat when not in use
- Metal frame with engineered wood top
- Sonoma Oak and black finish
Cons
- 40-pound capacity, the lowest here
- No wheels
- No storage shelf
- No warranty term is stated
Detailed Review
The Furinno Riau listing describes a folding desk with a metal frame and an engineered wood top in Sonoma Oak and black. No tools are needed for assembly: you snap the table top onto the unfolded metal frame. It measures 39.37 by 29.53 by 19.70 inches and folds flat when not in use. The maker lists a 40-pound weight capacity and says the materials are rated for strength and durability. The Sonoma Oak top looks like wood and wipes clean.
Who it's for: someone who wants a simple, no-tool desk at a modest footprint. Who should skip it: anyone with a heavy setup, since the 40-pound capacity is the lowest here.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 3/10 and warranty 0/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Size | 39.37 x 29.53 x 19.70 in |
|---|---|
| Weight capacity | 40 pounds |
| Material | Engineered wood, metal |
| Color | Sonoma Oak/Black |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Metal frame rated for strength and a 40-pound weight capacity stated, so safety scores 3 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Moving desk, heavy load. Stay under the stated lift or weight capacity, leave slack in every cable, keep children, pets and fingers clear while the desk moves, and treat anti-collision as the maker's claim.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
ZENY Folding DeskSteel-frame folding desk for a small study room, with hooksCheck on Amazon
Garvee Folding Desk with WheelsFolding desk with wheels and a storage shelf for moving between roomsCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Desk | Office Score | Size | Folded | Capacity | Assembly | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HDOFM Folding Desk | 9.7/10 | 39.4 by 19.7 in | Folds flat | 330 lb | None | View on Amazon |
| WOHOMO Folding Desk | 9.7/10 | 39.4 by 15.75 in | 2.76 in deep | Not stated | Required | View on Amazon |
| XBurmo Folding Desk | 9.6/10 | 43.3 by 19.6 in | 2.9 in thick | 200 lb | None | View on Amazon |
| Elephance Folding Desk | 9.6/10 | 31.5 by 19.7 in | Slim | Not stated | None | View on Amazon |
| Furinno Riau Desk | 9.5/10 | Not stated | Folding | Not stated | None |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 24 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For folding desks, safety means stated weight capacity and frame construction: the HDOFM states 330 lb on a steel frame and the XBurmo states 200 lb on a steel frame, while the other three listings state no capacity. No listing here states a concrete warranty term, only the warranty type Limited with no duration, so warranty scores zero across the group. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HDOFM Folding Desk | 9.7 | 33 | 22 | 21 | n/a | 0 |
| WOHOMO Folding Desk | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 21 | n/a | 0 |
| XBurmo Folding Desk | 9.6 | 32 | 22 | 19 | n/a | 0 |
| Elephance Folding Desk | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 20 | n/a | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Safety counts only for powered gear or where the listing states safety features; where it does not apply, the score is taken over the remaining 90 points.
How to choose the best folding study desk
Start with the open size, then the folded size
Open size decides what fits on the desk, and folded size decides where it goes when the workday ends. The XBurmo is the widest here at 43.3 by 19.6 inches, the HDOFM and WOHOMO both state 39.4 inches wide, and the Elephance is the narrowest at 31.5 by 19.7 inches. On the folded side, the WOHOMO states 2.76 inches deep when folded and the XBurmo states 2.9 inches thick when folded, so both slide behind a door or under a bed, while the HDOFM and Elephance only state that they fold flat, with no folded measurement. Measure the storage spot first, since a desk that folds flat still needs a place to stand.
Assembly: none, or a manual and tools
Assembly splits this group in two. The HDOFM, XBurmo and Elephance arrive fully assembled and only need unfolding, which suits a buyer who wants to start at once. The WOHOMO needs assembly, with a manual and tools included, and triangular supporting plates that brace the top. The Furinno title states no tool and no assembly, but its listing gives no further detail, so a buyer who needs dimensions or capacity should look at the four full listings instead. Assembly time is stated for none of these desks, so no figure is given here.
Capacity and frame: what the listings actually state
Stated weight capacity is the clearest build figure in this group, and only two desks state one. The HDOFM states 330 lb on a high-strength powder-coated steel frame with arc-welded joints and H-shaped legs, and the XBurmo states 200 lb on a reinforced steel structure with arc-welded joints and a one-piece frame. The WOHOMO states an iron frame with triangular plates, and the Elephance states P2 class particle board on a thicker I-shaped steel frame, but neither states a capacity, so a buyer with heavy monitors should weigh the two stated capacities first. One HDOFM spec row states 31.5 inches width while the title and the item dimensions state 39.4 inches; following the title and item dimensions, this article uses 39.4 inches.
Storage extras: shelf, hook, or nothing stated
Storage extras are small, but they decide where everyday items live. The HDOFM states a storage shelf, which suits folders and books beside the work surface, and the WOHOMO states a side hook for small items such as earphones or bags. The XBurmo, Elephance and Furinno listings state no shelf and no hook, so a buyer who wants those extras should weigh the HDOFM and WOHOMO first. A shelf or hook never makes up for a wrong size or a missing capacity figure, but on two desks that otherwise tie, the extra can break the tie.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which folding study desk fits a small room?
The Elephance, at 31.5 by 19.7 inches, takes the least open space here, while the WOHOMO folds to 2.76 inches deep and the XBurmo to 2.9 inches thick for storage. The HDOFM, at 39.4 inches wide, suits a room with more wall space. Measure both the open spot and the storage spot before ordering, since the HDOFM and Elephance state no folded measurement.
Do any of these desks need assembly?
The HDOFM, XBurmo and Elephance arrive fully assembled and only need unfolding. The WOHOMO needs assembly, with a manual and tools included. The Furinno title states no tool and no assembly, but its listing gives no further detail.
What weight capacities do these desks state?
Only two state a capacity: the HDOFM at 330 lb and the XBurmo at 200 lb. The WOHOMO, Elephance and Furinno listings state no capacity, so no figure is given for them.
Which desk folds the slimmest?
The WOHOMO states 2.76 inches deep when folded, slightly slimmer than the XBurmo at 2.9 inches thick when folded. The HDOFM and Elephance only state that they fold flat, with no folded measurement, and the Furinno listing gives no folded figure.
Related guides
More picks: folding desk for home office, folding desk for small apartment, compact folding desk, desks.





