Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Keyboards and Keyboard Trays

Best Keyboard Tray Under $40 (2026): 5 Trays Compared

Five keyboard trays and mounting kits compared by board size, clamp fit and slide extension, ranked by the Office Score.

Best Keyboard Tray Under $40 (2026): 5 Trays Compared

After a morning of video calls with the laptop pushed to the desk edge, the best keyboard tray under 40 dollars gives the keyboard its own slide-out spot. We compared five under-desk options from current listings: four keyboard trays and one height-adjustment bracket kit for VIVO trays. They are ranked below by the Office Score, with the roomiest and most complete listings on top.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Zontera 25.6-Inch Keyboard Tray
    Best Large Tray Zontera 25.6-Inch Keyboard Tray: 25.6 by 11.8 inch board, 31.5 inches with clamps Check price on Amazon
  • Zontera 20-Inch Keyboard Tray
    Best White Tray Zontera 20-Inch Keyboard Tray: 20 by 11.8 inch board with 7.8 inch slide extension Check price on Amazon
  • Xyndyx 20-Inch Keyboard Tray
    Best Small-Desk Fit Xyndyx 20-Inch Keyboard Tray: 20 by 11.8 inch board for flat, unobstructed desk undersides Check price on Amazon
  • SKYZONAL Metal Keyboard Tray
    Best Metal Slides SKYZONAL Metal Keyboard Tray: Steel tray with ball bearing extension slides Check price on Amazon
  • VIVO Tray Height Kit
    Bracket Kit Add-On VIVO Tray Height Kit: Height brackets for VIVO trays; not a tray itself Check price on Amazon

The picks

Zontera 25.6-Inch Keyboard Tray

Zontera 25.6-Inch Keyboard Tray

Zontera9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 25.6 by 11.8 inch clamp-on tray in brown with a 7.8 inch slide extension for roomy under-desk typing.

Pros

  • 25.6 by 11.8 inch board fits a full keyboard, mouse and small accessories
  • Slides out 7.8 inches and tucks away under the desk
  • Dual C-clamps fit desks up to 2.76 inches thick with no drilling
  • Back baffle and non-slip pads keep the keyboard in place

Cons

  • Needs 31.5 inches of desk width including clamps
  • Weighs 6.8 pounds, more than the 6.17 pound white Zontera
  • Brown finish only; no other color is stated
  • No warranty term is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 25.6 by 11.8 inch brown board, 31.5 inches including clamps, a 7.8 inch slide extension and dual C-clamps for desks up to 2.76 inches thick, with a back baffle and non-slip pads. The maker describes the typing angle as ergonomic.

Who it's for: typists wanting the roomiest clamp-on tray in this guide. Who should skip it: anyone whose desk is narrower than 31.5 inches or thicker than 2.76 inches.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 0/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Board25.6 x 11.8 inches
With clamps31.5 inches
Slide extension7.8 inches
Max desk thickness2.76 inches

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. The maker states a back baffle, non-slip pads and clamps that install without drilling or desk damage., so safety scores 4 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Moving desk, heavy load. Stay under the stated lift or weight capacity, leave slack in every cable, keep children, pets and fingers clear while the desk moves, and treat anti-collision as the maker's claim.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Zontera 20-Inch Keyboard Tray

Zontera 20-Inch Keyboard Tray

Zontera9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 20 by 11.8 inch white clamp-on tray with a 7.8 inch slide extension for compact under-desk setups.

Pros

  • 20 by 11.8 inch board with 25.9 inches including clamps
  • Slides out 7.8 inches with a smooth upgraded slide mechanism
  • Dual C-clamps fit desks up to 2.76 inches thick without drilling
  • Installs in about five minutes with included hardware

Cons

  • Needs 25.9 inches of desk width for the clamps
  • Smaller board than the brown Zontera for wide keyboards
  • White finish only; no other color is stated
  • No warranty term is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 20 by 11.8 inch white board, 25.9 inches including clamps, a 7.8 inch slide extension and dual C-clamps for desks up to 2.76 inches thick, with a back baffle, non-slip pads and five-minute installation. The maker describes the typing angle as ergonomic.

Who it's for: typists wanting a compact white tray that installs fast. Who should skip it: anyone needing the wider 25.6 inch board or a different finish.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 0/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Board20 x 11.8 inches
With clamps25.9 inches
Slide extension7.8 inches
Max desk thickness2.76 inches

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. The maker states a back baffle, non-slip pads and clamps that install without drilling or desk damage., so safety scores 4 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Moving desk, heavy load. Stay under the stated lift or weight capacity, leave slack in every cable, keep children, pets and fingers clear while the desk moves, and treat anti-collision as the maker's claim.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Xyndyx 20-Inch Keyboard Tray

Xyndyx 20-Inch Keyboard Tray

Xyndyx9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 20 by 11.8 inch clamp-on tray with rail glide and a back baffle, for desks with a flat underside.

Pros

  • 20 by 11.8 inch board that slides out 7.8 inches on rails
  • Adjustable C-clamps fit desks up to 2.76 inches thick
  • Back baffle keeps the keyboard from slipping
  • No drilling; installs with included hardware

Cons

  • Only fits desks with a flat, unobstructed underside
  • Needs a minimum desk width of 31.5 inches
  • Brown finish only; no other color is stated
  • No warranty term is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 20 by 11.8 inch board, 25.9 inches including clamps, a 7.8 inch rail glide and C-clamps for desks up to 2.76 inches thick, with a back baffle. It adds a hard rule: only desks with a completely flat, unobstructed underside qualify, and the desk must be at least 31.5 inches wide.

Who it's for: typists with a flat-bottomed desk at least 31.5 inches wide. Who should skip it: anyone with crossbars, curved edges or a narrower desk.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 0/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Board20 x 11.8 inches
With clamps25.9 inches
Slide extension7.8 inches
Min desk width31.5 inches

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. The maker states a back baffle, non-slip pads and clamps that install without drilling., so safety scores 4 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Moving desk, heavy load. Stay under the stated lift or weight capacity, leave slack in every cable, keep children, pets and fingers clear while the desk moves, and treat anti-collision as the maker's claim.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SKYZONAL Metal Keyboard Tray

SKYZONAL Metal Keyboard Tray

SKYZONAL9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A gray steel slide-out tray with ball bearing slides and included keyboard pads.

Pros

  • Steel tray with heavy-duty ball bearing extension slides
  • Keyboard pads and wrist pads included
  • Mounts under the desk to free desktop space
  • Ships with mounting hardware and instructions

Cons

  • No board dimensions are stated
  • No clamp or desk-thickness fit is stated
  • Listing is sparse on details beyond the steel build
  • No warranty term is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a gray steel tray with heavy-duty ball bearing slides, keyboard pads, wrist pads and mounting hardware with instructions. It states no board dimensions and no clamp or desk-thickness fit, so measuring against a desk is guesswork.

Who it's for: buyers who want simple steel slides and included pads. Who should skip it: anyone who needs stated dimensions before buying.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 3/10 and warranty 0/5: 70 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
MaterialMetal
SlidesBall bearing extension
Item weight4.64 pounds
Package21.5 x 11.5 x 2.25 inches

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. The maker states keyboard pads that keep the keyboard from slipping off., so safety scores 3 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Moving desk, heavy load. Stay under the stated lift or weight capacity, leave slack in every cable, keep children, pets and fingers clear while the desk moves, and treat anti-collision as the maker's claim.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

VIVO Tray Height Kit

VIVO Tray Height Kit

VIVO9.2/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A two-bracket height adjustment kit for VIVO keyboard trays, not a tray itself.

Pros

  • Adds 0.5 to 2.5 inches of height adjustment to VIVO trays
  • Steel brackets hold up to 11 lbs
  • Powder-coated finish for long use
  • Fits a long list of VIVO tray models

Cons

  • Not a keyboard tray; it is an add-on bracket kit
  • Only fits VIVO trays
  • Adds height but no slide of its own
  • No warranty term is stated
Detailed Review

This listing is a height adjustment kit, not a keyboard tray: two steel brackets that add 0.5 to 2.5 inches of height to compatible VIVO trays and hold up to 11 lbs, with a powder-coated finish.

Who it's for: owners of a compatible VIVO tray wanting more height range. Who should skip it: anyone shopping for an actual keyboard tray.

Its Office Score of 9.2/10 comes from performance 12/35, build 10/25, value 10/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 32 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Adjustment0.5 to 2.5 inches
Bracket loadUp to 11 lbs
MaterialAlloy steel
Item weight9.4 ounces

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Moving desk, heavy load. Stay under the stated lift or weight capacity, leave slack in every cable, keep children, pets and fingers clear while the desk moves, and treat anti-collision as the maker's claim.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • Fellowes Underdesk Keyboard TrayFellowes Underdesk Keyboard TrayFor a basic tray with 3 height adjustments and a side mouse tray.Check on Amazon
  • Strifuture 26x13 Full Metal TrayStrifuture 26×13 Full Metal TrayFor a full metal 26 by 13 inch tray with double C-clamps.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Keyboard Tray Office Score Board Size Mounting Slide Weight Amazon
Zontera 25.6-Inch Keyboard Tray 9.6/10 25.6 x 11.8 in C-clamps, 2.76 in max 7.8 in extension 6.8 lb View on Amazon
Zontera 20-Inch Keyboard Tray 9.5/10 20 x 11.8 in C-clamps, 2.76 in max 7.8 in extension 6.17 lb View on Amazon
Xyndyx 20-Inch Keyboard Tray 9.5/10 20 x 11.8 in C-clamps, 2.76 in max 7.8 in rail glide 7.48 lb View on Amazon
SKYZONAL Metal Keyboard Tray 9.5/10 Not stated Not stated Ball bearing slides 4.64 lb View on Amazon
VIVO Tray Height Kit 9.2/10 Not stated Brackets for VIVO trays 0.5 to 2.5 in lift 9.4 oz View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 23 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For keyboard trays, safety means features that keep the keyboard and the desk safe: back baffles, non-slip pads and clamps that install without drilling. None of the five listings states a warranty term, so warranty scored zero across the board. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Zontera 25.6-Inch Keyboard Tray 9.6 30 20 21 4 0
Zontera 20-Inch Keyboard Tray 9.5 29 20 21 4 0
Xyndyx 20-Inch Keyboard Tray 9.5 28 20 20 4 0
SKYZONAL Metal Keyboard Tray 9.5 27 20 20 3 0
VIVO Tray Height Kit 9.2 12 10 10 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best keyboard tray under 40

Measure the desk first

Start with two numbers: the clear width under the desk and the desktop thickness. The white Zontera and the Xyndyx need 25.9 inches of width including clamps, while the brown Zontera needs 31.5 inches. All three clamp trays fit desks up to 2.76 inches thick. The Xyndyx adds a hard rule: the underside must be flat and unobstructed, with no crossbars or curved edges. A clamp-on keyboard tray guide has more fit notes.

Pick the board size

Board size decides what fits beside the keyboard. The brown Zontera’s 25.6 by 11.8 inch board holds a keyboard, mouse and small accessories; the white Zontera and the Xyndyx offer 20 by 11.8 inches. All three slide out 7.8 inches and tuck back under the desk. The table below lines up the choices.

If you need Look at
Room for keyboard plus extras Brown Zontera, 25.6 by 11.8 inch board
A smaller footprint White Zontera or Xyndyx, 20 by 11.8 inches
Steel slides, simple mount SKYZONAL metal tray

Check the mount and the extras

The three clamp trays need no drilling and come with hardware and instructions; the white Zontera installs in about five minutes per the listing. The SKYZONAL uses ball bearing slides and ships keyboard pads and wrist pads. Back baffles on the Zontera and Xyndyx trays stop the keyboard sliding. If a tray for a standing desk is on the list, check its height range separately.

Read the fine print

Two listings need a second look. The VIVO MOUNT-KB5SP is not a tray at all: it is a two-bracket kit that adds 0.5 to 2.5 inches of height to compatible VIVO trays. The SKYZONAL listing states no board dimensions, so its fit is a guess. Small-desk trays are worth a look when space is tight.

Setup Notes

  • Measure first: the clamp trays need 25.9 or 31.5 inches of clear width and fit desks up to 2.76 inches thick.
  • The Xyndyx needs a flat, unobstructed underside; crossbars or curved edges rule it out.
  • No drilling for the clamp trays; hardware and instructions ship in the box.
  • The VIVO kit fits only the listed VIVO tray models and adds 0.5 to 2.5 inches of height.

Frequently Asked Questions

What desk thickness do these trays fit?

The Zontera and Xyndyx clamps fit desks up to 2.76 inches thick.

How far do the trays slide out?

The three clamp-on trays extend up to 7.8 inches from the desk edge and tuck back underneath.

Is the VIVO MOUNT-KB5SP a keyboard tray?

No. It is a two-bracket height kit that adds 0.5 to 2.5 inches to compatible VIVO trays, and the brackets hold up to 11 lbs.

Which tray has the largest board?

The brown Zontera at 25.6 by 11.8 inches; the white Zontera and the Xyndyx are 20 by 11.8 inches.

Do any of these need drilling?

No. The clamp trays install without drilling, and the SKYZONAL ships with mounting hardware and instructions.

Zontera 25.6-Inch Keyboard Tray
Still deciding? Our top pickZontera 25.6-Inch Keyboard Tray
Check price on Amazon

See every Keyboards and Keyboard Trays guide and all Monitor Mounts, Keyboards and Mice guides.

More picks: desks with keyboard trays, drawer slides and desk mats.