Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Office Chairs

Best Non Mesh Office Chair (2026): 5 Chairs Compared

Five office chairs compared by seat height, adjustments, capacity and warranty, for a dorm desk and home office, with mesh seats and backs stated across the group.

Best Non Mesh Office Chair (2026): 5 Chairs Compared

The desk is set for a long day of typing, with a chair that has to hold up from morning calls to evening emails, and finding the best non mesh office chair starts with what the listings actually describe: mesh seats and backs with adjustable lumbar support, tilt control and stated weight capacities. This guide compares the listed chairs by seat height range, adjustments, capacity and warranty, so the choice rests on stated specs rather than on the keyword alone.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Quick picks

  • ELABEST T96
    Best Overall ELABEST T96: BIFMA 5.1, 300 pounds, 19.6 to 23.6 inch seat height, 3D arms Check price on Amazon
  • Staples Dexley
    Best Warranty Staples Dexley: 5-year warranty, 275 pounds, headrest adjusts in height and angle Check price on Amazon
  • Marsail MSOC23B
    Best Adjustments Marsail MSOC23B: 3D flip-up arms, 2D headrest, 90 to 120 degree tilt, 300 pounds Check price on Amazon
  • Opiesit A5 Mesh Chair
    400-Pound Pick Opiesit A5: 400-pound capacity stated in the title, 3D lumbar support, headrest Check price on Amazon
  • Sweetcrispy KA-3619
    High-Back Pick Sweetcrispy High-Back: High-back mesh chair with headrest and flip-up arms stated in the title Check price on Amazon

The picks

Opiesit A5 Mesh Chair

Opiesit A5 Mesh Chair

Opiesit9.7/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

For a reader who wants maximum adjustability, a mesh chair with 3D lumbar support, a headrest and a 400-pound capacity.

Pros

  • 400-pound weight capacity with a reinforced five-point metal base, the highest stated here
  • 3D adjustable lumbar support plus an adjustable headrest and flip-up armrests
  • 90 to 135 degree tilt that locks at any angle
  • Stated fit for users about 5 feet 5 inches to 6 feet 7 inches

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No BIFMA or other certification is stated on the listing
  • Mesh only, so a reader who wants leather must look elsewhere
  • Assembly is stated as quick, but no instruction detail is given beyond tools included
Detailed Review

The listing states a 400-pound weight capacity with a reinforced five-point metal base, a mesh seat of 20 by 21 inches, and a 90 to 135 degree tilt that locks at any angle. Adjustments include 3D lumbar support, an adjustable headrest and flip-up armrests, with a stated fit for users about 5 feet 5 inches to 6 feet 7 inches. Assembly is stated at about 15 minutes with tools included, plus replacement support for parts.

Who it's for: a heavier user or a tall reader who wants maximum adjustability in a mesh chair. Who should skip it: a reader who wants a leather look or a stated warranty term.

Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 22/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Weight capacity400 pounds
Seat20 in. W x 21 in. D mesh
Tilt90 to 135 degrees, locks at any angle
AssemblyAbout 15 minutes, tools included

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. 400-pound weight capacity; reinforced five-point metal base, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Fit and capacity. Check the stated seat height range against your desk height and the stated weight capacity against the heaviest user. Tighten bolts after the first week. Adjustments are comfort features, not treatment for pain; ask a clinician about any condition.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

ELABEST T96

ELABEST T96

ELABEST9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A mesh office chair with a bionic-curve backrest, adjustable lumbar support, synchro-tilt with 3 lockable positions and 3D armrests, rated to 300 pounds.

Pros

  • BIFMA 5.1 Certified Commercial stated for commercial-grade durability
  • Synchro-tilt with 3 lockable positions and adjustable tension
  • 3D armrests adjust height, width and angle
  • Seat height range of 19.6 to 23.6 inches stated

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Bullets state seat depth 17.7 inches while the spec table states 17.3 inches
  • Mesh seat and back, not a solid or padded seat
  • Item weight listed only as 19 kg, unlike the pound figures on other listings
Detailed Review

ELABEST lists the T96 as a mesh office chair with a bionic-curve backrest, adjustable lumbar support, synchro-tilt with 3 lockable positions and adjustable tension, 3D armrests, a mesh seat and a 300 pound capacity, with BIFMA 5.1 commercial certification and a metal frame. The bullets state a seat height range of 19.6 to 23.6 inches, a seat depth of 17.7 inches and a seat width of 20 inches, while the spec table states a seat depth of 17.3 inches, so this guide follows the bullets on depth. The overall height is stated as 41.7 to 45.4 inches in the bullets.

Who it's for: a home office worker who wants a wide adjustment set with a commercial certification and a 300 pound capacity. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated warranty term, a solid seat, or a weight figure in pounds.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Seat height19.6 to 23.6 inch
Capacity300 pounds
Tilt3 lockable positions
CertificationBIFMA 5.1

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. BIFMA 5.1 Certified Commercial, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Fit and capacity. Check the stated seat height range against your desk height and the stated weight capacity against the heaviest user. Tighten bolts after the first week. Adjustments are comfort features, not treatment for pain; ask a clinician about any condition.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Staples Dexley

Staples Dexley

STAPLES9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A mesh task chair with lumbar support, adjustable seat height, armrest height and headrest height and angle, rated to 275 pounds.

Pros

  • 5-year manufacturer limited warranty stated
  • Seat height adjusts from 16.61 to 20.31 inches
  • Headrest adjusts in height and angle
  • 3-position tilt lock with adjustable tilt tension and 360-degree swivel

Cons

  • 275 pound capacity below the 300 pound chairs here
  • 48.5 pounds, heavier than the 28.7 pound Marsail
  • Mesh seat and back, not a solid or padded seat
  • Gray finish only
Detailed Review

Staples lists the Dexley as a mesh task chair with lumbar support, a high-back design, adjustable seat height, armrest height and headrest height and angle, a 3-position tilt lock with adjustable tension, 360-degree swivel and a 275 pound capacity, with a 5-year manufacturer limited warranty and an aluminum frame. The bullets state a 3-position tilt lock while the spec table counts 2 reclining positions, so this guide follows the bullets. The chair measures 45.3 to 50.8 inches high with a seat of 20.16 by 18.35 inches, and the listing states daily use of 5 to 10 hours.

Who it's for: a home or professional office worker who wants a stated 5-year warranty with headrest adjustment. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a 300 pound capacity, a solid seat, or a lighter chair.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Seat height16.61 to 20.31 inch
Capacity275 pounds
Tilt3-position lock
Warranty5-year manufacturer limited warranty

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 5-year manufacturer limited warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Fit and capacity. Check the stated seat height range against your desk height and the stated weight capacity against the heaviest user. Tighten bolts after the first week. Adjustments are comfort features, not treatment for pain; ask a clinician about any condition.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Marsail MSOC23B

Marsail MSOC23B

Marsail9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A mesh office chair with lumbar support adjustable vertically and horizontally, a 2D headrest, 3D flip-up armrests and a 90 to 120 degree tilt.

Pros

  • Lumbar support adjusts vertically and horizontally
  • 3D flip-up armrests with 90 degree flip, 15 degree swivel and 1.96 inch depth adjustment
  • Tilt range of 90 to 120 degrees stated
  • SGS Class 3 gas lift stated, with a 300 pound capacity

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Load bearing figure of 2866 lbs sits unexplained beside the 300 pound capacity
  • Mesh seat and back, not a solid or padded seat
  • Seat height range is not stated; only a single 22.83 inch figure is listed
Detailed Review

Marsail lists this as a mesh office chair with lumbar support adjustable vertically and horizontally, a 2D headrest, 3D flip-up armrests with a 90 degree flip, 15 degree swivel and 1.96 inch depth adjustment, a 90 to 120 degree tilt, a high-resilience mesh seat and backrest, an SGS Class 3 gas lift and a 300 pound capacity. The listing states a load bearing figure of 2866 lbs beside the 300 pound capacity without explaining the gap, and calls the seat 15% larger without naming the baseline. The chair weighs 28.7 pounds per the spec table.

Who it's for: a worker who wants flip-up arms and a wide tilt range with a 300 pound capacity. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated warranty term, a stated seat height range, or a solid seat.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 3/10 and warranty 0/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity300 pounds
Tilt90 to 120 degrees
Armrests3D flip-up
Gas liftSGS Class 3

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. SGS Class 3 gas lift stated, so safety scores 3 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Fit and capacity. Check the stated seat height range against your desk height and the stated weight capacity against the heaviest user. Tighten bolts after the first week. Adjustments are comfort features, not treatment for pain; ask a clinician about any condition.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Sweetcrispy KA-3619

Sweetcrispy KA-3619

Sweetcrispy9.4/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

High-back mesh chair with an adjustable headrest, 107 to 144 degree rocking and flip-up arms.

Pros

  • Adjustable headrest supports head and neck at an angle you set
  • Rocking mode spans 107 to 144 degrees
  • Seat height adjusts from 18.5 to 22.2 inches
  • Flip-up arms clear the way when the chair is not in use

Cons

  • 250-pound capacity is the lowest of the five picks
  • No safety certification is stated
  • No warranty term is stated
  • 53-inch overall height may dominate a small room
Detailed Review

Sweetcrispy's listing leans on comfort adjustments: prominent lumbar support, an adjustable headrest, a high-density sponge seat and a rocking mode from 107 to 144 degrees. The 250-pound capacity is the lowest here, and the listing states no safety certification and no warranty term.

Who it's for: anyone who wants a headrest and a wide rocking range in a compact chair. Who should skip it: shoppers over the 250-pound stated limit or anyone who wants a certified gas lift.

Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Weight capacity250 pounds
Seat height18.5 to 22.2 inches
Footprint20.08 x 20 inches
Rocking range107 to 144 degrees

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Fit and capacity. Check the stated seat height range against your desk height and the stated weight capacity against the heaviest user. Tighten bolts after the first week. Adjustments are comfort features, not treatment for pain; ask a clinician about any condition.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • LUCKLIFE PU Leather ChairLUCKLIFE PU Leather ChairPU leather chair with flip-up arms, 90 to 110 degree tilt, 300 pound capacity.Check on Amazon
  • Gzorpfic Footrest ChairGzorpfic Footrest ChairMesh chair with footrest, 135 degree reclining, 4D armrests and 400 pound capacity.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Chair Office Score Seat height Weight capacity Back Armrests Warranty Amazon
ELABEST T96 9.6/10 19.6 to 23.6 inch 300 pounds Mesh, bionic-curve 3D Not stated View on Amazon
Staples Dexley 9.5/10 16.61 to 20.31 inch 275 pounds Mesh, high-back Height adjustable 5 years View on Amazon
Marsail MSOC23B 9.5/10 22.83 inch 300 pounds Mesh 3D flip-up Not stated View on Amazon
Opiesit A5 9.7/10 Not stated 400 pounds Mesh Not stated Not stated
Sweetcrispy High-Back 9.4/10 Not stated Not stated Mesh, high-back Flip-up Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 25 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For chairs, safety covers stated safety certifications and spill resistance, and two listings state one: ELABEST states BIFMA 5.1 certification and Marsail states an SGS Class 3 gas lift, while the rest state none. One listing states a warranty term, the Staples at 5 years, and the rest state none. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
ELABEST T96 9.6 30 21 20 7 0
Staples Dexley 9.5 29 20 20 0 3
Marsail MSOC23B 9.5 30 20 20 3 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best non mesh office chair

Seat height and adjustments

Seat height decides whether the chair fits the desk. ELABEST states a seat height range of 19.6 to 23.6 inches, while Staples states a range of 16.61 to 20.31 inches, and Marsail lists a single seat height figure of 22.83 inches with height adjustment stated but no range. Armrests matter too: ELABEST states 3D armrests, Marsail states 3D flip-up armrests, and Staples states armrest height adjustment. Measure the desk height first, then match the stated range.

Mesh seats and backs

Every listing in this group describes a mesh seat or back, so a buyer who wants no mesh at all should read the seat and back columns in the compare table rather than the keyword. The ELABEST lists a full-mesh seat, the Staples lists a mesh seat and back, and the Marsail lists a high-resilience mesh seat and backrest. The two title-only picks also describe mesh: Sweetcrispy as a high-back mesh chair and Opiesit as a mesh office chair. For small rooms, see the best ergonomic office chair for small space.

Capacity and build

Capacity runs from 275 pounds on the Staples to 400 pounds on the Opiesit title, with ELABEST and Marsail both at 300 pounds. Frames are stated as metal on ELABEST, aluminum on Staples, and metal and plastic on Marsail. The title-only picks state no frame or weight figure, so their build cannot be compared beyond the title.

Warranty and parts

Only one listing states a warranty term: the Staples at a 5-year manufacturer limited warranty. The other four listings state no warranty term, and the title-only picks state no parts detail either. When a written term matters, the Staples is the only pick that states one; when adjustment range matters more, ELABEST and Marsail state the widest adjustment sets here.

Setup Notes

  • Measure desk height against the stated seat height ranges: 19.6 to 23.6 inches for ELABEST and 16.61 to 20.31 inches for Staples.
  • Use flip-up arms to tuck the chair under the desk: Marsail states a 90 degree flip, and Sweetcrispy states flip-up arms.
  • Check the stated capacity before buying: 275 pounds for Staples, 300 pounds for ELABEST and Marsail, 400 pounds for Opiesit.
  • Note assembly: the Staples listing states the product requires assembly, and the ELABEST listing asks for a firmness check before use.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a non mesh office chair?

It is a chair without mesh in the seat or back. Every listing in this group describes a mesh seat or back, so a buyer who wants no mesh at all should check the seat and back materials in the compare table and look beyond this group.

Which chair has the highest stated weight capacity?

The Opiesit A5 title states a 400-pound capacity, above ELABEST and Marsail at 300 pounds and Staples at 275 pounds. The Sweetcrispy title states no capacity.

Which chair has the longest stated warranty?

The Staples Dexley states a 5-year manufacturer limited warranty. No other listing here states a warranty term.

Do flip-up arms help in a small room?

Marsail states 90 degree flip-up armrests for tucking the chair under the desk to save space, and Sweetcrispy states flip-up arms in its title. The other listings state no flip-up arms.

What seat height range fits a desk?

It depends on the desk height, which no listing states. ELABEST states 19.6 to 23.6 inches and Staples states 16.61 to 20.31 inches, so measure the desk and match the stated range.

Opiesit A5 Mesh Chair
Still deciding? Our top pickOpiesit A5 Mesh Chair
Check price on Amazon

See every Office Chairs guide and all Office Chairs and Seating guides.

More picks: best ergonomic office chair for small space, best ergonomic office chair for short people, best ergonomic office chair for tall.