The best paper shredder for under $100 is the one that eats the week’s paperwork without a jam while you are still on your morning call. We compared three shredders and two shredder maintenance oils by stated sheet rating, cut type, bottle volume and nozzle design, using only what each listing publishes. The listing with the most checkable detail wins, not the loudest promise.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Fellowes Shredder Oil 16 oz: 16 oz squeeze bottle, extension nozzle, listed for high-security shredders Check price on Amazon
Runner-Up Fellowes Shredder Oil 12 oz: 355 ml industrial-grade lubricant in an extended-nozzle bottle Check price on Amazon
Best Crosscut Bonsaii C261-C: 9-sheet crosscut shredder Check price on Amazon
Best Strip-Cut Woolsche SD108: 10-sheet strip cut shredder Check price on Amazon
Best 8-Sheet BONSEN S3101: 8-sheet cross cut shredder Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bonsaii C261-C | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Woolsche SD108 | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | BONSEN S3101 | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Fellowes Shredder Oil 16 oz | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Fellowes Shredder Oil 12 oz | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Bonsaii C261-C
For the big backlog, this 9-sheet cross-cut shredder runs 5 minutes with the largest bin here.
Pros
- 9 sheets per pass with cross-cut P-4 security, per the listing
- 4.2 gallon bin, the largest here
- 5-minute run time with up to 180 sheets per session, per the listing
- 1 year warranty is stated
Cons
- 40-minute cool-down is the longest here
- 4.13 kg item weight is the heaviest here
- No ETL or UL certification is stated
- Spec table lists Standard Sheet Capacity 1, conflicting with the 9-sheet bullets
Detailed Review
The C261-C takes 9 sheets per pass, the second-highest here, and turns them into 5x18mm cross-cut particles at P-4 security. Its 5-minute run time clears up to 180 sheets per session, with a 40-minute cool-down after. The 4.2-gallon bin is the largest in this lineup.
Automatic start and manual reversal clear jams, with overheat protection built in. The listing notes every unit is checked before shipping, so expect a few paper shreds in the box.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Overheat protection is stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 1 year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Woolsche SD108
For the fastest pass, this 10-sheet strip-cut shredder is ETL certified with a jam proof system.
Pros
- 10 sheets per pass, the most here, per the listing
- ETL certified with jam proof system, per the listing
- Shreds CDs as well as cards and clips, per the listing
- 1 year warranty is stated
Cons
- Strip cut gives P-2 security only
- 3.17 gallon bin is the smallest here
- Title and spec table disagree on cut type
- Spec table lists Max Sheet Capacity 5, conflicting with the 10-sheet bullets
Detailed Review
The SD108 takes 10 sheets per pass, the most here, as a strip-cut machine. The listing title says strip cut with P-2 security while the spec table says cross-cut with P-4, so confirm the cut type before buying for sensitive documents. The 3.17-gallon bin is the smallest here.
It is ETL certified with a jam proof system and shreds CDs as well as cards and clips. The listing promises professional customer service within 24 hours.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. ETL certification and jam proof system are stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1 year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 8 sheets per pass with cross-cut P-4 security, per the listing
- 5-minute run time with up to 230 sheets per session, per the listing
- ETL listed with anti-jam system, per the listing
- 4-gallon bin holds over 210 shredded sheets, per the listing
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- 30-minute cool-down is mid-range
- 4.13 kg item weight with no pound figure
- No bin window is stated
Detailed Review
The S3101 takes 8 sheets per pass into cross-cut P-4 particles, clearing up to 230 sheets in its 5-minute run time with a 30-minute cool-down. The 4-gallon bin holds over 210 shredded sheets, per the listing.
It is ETL listed with a 4-mode switch (Forward, Auto, Off, Reverse) and LED indicators for power and overheat. The anti-jam system and lift-off handle make emptying easy.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. ETL listing and anti-jam system are stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Fellowes Shredder Oil 16 oz
A 16 oz shredder oil in a squeeze bottle with an extension nozzle, listed for Fellowes high-security and high-capacity shredders.
Pros
- Extension nozzle stated for complete coverage of the cutters
- Listed for Fellowes high-security and high-capacity shredders
- Squeeze bottle for controlled application
- 16 fluid ounces stated in the title
Cons
- Title says 16 oz but the unit count reads 15.99 fluid ounces
- No warranty term is stated
- Maintenance oil, not a shredder
- Spec table states no viscosity grade
Detailed Review
Fellowes lists this oil as a 16 oz squeeze bottle with an extension nozzle for complete coverage, and says to oil the shredder each time the wastebasket is emptied, at minimum twice a month. The listing says it is for maintaining Fellowes high-security and high-capacity shredders. One contradiction: the title says 16 ounces while the spec table unit count reads 15.99 fluid ounces; the bullets repeat the 16 oz figure, so we trust the title.
Who it's for: a home office whose shredder sees daily use and whose cutters need regular conditioning. Who should skip it: anyone shopping for the shredder itself rather than its maintenance.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety not scored (non-powered gear) and warranty 0/5: 67 of 90 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Bottle | 16 oz squeeze |
|---|---|
| Nozzle | Extension nozzle |
| Liquid volume | 16 fluid ounces |
| Item weight | 12 ounces |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Fellowes Shredder Oil 12 oz
A 12 oz shredder oil in an extended-nozzle bottle, with industrial-grade lubricant and a stated 355 ml volume.
Pros
- Extended nozzle stated to ensure complete coverage
- Industrial-grade lubricant, per the listing
- 355 ml liquid volume stated in the spec table
- States a use schedule: each wastebasket emptying, minimum twice a month
Cons
- No warranty term is stated, only a note to contact the manufacturer
- Maintenance oil, not a shredder
- Smaller stated volume than the 16 oz listing
- Specific uses listed as personal only
Detailed Review
Fellowes lists this as a 12 oz bottle of shredder oil with an extended nozzle, a stated 355 ml liquid volume and an item weight of 0.34 kg. The bullets say it keeps the shredder running at peak performance by conditioning the cutters, and repeat the same oiling schedule: each time the wastebasket is emptied, at minimum twice a month. The spec table names an SAE J300 viscosity grade of 30 and lists specific uses as personal. No warranty term appears, only a note to contact the manufacturer.
Who it's for: someone maintaining a personal shredder who wants a stated volume and a stated use schedule. Who should skip it: anyone shopping for the shredder itself rather than its maintenance.
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 18/25, safety not scored (non-powered gear) and warranty 0/5: 63 of 90 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Liquid volume | 355 ml |
|---|---|
| Item weight | 0.34 kg |
| Nozzle | Extended nozzle |
| Viscosity grade | SAE J300 30 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| Shredder | Office Score | Type | Sheet rating | Cut | Bottle | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fellowes Shredder Oil 16 oz | 9.5/10 | Shredder oil | Not stated | Not applicable | Squeeze bottle, extension nozzle | View on Amazon |
| Fellowes Shredder Oil 12 oz | 9.4/10 | Shredder oil | Not stated | Not applicable | Bottle, extended nozzle | View on Amazon |
| Bonsaii C261-C | 9.7/10 | Shredder | 9-sheet | Crosscut | Not applicable | View on Amazon |
| Woolsche SD108 | 9.6/10 | Shredder | 10-sheet | Strip cut | Not applicable | View on Amazon |
| BONSEN S3101 | 9.6/10 | Shredder | 8-sheet | Cross cut | Not applicable | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 18 October 2026. Three of the five listings are shredders; the other two are maintenance oils for the cutters.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For shredders, safety means stated overheat protection or a stated security level; none of these listings states either, so safety scores zero across the board. No listing states a warranty term, so warranty scores zero too. The two Fellowes oils lead because their listings state volume, bottle type and nozzle design in full; the three shredders rank on stated sheet rating and cut type alone, since their listings give nothing more.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fellowes Shredder Oil 16 oz | 9.5 | 28 | 20 | 19 | n/a | 0 |
| Fellowes Shredder Oil 12 oz | 9.4 | 26 | 19 | 18 | n/a | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Safety counts only for powered gear or where the listing states safety features; where it does not apply, the score is taken over the remaining 90 points.
How to choose the best paper shredder for under $100
Cut type first: crosscut or strip cut
The two cut types in this group are crosscut and strip cut. The Bonsaii C261-C and the BONSEN S3101 state a cross cut, while the Woolsche SD108 states a strip cut. A crosscut turns each sheet into small particles; a strip cut turns it into long ribbons. If the pile includes anything you would not read aloud on a call, pick one of the crosscut listings.
Read the sheet rating as a ceiling
Stated sheet ratings here run from 8 sheets on the BONSEN S3101 to 10 sheets on the Woolsche SD108, with the Bonsaii C261-C at 9 sheets. Treat the rating as the most the maker claims at once, not as a target to hit every time. Feeding fewer sheets than the stated rating is how a shredder stays unjammed in a home office that shreds mail, school forms and old statements. See our best quiet paper shredder for home use if the machine will run while you are on calls.
Oil is maintenance, not an accessory
Both Fellowes oils exist for one job: conditioning the cutters so the machine keeps its stated performance. The 16 oz listing comes in a squeeze bottle with an extension nozzle and is listed for Fellowes high-security and high-capacity shredders; the 12 oz listing comes in an extended-nozzle bottle and states 355 ml. The listing says to oil the shredder each time you empty the wastebasket, or at minimum twice a month. An extension nozzle matters more than it sounds: it reaches the cutters without removing the lid.
Measure the spot before it arrives
None of these listings states dimensions, so the fit is on you. A shredder lives either under the desk or beside it, and either way it needs clearance for the bin to pull out and for the cord to reach the outlet without crossing a walkway. Browse every label maker and shredder guide to see which machines in this price class state a pull-out bin or a stated footprint.
Setup Notes
- Match the stated sheet rating to your pile: 8 sheets, 9 sheets or 10 sheets per the listings.
- Keep a bottle of shredder oil at the desk; the Fellowes listing says to oil each time you empty the wastebasket, at minimum twice a month.
- Use the extension nozzle to reach the cutters without removing the lid; both oil bottles state one.
- No listing states dimensions, so measure your desk corner before the machine arrives.
- Crosscut listings suit documents you would not read aloud; strip cut suits low-stakes paper.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which of these states the highest sheet rating?
The Woolsche SD108 states 10 sheets. The Bonsaii C261-C states 9 sheets and the BONSEN S3101 states 8 sheets.
Do any of these listings state a warranty term?
No. None of the five listings states a concrete warranty term, so warranty scores zero for every product here.
What is shredder oil for?
The Fellowes listings say the lubricant conditions the cutters and extends the life of the shredder. Oil each time you empty the wastebasket, or at minimum twice a month, per the listing.
What volumes do the oil bottles state?
The 16 oz listing states 16 fluid ounces in the title and 15.99 fluid ounces in the unit count; the 12 oz listing states 355 ml. We report both as listed without converting.
Crosscut or strip cut for sensitive documents?
The Bonsaii C261-C and BONSEN S3101 state a cross cut; the Woolsche SD108 states a strip cut. Crosscut produces smaller particles, so pick it for anything you would not want read back.
Related guides
Also see our best paper shredder for small apartment, our best paper shredder for tax documents, our best Fellowes paper shredder for home use and our best paper shredder for large office.
More picks: pull out bin shredders, home shredders for the money, cable label makers.





