The dorm desk has one outlet behind the bed and a growing pile of things that need it: laptop, phone, lamp, fan, and the roommate’s speaker. The best power strip for dorm room use turns that single outlet into a charging station without turning the floor into a cable hazard. We compared five power strips on outlet count, USB ports, cord length, surge protection and warranty, using only what each listing publishes.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall SUPERDANNY 10FT Tower 17-in-1: 1700J surge protection, 17 devices on a 10ft cord, 3-year plan stated Check price on Amazon
Best USB-C Charging TenTrend 10FT Tower 20-in-1: Dual PD 20W USB-C ports, 20 devices, 40W total output stated Check price on Amazon
Best Flat Plug Addtam 10FT Strip 10-in-1: 10ft cord, UL and ETL stated, wall-mountable with 10 outlets Check price on Amazon
Best Tower Value Mifaso 6FT Tower 16-in-1: 16 devices in a vertical tower, 1080J, 6ft flat plug cord Check price on Amazon
Also Worth a Look Anker 351 Power Strip: Reused from a prior roundup; compact strip for dorm desks Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | SUPERDANNY 10FT Tower 17-in-1 | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | TenTrend 10FT Tower 20-in-1 | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Anker 351 | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Addtam 10FT Strip 10-in-1 | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Mifaso 6FT Tower 16-in-1 | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |

SUPERDANNY 10FT Tower 17-in-1
A 10ft tower with 12 AC outlets and 5 USB ports, 1700J surge protection and a 3-year plan.
Pros
- 12 AC outlets and 5 USB ports for up to 17 devices
- 1700J surge protection, the highest stated here
- 3-year maintenance or replacement plan stated
- 1.5-inch spaced outlets fit bulky adapters, per the listing
Cons
- 10A/1250W overload rating is lower than the 15A/1875W on most others
- No wall-mount option is stated
- No UL or ETL certification is stated
- Tower takes vertical space on a small desk
Detailed Review
The listing states a 10ft tower power strip with 12 AC outlets, 3 USB-A and 2 USB-C ports for up to 17 devices, with 1.5-inch spaced outlets for bulky adapters. It states 1700J surge protection, overload protection at 10A/1250W, V-0 fire-retardant casing, grounded, short-circuit, over-current, over-voltage and overheat protection. The flat plug is 0.31 inches and the cord is 10ft. The warranty description is 3-year.
Who it's for: dorm desks that need the most devices on one strip with the highest stated surge rating. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a 15A/1875W rating or a wall-mountable strip.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Outlets | 12 AC, 5 USB |
|---|---|
| Cord | 10ft, flat plug |
| Surge | 1700J |
| Warranty | 3-year |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. 1700J surge protection, overload, short-circuit, over-current, over-voltage and overheat protection stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 3-year maintenance or replacement plan stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

TenTrend 10FT Tower 20-in-1
A 10ft tower with 12 AC outlets and 8 USB ports including dual PD 20W USB-C.
Pros
- 12 AC outlets and 8 USB ports for up to 20 devices
- Dual PD 20W USB-C ports for fast charging
- 40W total USB output stated
- 1382°F fire-resistant ABS+PC material stated
Cons
- No joule surge rating is stated
- No UL or ETL certification is stated
- USB-A limited to 12W per the listing
- Compact tower can tip if cords pull
Detailed Review
The listing states a 10ft tower with 12 AC outlets and 8 USB ports (4 USB-C) for up to 20 devices, with dual PD 20W USB-C and 40W total output. USB-A ports charge up to 12W. It states overload protection, a 1382°F fire-resistant ABS+PC build, an on/off switch and 4 rubber feet. The flat plug is 0.27 inches and the tower is 3.4 by 3.4 by 6.5 inches. The warranty description is 1 Year Manufacturer.
Who it's for: anyone who charges multiple USB-C devices and wants the most USB ports here. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated joule surge rating.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 22/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 3/5: 84 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Outlets | 12 AC, 8 USB |
|---|---|
| Cord | 10ft, flat plug |
| USB-C | Dual PD 20W |
| Warranty | 1 Year Manufacturer |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Overload protection and 1382°F fire-resistant ABS+PC material stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. 1 Year Manufacturer stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 12 AC outlets, the most here
- 2100J surge protection
- 18-month warranty plus connected equipment guarantee
- TUV listed
Cons
- No desk clamp; flat unit
- 5 ft cord only
- Black only
- 20W USB-C only
Detailed Review
Anker lists the 351 power strip with 12 AC outlets, 1 USB-C and 2 USB-A, 2100J surge protection and a 5-foot cord. The listing describes an 8-point safety system with surge protection, fire resistance and overload protection, plus an optimized layout for bulky plugs. The listing states an 18-month warranty and a lifetime connected equipment warranty, and TUV listing.
The outlet-count and surge leader: 12 AC outlets and 2100 joules are unmatched here. The 5-foot cord suits 4-5 foot desks per the listing.
For a standing desk with many devices, 12 outlets end the daisy-chaining. The flat design sits on the desk or floor rather than clamping. The 13-inch length fits a 4-5 foot desk without dominating it. For standing desks, pair it with an under-desk tray to manage the wall cord's travel.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 4/5: 86 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| AC Outlets | 12 |
|---|---|
| Surge | 2100J |
| Cord | 5 ft |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. 2100J surge protection and TUV listed are stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. 18-month warranty is stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Addtam 10FT Strip 10-in-1
A 10ft flat-plug strip with 6 AC outlets and 4 USB ports, UL and ETL stated.
Pros
- UL approved with ETL certification stated
- 6 AC outlets (15A/1875W) and 4 USB ports including 2 USB-C
- 1080J surge protection stated
- Wall-mountable with screws included, flat 0.35-inch plug
Cons
- 6 AC outlets is the fewest here
- 10 devices total is the lowest count
- 300 g weight is heavier than the Mifaso tower
- White and grey only
Detailed Review
The listing states a 10ft power strip with 6 AC outlets (15A/1875W) and 4 USB ports (2 USB-C) for 10 devices, with a 0.35-inch flat plug and 45-degree right angle design. It states 1080J surge protection, overload, short-circuit and over-current protection, and an on/off switch. The cord is pure copper and the strip is wall-mountable with 4 screws included. The warranty description is 1 Year Warranty. This is the only listing here that states UL approval and ETL certification.
Who it's for: anyone who wants a certified strip that mounts to a wall or desk. Who should skip it: anyone who needs more than 6 AC outlets.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 3/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Outlets | 6 AC, 4 USB |
|---|---|
| Cord | 10ft, flat plug |
| Surge | 1080J |
| Certification | UL, ETL stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL approved, ETL certified; surge, overload, short-circuit and over-current protection stated, so safety scores 9 of 10. 1 Year Warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 12 AC outlets and 4 USB ports for up to 16 devices
- 1080J surge protection with integrated circuit breaker
- Vertical tower saves desk space
- 0.35-inch flat plug fits behind furniture
Cons
- 6ft cord is the shortest here
- No UL or ETL certification is stated
- 120 g is light; may shift with heavy adapters
- White only
Detailed Review
The listing states a 6ft tower with 12 AC outlets (1875W/15A) and 4 USB ports (2 USB-C) for up to 16 devices, with wide-spaced outlets. It states 1080J surge protection, overload, short-circuit, over-current, over-voltage and overheating protection, with a reset/off switch and integrated circuit breaker. USB-A is 5V/2.4A and USB-C is 5V/3A. The flat plug is 0.35 inches. The warranty description is 1 year manufacturer.
Who it's for: desks against the wall that need many outlets in a small footprint. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a 10ft cord or a stated certification.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Outlets | 12 AC, 4 USB |
|---|---|
| Cord | 6ft, flat plug |
| Surge | 1080J |
| Warranty | 1 year manufacturer |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Surge, overload, short-circuit, over-current, over-voltage and overheating protection stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1 year manufacturer stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| Power Strip | Office Score | AC Outlets | USB Ports | Cord Length | Surge Rating | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SUPERDANNY 10FT Tower 17-in-1 | 9.7/10 | 12 | 5 | 10ft | 1700J | 3-year | View on Amazon |
| TenTrend 10FT Tower 20-in-1 | 9.7/10 | 12 | 8 | 10ft | Not stated | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| Addtam 10FT Strip 10-in-1 | 9.6/10 | 6 | 4 | 10ft | 1080J | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| Mifaso 6FT Tower 16-in-1 | 9.6/10 | 12 | 4 | 6ft | 1080J | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| Anker 351 Power Strip | 9.7/10 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026. Four of the five state a warranty term; one states UL and ETL certification.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For power strips, safety means stated surge protection, overload protection and certifications; the Addtam states UL approval and ETL certification, the SUPERDANNY states 1700J with overload, short-circuit, over-current, over-voltage and overheat protection, and the others state their protection features as listed. Four of the five state a warranty term, from 1 year to 3 years. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SUPERDANNY 10FT Tower 17-in-1 | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 20 | 8 | 3 |
| TenTrend 10FT Tower 20-in-1 | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 22 | 6 | 3 |
| Addtam 10FT Strip 10-in-1 | 9.6 | 29 | 20 | 20 | 9 | 3 |
| Mifaso 6FT Tower 16-in-1 | 9.6 | 30 | 20 | 21 | 7 | 3 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best power strip for dorm room
Count the outlets and USB ports first
Start with how many things need power at once. The SUPERDANNY powers up to 17 devices with 12 AC outlets and 5 USB ports, the TenTrend handles 20 devices with 12 AC and 8 USB, and the Mifaso covers 16 devices with 12 AC and 4 USB. The Addtam is the slim pick with 6 AC and 4 USB for a tighter desk. USB-C matters if you charge a phone or tablet directly: the TenTrend lists dual PD 20W USB-C ports, while the SUPERDANNY, Mifaso and Addtam list USB-C at 5V/3A. For a dorm desk with a laptop, phone and lamp, see the best power strip with USB.
Check the cord length against the outlet
Dorm outlets are never where you want them. The Addtam, TenTrend and SUPERDANNY each list a 10ft cord, while the Mifaso lists 6ft. All four list a flat plug designed to sit close to the wall behind furniture: the Addtam at 0.35 inches, the TenTrend at 0.27 inches, the SUPERDANNY at 0.31 inches and the Mifaso at 0.35 inches. Measure from the outlet to the desk before you buy; a 10ft cord reaches across the room, while 6ft suits a desk against the wall.
Look for surge protection and certifications
Surge protection is the reason to buy a strip instead of a basic extender. The SUPERDANNY states 1700J, the highest here, while the Addtam and Mifaso each state 1080J. The TenTrend does not state a joule rating. Only the Addtam states UL approval and ETL certification; the others list their protection features without a third-party certification. If surge protection is the priority, see the best power strip with surge protector.
| Strip | AC outlets | USB ports | Cord | Surge rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SUPERDANNY 10FT Tower 17-in-1 | 12 | 5 | 10ft | 1700J |
| TenTrend 10FT Tower 20-in-1 | 12 | 8 | 10ft | Not stated |
| Addtam 10FT Strip 10-in-1 | 6 | 4 | 10ft | 1080J |
| Mifaso 6FT Tower 16-in-1 | 12 | 4 | 6ft | 1080J |
Setup Notes
- Measure from the wall outlet to the desk; the 10ft cords reach across a room, the 6ft Mifaso suits a desk against the wall.
- Check the flat plug clearance: 0.27 to 0.35 inches lets the strip sit behind furniture without blocking the outlet.
- Do not exceed the rated power: the listings state 15A/1875W for most, 10A/1250W for the SUPERDANNY.
- Wall-mount only the Addtam, which lists screw fixation; the towers sit on desks with rubber or anti-slip feet.
Frequently Asked Questions
How many devices can these power at once?
The TenTrend lists 20, the SUPERDANNY 17, the Mifaso 16 and the Addtam 10. Do not exceed the rated power on any of them.
Which has the longest cord?
The Addtam, TenTrend and SUPERDANNY each list a 10ft cord. The Mifaso lists 6ft.
Do any have USB-C fast charging?
The TenTrend lists dual PD 20W USB-C ports. The SUPERDANNY, Mifaso and Addtam list USB-C at 5V/3A.
Which states a certification?
Only the Addtam states UL approval and ETL certification. The others list protection features without a third-party certification.
What warranties are stated?
The SUPERDANNY lists a 3-year maintenance or replacement plan. The Addtam, Mifaso and TenTrend each list 1 year. The Anker states no warranty term in the data provided.
Related guides
See every Surge Protectors and Cable Management guide and all Audio, Power and Connectivity guides. Also see our best power strip with USB and our best surge protector with flat plug.
More picks: surge protector strips, smart power strips, wall mount protectors.






