Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Docking Stations and USB Hubs

Best Powered USB Hub for External Hard Drives (2026): 5 Compared

Five powered USB hubs compared by data ports, adapter strength, switches and warranty, for keeping external hard drives mounted.

Best Powered USB Hub for External Hard Drives (2026): 5 Compared

External hard drives are the hungriest USB devices on a desk, which is why the best powered usb hub for external hard drives needs its own power adapter, not bus power. We compared five powered hubs by port count, adapter strength, switch control and warranty, using only what each listing publishes.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • atolla 8-Port
    Best Overall atolla 8-Port: 7 data ports plus charging, 5V/4A, 18-month warranty Check price on Amazon
  • atolla 5-Port Aluminum
    Best Compact atolla 5-Port Aluminum: Aluminum, 4 data ports plus charging, 18-month warranty Check price on Amazon
  • WENTER 11-Port
    Best Port Count WENTER 11-Port: 10 data ports plus charging, individual LED switches Check price on Amazon
  • TP-Link UH720
    Best Protected TP-Link UH720: 7 data ports, 2 charging ports, surge and circuit protection Check price on Amazon
  • SABRENT 4-Port
    Best Travel SABRENT 4-Port: 4 ports, 5V/2.5A, thin and lightweight Check price on Amazon

The picks

atolla 8-Port

atolla 8-Port

atolla9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An 8-port powered USB 3.0 hub with 7 data ports, a smart charging port and individual switches, for drive-heavy desks.

Pros

  • 7 data ports plus 1 smart charging port
  • 5V/4A power adapter for hungrier devices
  • Individual on/off switches per port
  • 18-month warranty stated

Cons

  • Plastic housing, not aluminum
  • No circuit protection statement
  • Charging port does not carry data
  • 100cm cord may be short for some desks
Detailed Review

atolla lists the 8-port hub as 7 USB 3.0 data ports plus a smart charging port, with speeds up to 5Gbps and a 5V/4A power adapter. The bullets describe individual on/off switches, plug and play with hot swapping, and an 18-month warranty.

Who it's for: someone running several external drives who wants a warranty in writing. Who should skip it: anyone who needs aluminum build or stated circuit protection.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Ports7 data + 1 charging
Speed5Gbps
Adapter5V/4A
Warranty18 months

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No UL, FCC or over-current protection statement is stated, so safety scores zero. 18-month warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

atolla 5-Port Aluminum

atolla 5-Port Aluminum

atolla9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An aluminum 5-port USB 3.0 hub with 4 data ports, a smart charging port and LED switches, for compact desks.

Pros

  • Aluminum alloy housing
  • 4 data ports plus 1 smart charging port
  • Individual switches with LED indicators
  • 18-month warranty stated

Cons

  • Only 4 data ports
  • 5V/3A adapter is mid-range here
  • Charging port does not carry data
  • No circuit protection statement
Detailed Review

atolla lists the 5-port hub as 4 USB 3.0 data ports plus a smart charging port in an aluminum alloy housing, with speeds up to 5Gbps and a 5V/3A power adapter. The bullets describe individual switches with LEDs and an 18-month warranty with lifetime customer service.

Who it's for: someone who wants a compact metal hub with a warranty. Who should skip it: anyone who needs more than 4 data ports.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 22/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Ports4 data + 1 charging
Speed5Gbps
Adapter5V/3A
Warranty18 months

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No UL, FCC or over-current protection statement is stated, so safety scores zero. 18-month warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

WENTER 11-Port

WENTER 11-Port

WENTER9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An 11-port powered USB 3.0 hub with 10 data ports, a charging port and individual LED switches, for maximum port count.

Pros

  • 10 data ports plus 1 charging port, the most here
  • 12V/3A power adapter
  • Individual on/off switches with LEDs
  • Speeds up to 5Gbps

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No circuit protection statement
  • Large footprint for the port count
  • Charging port does not carry data
Detailed Review

WENTER lists the 11-port hub as 10 USB 3.0 data ports plus 1 smart charging port, with speeds up to 5Gbps and a 12V/3A power adapter. The bullets describe individual on/off switches with LED lights and a 100cm USB cable. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: someone who needs the most data ports on one hub. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty or a compact unit.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 22/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Ports10 data + 1 charging
Speed5Gbps
Adapter12V/3A
WarrantyNot stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No UL, FCC or over-current protection statement is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

TP-Link UH720
TP-Link9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A powered USB hub with 7 data ports, 2 charging ports and circuit protections, for drives plus phone and tablet charging.

Pros

  • 7 data ports plus 2 smart charging ports
  • 12V/4A adapter, the strongest here
  • Overheat, overload, overvoltage and short circuit protections
  • Built-in surge protector

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No individual port switches stated
  • Bulkier than the 4-port options
  • Charging ports do not carry data
Detailed Review

TP-Link lists the UH720 as 7 USB 3.0 data ports plus 2 smart charging ports, with speeds up to 5Gbps and a 12V/4A power adapter. The bullets describe multiple circuit protections and a built-in surge protector keeping devices and data safe. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: someone who wants the strongest adapter and protection statements. Who should skip it: anyone who needs individual port switches or a stated warranty.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Ports7 data + 2 charging
Speed5Gbps
Adapter12V/4A
WarrantyNot stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No UL, FCC or over-current protection statement is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SABRENT 4-Port

SABRENT 4-Port

SABRENT9.4/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A compact 4-port powered USB 3.0 hub with individual LED switches, for travel and light desk use.

Pros

  • Thin, lightweight and portable at 1.5 oz
  • Individual LED-lit power switches
  • 5V/2.5A power adapter included
  • Speeds up to 5Gbps

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Only 4 data ports, no charging port
  • 2.5A adapter suits lighter loads
  • No circuit protection statement
Detailed Review

SABRENT lists the 4-port hub as 4 USB 3.0 ports with individual LED-lit power switches and a 5V/2.5A power adapter, with speeds up to 5Gbps. The bullets describe a thin, lightweight plastic design for travel. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: travelers and light desk setups with few devices. Who should skip it: anyone running multiple external hard drives at once.

Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 66 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Ports4 data
Speed5Gbps
Adapter5V/2.5A
WarrantyNot stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No UL, FCC or over-current protection statement is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

USB Hub Office Score Ports Power adapter Warranty Amazon
atolla 8-Port 9.5/10 7 data + 1 charging 5V/4A 18 months View on Amazon
atolla 5-Port Aluminum 9.5/10 4 data + 1 charging 5V/3A 18 months View on Amazon
WENTER 11-Port 9.5/10 10 data + 1 charging 12V/3A Not stated View on Amazon
TP-Link UH720 9.5/10 7 data + 2 charging 12V/4A Not stated View on Amazon
SABRENT 4-Port 9.4/10 4 data 5V/2.5A Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 18 October 2026. The two atolla hubs list an 18-month warranty; the others state no warranty term.

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance (data ports and adapter strength), build (switches and housing), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. Both atolla hubs list an 18-month warranty; the SABRENT, TP-Link and WENTER listings state no warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
atolla 8-Port 9.5 29 21 21 0 3
atolla 5-Port Aluminum 9.5 27 22 20 0 3
WENTER 11-Port 9.5 32 21 22 0 0
TP-Link UH720 9.5 30 22 21 0 0
SABRENT 4-Port 9.4 26 20 20 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best powered usb hub for external hard drives

Count the data ports, not the charging ports

Charging ports do not carry data, so count data ports for drives. The WENTER has 10 data ports plus 1 charging port, the TP-Link has 7 data plus 2 charging, the atolla 8-port has 7 data plus 1 charging, the atolla 5-port has 4 data plus 1 charging, and the SABRENT has 4 data ports and no charging port. Two or three external drives plus a printer and a keyboard fill 5 ports fast, so buy headroom. For drive-heavy setups, see our best USB hub for multiple external hard drives.

Check the adapter strength

The adapter decides whether spinning drives stay mounted. The TP-Link lists a 12V/4A adapter, the WENTER a 12V/3A adapter, the atolla 8-port a 5V/4A adapter, the atolla 5-port a 5V/3A adapter, and the SABRENT a 5V/2.5A adapter. Higher amperage suits more simultaneous drives; the SABRENT’s 2.5A suits lighter loads. All five list USB 3.0 speeds up to 5Gbps.

Look for individual switches and protection

Individual on/off switches let you power down one drive without unplugging it: the WENTER, both atollas and the SABRENT list them, with LEDs on the WENTER, atolla 5-port and SABRENT. The TP-Link lists circuit protections against overheat, overload, overvoltage and short circuits plus a built-in surge protector, the strongest protection statement here. If the hub feeds a full workstation, see our best docking station for laptop and 2 monitors.

Note the warranty

Only the two atolla hubs state a warranty term: 18 months each, with lifetime customer service stated. The SABRENT, TP-Link and WENTER listings state no warranty term. For a device that runs all day, a stated warranty is worth weighing.

Setup Notes

  • Plug the hub’s own power adapter in before connecting spinning hard drives.
  • Count data ports for drives: 10 on the WENTER down to 4 on the SABRENT and atolla 5-port.
  • Use the individual switches to power down drives you are not using.
  • Note the warranty: 18 months on both atollas; none stated on the others.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which hub has the most data ports?

The WENTER 11-port with 10 USB 3.0 data ports plus 1 charging port. The TP-Link and atolla 8-port follow with 7 data ports each.

Which listings state a warranty?

Both atolla hubs state an 18-month warranty. The SABRENT, TP-Link and WENTER listings state no warranty term.

Which hubs have a charging port?

All except the SABRENT: the WENTER and both atollas have 1 smart charging port each, and the TP-Link has 2.

Which has the strongest protection statement?

The TP-Link UH720, listing overheat, overload, overvoltage and short circuit protections plus a built-in surge protector.

atolla 8-Port
Still deciding? Our top pickatolla 8-Port
Check price on Amazon

See every docking stations and USB hubs guide and all audio, power and connectivity guides. Also see our best USB hub for multiple external hard drives. Also see our best docking station for laptop and 2 monitors. Also see our best docking station for laptop and 3 monitors.

More picks: USB hubs for external hard drives, docking stations for 2 monitors, docking stations for 3 monitors.