Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Docking Stations and USB Hubs

Best Quality USB Hub for Laptop (2026): 5 Picks Compared

Five USB hubs for laptops compared by port count, 5Gbps data transfer, power delivery, video output, build materials and warranty term.

Best Quality USB Hub for Laptop (2026): 5 Picks Compared

A laptop desk runs every peripheral through a small handful of ports, so the mouse, the keyboard, the drive and the webcam end up fighting for the same plug, and the best quality usb hub for laptop is the gadget that ends the argument. We compared five USB hubs using only what each listing publishes: port count, transfer rate, power delivery, video output, build materials and warranty term.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Acer USB Hub 4-Port
    Best Type-C Power Acer 4-Port USB Hub: 4 ports, Type-C power input, no stated extras Check price on Amazon
  • JoyReken 7-Port USB Hub
    Best 7-Port Hub JoyReken 7-Port USB Hub: Seven 5Gbps ports, RGB lighting, 2FT cable, USB-C power port Check price on Amazon
  • Keopien 4-Port USB Hub
    Best Direct-Plug Keopien 4-Port USB Hub: Cable-free direct plug, aluminum shell, 1-year warranty Check price on Amazon
  • Acer 7-in-1 USB-C Hub
    Best USB-C 7-in-1 Acer 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: 4K HDMI, 100W PD, SD/TF reader, 5Gbps Check price on Amazon
  • vienon 4-Port USB Hub
    Best Simple 4-Port vienon 4-Port USB Hub: 4 ports with 5Gbps stated, no extra features to fuss over Check price on Amazon

The picks

Acer 7-in-1 USB-C Hub

Acer 7-in-1 USB-C Hub

Acer9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 7-port USB-C hub with 4K HDMI, 100W PD, 5 Gbps ports and an aluminum housing, suited to travel and office use at 68 g.

Pros

  • 100W max PD with 4K HDMI at 30Hz
  • 5 Gbps on two USB-A and one USB-C ports
  • Aluminum housing at 68 g
  • 1-year manufacturer warranty

Cons

  • No certification is stated
  • Not for 4K at 60Hz or 2K at 144Hz, per the notes
  • No Ethernet port is listed
  • Needs a 65W+ charger for best performance, per the notes
Detailed Review

The Acer 7-in-1 packs 4K HDMI at 30Hz, 100W max PD, two USB 3.0 and one USB-C data port at 5 Gbps, plus SD/TF slots in a 68 g aluminum housing. The notes say it is not for 4K at 60Hz or 2K at 144Hz, and recommend a 65W+ charger for best performance. A 1-year manufacturer warranty is stated.

Who it's for: travelers who want 100W charging and 4K output in a 68 g hub. Who should skip it: anyone needing high-refresh video output.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Number of Ports7
Data Transfer Rate5 Gbps
Power Delivery100W max
Item Weight68 g

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No UL, FCC or over-current protection statement is stated, so safety scores zero. The listing states a 1 Year Manufacturer warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Acer USB Hub 4-Port

Acer USB Hub 4-Port

Acer9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4-port USB 3.0 hub with a Type-C power input for stable hard drive transfers, suited to users who connect HDDs and need extra power.

Pros

  • Type-C power input steadies hard drive transfers, per the listing
  • Built-in GL3510 chip with thermal design
  • LED indicator shows whether the hub is working
  • 2 ft cable for flexible placement

Cons

  • Power adapter not included; needs a 5V USB-C source
  • Type-C port is power-only, not for data
  • 1-year warranty, shorter than rivals
  • No individual port switches
Detailed Review

The Acer ACER-UH501 takes the middle path: bus-powered by default, but with a Type-C power input that the listing says to use when connecting hard drives for stable, fast data transmission. The listing gives 4 USB-A 3.0 ports at up to 5Gbps, a built-in GL3510 chip with a thermal design, and a 2 ft cable. The 4.13 by 1.18 by 0.35 inch case stays slim.

Who it is for: a laptop user with one or two external hard drives who already owns a 5V USB-C charger. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a hub that powers drives out of the box, since the wall charger and cable are not included.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Ports4 USB-A 3.0
Data rate5Gbps
PowerType-C 5V input (adapter not included)
Cable2 ft
ChipGL3510
Warranty1 year manufacturer

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. GL3510 chip with thermal design keeps devices and data safe, stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1-year manufacturer warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Keopien 4-Port USB Hub

Keopien 4-Port USB Hub

Keopien9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A compact 4-port USB 3.0 hub that plugs directly into the laptop with no cable, in an aluminum shell with an LED indicator.

Pros

  • Cable-free direct plug design, no cable to manage
  • Aluminum shell stated for fast heat dissipation
  • 1-year warranty stated
  • Item dimensions 3.35 x 1.06 x 0.39 in and weight 24.95 g stated

Cons

  • Spec table contradicts the title and bullets on port count and transfer rate
  • No video output and no card reader stated
  • No power delivery stated
  • Direct-plug design only reaches the laptop's side port
Detailed Review

Keopien lists this as a 4-port USB 3.0 hub with up to 5Gbps transfer, a cable-free direct-plug design, an aluminum shell for heat dissipation, and a 1-year warranty. But the spec table contradicts the title and bullets: it states 1 port and a 480 MB/s transfer rate against the title's 4 ports and the bullets' 5Gbps. Per our rule we trust the title and bullets, so the 4-port 5Gbps version stands; the table entry reads like a copy error.

Who it's for: travelers who want four extra ports with nothing extra to carry. Who should skip it: anyone who wants video output, power delivery or a cable for flexible placement.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 21/25, value 19/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 4/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
BrandKeopien
Ports4
Transfer rate5Gbps
EnclosureAluminum

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Aluminum shell stated for fast heat dissipation, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1 Year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

JoyReken 7-Port USB Hub

JoyReken 7-Port USB Hub

JoyReken9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 7-port USB 3.0 hub with 5Gbps data transfer, RGB tree lighting and a 2-foot extension cable, plus a side USB-C power port for power-hungry devices.

Pros

  • Seven USB 3.0 ports, the most stated here
  • 5Gbps transfer rate stated, backward compatible with USB 2.0 and 1.1
  • 2-foot extension cable with cable tie included
  • Side USB-C power port stated for stable performance with external HDDs

Cons

  • Strictly for data transfer, not charging
  • Plastic enclosure stated
  • No video output and no card reader stated
  • No item weight or dimensions stated
Detailed Review

JoyReken lists the J7-TR-BK-2FT as a 7-port USB 3.0 hub with up to 5Gbps transfer, a 2-foot extension cable with cable tie, plug-and-play support for Windows, macOS and Linux, and a side USB-C power port that keeps external HDDs running steadily. The RGB tree lighting cycles through seven colors and can be switched off. Title, bullets and spec table agree on the port count and transfer rate, and the spec table adds a 12-month warranty.

Who it's for: desk setups that need the most ports and appreciate the lighting look. Who should skip it: anyone who needs laptop charging or video output from the same hub.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 19/25, value 19/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 70 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
BrandJoyReken
Ports7
Transfer rate5Gbps
Cable2FT extension cable

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 12-month. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

vienon 4-Port USB Hub

vienon 4-Port USB Hub

vienon9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Basic 4-port USB-A hub with an LED indicator for simple setups.

Pros

  • Expands one USB-A port into four
  • 5Gbps USB 3.0 data port stated
  • Soft blue LED indicator for status
  • 3.94 x 1.18 x 0.39 inches at 1.5 ounces

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Designed for data and low-power devices only; no charging
  • Plastic enclosure
  • No safety certification or protection features are stated
Detailed Review

vienon lists a 4-port USB hub that expands one USB-A port into four, with 5Gbps USB 3.0 transfer, a soft blue LED indicator, and a body measuring 3.94 x 1.18 x 0.39 inches at 1.5 ounces. The listing notes it is designed for data transfer and low-power peripherals only, with no charging of laptops or tablets.

Who it's for: a desktop user who needs four basic ports cheaply. Who should skip it: someone who wants a stated warranty or metal build.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety not scored (non-powered gear) and warranty 0/5: 67 of 90 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Ports4
Speed5Gbps
Size3.94 x 1.18 x 0.39 in
Weight1.5 ounces

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Compare the picks

Hub Office Score Ports Transfer rate Power input Video output Warranty Amazon
Keopien 4-Port USB Hub 9.5/10 4 ports 5Gbps Not stated Not stated 1 Year View on Amazon
JoyReken 7-Port USB Hub 9.5/10 7 ports 5Gbps USB-C power port Not stated 12-month View on Amazon
Acer 7-in-1 USB-C Hub 9.6/10 Not stated 5Gbps 100W PD 4K HDMI Not stated View on Amazon
Acer 4-Port USB Hub 9.6/10 4 ports Not stated Type-C power input Not stated Not stated
vienon 4-Port USB Hub 9.5/10 4 ports 5Gbps Not stated Not stated Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 19 October 2026. Two of the five state a warranty term; the Keopien’s spec table contradicts its title and bullets on port count and transfer rate, and we trust the title and bullets there.

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance (port count, transfer rate, video output and power delivery), build (enclosure materials and stated dimensions), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For a hub, safety means stated heat management or similar features on the listing; the Keopien states an aluminum shell for heat dissipation, and the other four state no safety-relevant features. Two listings state a warranty term: the JoyReken at 12 months and the Keopien at 1 year. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Keopien 4-Port USB Hub 9.5 26 21 19 5 4
JoyReken 7-Port USB Hub 9.5 29 19 19 0 3

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best quality usb hub for laptop

Count your peripherals first

Port count is the first number to check: the JoyReken states seven ports, the Keopien, vienon and Acer 4-port each state four, and the Acer 7-in-1 gives no USB port count beyond its 7-in-1 name. Write down what lives on your desk, mouse, keyboard, drive, headset receiver, and pick a hub that covers the whole list with a port to spare. If you also want laptop charging and video from the same unit, our best docking station for home use comparison covers full docks, and the whole docking station and USB hub shelf has more options.

Mind the stated transfer rate

Four of the five state 5Gbps: the JoyReken, the Keopien, the vienon and the Acer 7-in-1. The Acer 4-port states no transfer rate at all. The Keopien’s spec table states different figures than its title and bullets, so read the caveat in its review.

Hub Ports Transfer rate Power
Keopien 4-Port USB Hub 4 ports 5Gbps Not stated
JoyReken 7-Port USB Hub 7 ports 5Gbps USB-C power port
Acer 7-in-1 USB-C Hub Not stated 5Gbps 100W PD
Acer 4-Port USB Hub 4 ports Not stated Type-C power input
vienon 4-Port USB Hub 4 ports 5Gbps Not stated

Figures as stated in each listing. The Keopien’s spec table states 1 port and 480 MB/s; we report the title and bullets per its review.

Power delivery and heat

The Acer 7-in-1 states 100W power delivery. The JoyReken’s side USB-C power port is different: it steadies external hard drives, and the listing says the hub is strictly for data transfer, not charging. On heat, the Keopien states an aluminum shell for heat dissipation while the JoyReken states a plastic enclosure, which is worth weighing on a hub that will run all day.

Video and card readers

Only the Acer 7-in-1 USB-C hub states video output: 4K HDMI, plus an SD/TF card reader. None of the other four state video output, so an external monitor in the plan points straight at the USB-C hub. Once the hub is chosen, tidy what it leaves behind with our best cable management trays for desk picks.

One more USB-C option

Outside the five ranked picks, the Acer 5-in-1 USB-C hub lists 4K@60Hz HDMI over HDMI 2.0, 100W power delivery with 90W reaching the laptop, 5Gbps USB-C and USB-A 3.0 ports and a 1-year manufacturer warranty in an aluminum shell. It needs a full-featured USB-C port that supports video and power delivery, per its listing. It is listed here as an extra option rather than a ranked pick.

Setup Notes

  • Match the hub to your laptop’s ports: the Acer 7-in-1 is a USB-C hub with 4K HDMI and 100W PD, per its title.
  • Plan placement: the JoyReken ships with a 2-foot cable and a cable tie; the Keopien plugs directly into the laptop with no cable.
  • Power the power-hungry drives: the JoyReken’s side USB-C power port steadies external HDDs, while the Acer 7-in-1 USB-C hub states 100W power delivery.
  • Check cooling claims: the Keopien states an aluminum shell for heat dissipation; the JoyReken states a plastic enclosure.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which hub states the most ports?

The JoyReken states seven ports. The Keopien, vienon and Acer 4-port state four each, and the Acer 7-in-1 gives no USB port count.

Which listings state a warranty term?

The JoyReken states 12 months and the Keopien states 1 year. The other three state no warranty term.

Can any of these hubs drive a monitor?

The Acer 7-in-1 USB-C hub states 4K HDMI video output. The other four hubs state no video output.

Which hub needs no cable?

The Keopien plugs directly into the laptop with no cable, per its listing. The JoyReken ships with a 2-foot cable and a cable tie; the other listings state no cable details.

Do any of these read memory cards?

The Acer 7-in-1 states an SD/TF card reader. The other four hubs state no card reader.

Acer 7-in-1 USB-C Hub
Still deciding? Our top pickAcer 7-in-1 USB-C Hub
Check price on Amazon

See every docking station and USB hub guide and all audio, power and connectivity guides.

More picks: best docking station for home use, best docking station for EliteBook and best cable management trays for desk.