Filming a product demo at the desk and the footage looks flat is the moment the best ring light for content earns its place: the right light shapes the face and the frame without washing out the background. This roundup compares five lights that showed up for that keyword, from pocket RGB panels to a clip ring light and a 35-inch softbox that modifies a light you already own. Every pick is scored on performance, build, value, safety and warranty, using only what each listing states.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall IVISII G2 Pocket RGB Light: Pocket RGB light, 2600-10000K, 7200mAh, tripod stand. Check price on Amazon
Best Compact SmallRig P96 Pro Mini Light: Mini bi-color light, 2500-6500K, LCD, cold shoe mount. Check price on Amazon
Best Modifier SmallRig 35-Inch Softbox: 35-inch Bowens softbox; needs a COB light, not a ring light. Check price on Amazon
Best 2-Pack GVM 480app-2 2-Pack Lights: Two LED panels, 480 LEDs, CRI 97+. Check price on Amazon
Best Clip-On Neewer BR60 Clip Ring Light: 5-inch clip ring light with desk tripod. Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | IVISII G2 Pocket RGB Light | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | NEEWER BR60 Ring Light | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | SmallRig P96 Pro Mini Light | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | GVM 480app-2 | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | SmallRig 35-Inch Softbox | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

IVISII G2 Pocket RGB Light
A pocket RGB panel with the widest stated color range and the largest battery here.
Pros
- 2600-10000K color range with 150 LEDs, 80 bi-color and 70 RGB.
- 7200mAh battery: 190 minutes at full brightness, over 345 below half.
- CRI over 97 with an aluminum alloy body.
- Tripod stand, carrying bag and cable included.
Cons
- No electrical safety listing stated.
- No lux or brightness figure stated.
- Charging takes 3 hours, per the listing.
- Effect modes add complexity for simple setups.
Detailed Review
The IVISII G2 is the most specified light here: 2600-10000K color temperature, 150 LED beads split 80 bi-color and 70 RGB, CRI over 97, a 7200mAh battery with 190 minutes at full brightness and over 345 minutes below half, and an aluminum alloy body with a built-in LCD. The box includes a tripod stand, carrying bag, screw, cable and the panel, and the listing states a 1 year warranty.
Who it's for: creators who want the widest stated color range and the longest stated battery life in a pocket panel. Who should skip it: anyone who only needs simple white light, or anyone lighting a large room.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Range | 2600-10000K |
|---|---|
| LEDs | 150 (80 bi-color, 70 RGB) |
| Battery | 7200mAh |
| Mount | Tripod stand |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No FCC or other safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 1 year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Light and privacy. Use the supplied adapter for ring lights, keep lights and cords away from drinks and paper, and cover or unplug a webcam when it is not in use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

NEEWER BR60 Ring Light
A 5-inch clip ring light with 60 LEDs, 450Lx at 0.5 m and a desk tripod for monitor-top video calls, per the listing.
Pros
- Stated 450Lx illumination at 0.5 m with 60 LEDs
- CRI above 97 with 10-level dimming from 10% to 100%
- Clip plus desk tripod with 360-degree pan and 135-degree tilt
- 10W at 5V/2A with a 6 ft built-in cable
Cons
- No refund window stated beyond the 1 year manufacturer term
- Clip fits monitors under 1 inch (2.5 cm); thicker monitors need the tripod
- 3000K-6000K range is narrower than the 2500K-6500K on the ALTSON
- 131 grams before the tripod; a desk kit, not a pocket light
Detailed Review
NEEWER lists the BR60 as a 5-inch clip-on ring light with 60 LEDs, a stated 450Lx at 0.5 m, color temperature from 3000K to 6000K and CRI above 97. Brightness dims across 10 levels from 10% to 100%, and the light runs at 10W from 5V/2A over a built-in 6 ft cable. The clip fits monitors under 1 inch (2.5 cm) thick with 170-degree tilt, and the included desk tripod adds 360-degree pan, 135-degree tilt and 9 cm of elevated height. Item weight is 131 grams and dims are 5.7 by 5 by 1.1 inches, with a 1 Year Manufacturer warranty in the spec table.
Who it's for: desk workers who want the only stated lux figure here and a tripod for off-monitor placement. Who should skip it: anyone with a monitor thicker than 1 inch who wants to clip it on, and travelers, since this is a desk kit.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Output | 450Lx at 0.5 m |
|---|---|
| LEDs | 60, CRI>97 |
| Color temp | 3000K-6000K |
| Power | 10W, 5V/2A |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No UL or ETL listing is stated, so safety scores zero. The spec table lists a 1 Year Manufacturer warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 2500-6500K bi-color with CRI95+ and 1160Lux at 0.3m.
- Embedded LCD color screen with single-hand adjustment.
- Cold shoe mount plus 1/4-inch threaded holes.
- 1500mAh battery with USB-C charging.
Cons
- No electrical safety listing stated.
- Up to 1.2 hours at full power, per the listing.
- Mini size suits close work, not rooms.
- 5 effects, fewer than the G2's 9.
Detailed Review
The SmallRig P96 Pro is a mini bi-color panel: 2500-6500K, CRI95+, 1160Lux at 0.3m and 5600K, an embedded LCD color screen and 5 special effects. The 1500mAh battery gives up to 1.2 hours at full power and 3 hours of regular shooting, charging over USB-C. The listing states a 1 year manufacturer warranty.
Who it's for: on-the-go creators who want a pocket light with a screen and camera mounting. Who should skip it: anyone who needs the longest battery life or RGB color.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Range | 2500-6500K |
|---|---|
| CRI | 95+ |
| Battery | 1500mAh |
| Mount | Cold shoe |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No FCC or other safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 1 year manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Light and privacy. Use the supplied adapter for ring lights, keep lights and cords away from drinks and paper, and cover or unplug a webcam when it is not in use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 480 high-CRI 97+ LED beads
- 2300K-6800K with app control and digital display
- 70,000-hour LED life
- Aluminum housing aids heat dissipation
Cons
- Bullets say 180 days, spec table says one year
- 2-pack only, no single option
- No quality standard is stated
- Batteries not included
Detailed Review
GVM lists the 480app-2 as a 2-pack of LED video lights with 480 high-CRI 97+ beads, 2300K to 6800K and app control with a digital display. The aluminum housing aids heat dissipation. The bullets state 180 days while the spec table states one year; with no single concrete term, warranty scores zero.
Who it's for: someone who wants a 2-pack with a display. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a single light.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| LEDs | 480 |
|---|---|
| Color Temp | 2300K-6800K |
| CRI | 97+ |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 18 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 35-inch octagon with dual-layer fabric for even diffusion.
- Standard Bowens mount fits SmallRig, Neewer, Aputure and Godox lights.
- 8 stainless steel ribs; 900g with storage bag.
- Quick-release design for fast setup.
Cons
- Not a light source; needs a Bowens mount COB light.
- Not a ring light for face-to-camera work.
- 900g plus the light it modifies.
- No electrical safety listing stated.
Detailed Review
The SmallRig LA-O90 is a 35-inch octagon softbox with a standard Bowens mount, dual-layer fabric and 8 stainless steel umbrella ribs. It weighs 900g, folds for storage and ships with a honeycomb grid, diffusion cloths and a storage bag. It is a modifier, not a light: it needs a Bowens mount COB light. The listing states a 1 Year Manufacturer warranty.
Who it's for: creators with a COB light who want softer, wider product lighting. Who should skip it: anyone shopping for a ring light or a standalone light.
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 23/35, build 20/25, value 18/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 64 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Size | 35 in |
|---|---|
| Mount | Bowens |
| Weight | 900g |
| Ribs | 8 stainless steel |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 1 Year Manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Light and privacy. Use the supplied adapter for ring lights, keep lights and cords away from drinks and paper, and cover or unplug a webcam when it is not in use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| Ring Light | Office Score | Type | Standout Spec | Power | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IVISII G2 Pocket RGB Light | 9.6/10 | Pocket RGB panel | 2600-10000K, 150 LEDs | 7200mAh battery | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| SmallRig P96 Pro Mini Light | 9.5/10 | Mini bi-color panel | 2500-6500K, CRI95+ | 1500mAh battery | 1 year manufacturer | View on Amazon |
| SmallRig 35-Inch Softbox | 9.4/10 | Octagon softbox | 35 in, Bowens mount | Not stated | 1 Year Manufacturer | View on Amazon |
| GVM 480app-2 2-Pack Lights | 9.5/10 | LED panel 2-pack | 480 LEDs, CRI 97+ | Not stated | Not stated | |
| Neewer BR60 Clip Ring Light | 9.6/10 | Clip ring light | 5 in, desk tripod | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 19 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. Safety here means stated electrical safety listings, and none of the five listings states one, so every pick scores zero on safety; the ranking comes from the other four. Three of the five state a one-year warranty, so they score on warranty and the two thin listings do not. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IVISII G2 Pocket RGB Light | 9.6 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 3 |
| SmallRig P96 Pro Mini Light | 9.5 | 29 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 3 |
| SmallRig 35-Inch Softbox | 9.4 | 23 | 20 | 18 | 0 | 3 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best ring light for content
Panel light or ring light
Only the Neewer BR60 here is a true ring light: a 5-inch clip light with a desk tripod. The IVISII G2 and SmallRig P96 Pro are pocket panels, and the GVM is a two-pack of panels. For face-to-camera content the ring shape matters less than the stated color range and controls; for product shots the SmallRig softbox shapes whatever COB light you mount it on.
Color range and effects
The IVISII G2 lists the widest stated range: 2600-10000K with 150 LEDs, 80 bi-color and 70 RGB, plus 9 light effects. The SmallRig P96 Pro lists 2500-6500K, CRI95+ and 5 effects. The GVM lists 480 LEDs and CRI 97+. If your content leans on color, the G2’s stated RGB gamut is the standout; if you shoot daylight product work, the P96 Pro’s stated CRI95+ matters more.
Battery and mounting
The IVISII G2 lists a 7200mAh battery with 190 minutes at full brightness and over 345 minutes below half, and ships with a tripod stand. The SmallRig P96 Pro lists a 1500mAh battery with up to 1.2 hours at full power and 3 hours of regular shooting, mounting by cold shoe or 1/4-inch thread. Match the mount to your rig: cold shoe for cameras, tripod for desks, clip for phones. See best ring light for content creators for more creator picks.
Read the thin listings carefully
The GVM and Neewer BR60 listings state almost nothing beyond their titles: 480 LEDs and CRI 97+ for the GVM, 5 inches and a desk tripod for the BR60. Thin listings are not disqualified, but they score lower because there is less to verify. Also see best portable ring light for laptop if you film away from the desk.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best ring light for content here?
The IVISII G2 scores highest: the widest stated color range, the largest battery and a tripod stand. The SmallRig P96 Pro is the smaller alternative with a stated CRI95+.
Is the SmallRig softbox a ring light?
No. The LA-O90 is a 35-inch Bowens mount softbox that modifies a COB light you already own. It shapes light for product shots; it is not a light source itself.
Which light has the longest stated battery life?
The IVISII G2: 190 minutes at full brightness and over 345 minutes below half brightness, from a 7200mAh battery. The SmallRig P96 Pro lists up to 3 hours of regular shooting from 1500mAh.
Do any of these have a warranty?
Three do: the IVISII G2 states 1 year, and the SmallRig P96 Pro and the softbox each state a 1 year manufacturer warranty. The GVM and Neewer BR60 listings state no warranty term.
Can I mount these on a camera?
The SmallRig P96 Pro lists a cold shoe mount and 1/4-inch threaded holes for camera, handheld or tripod setups. The IVISII G2 lists a cold shoe mount for cameras. The Neewer BR60 clips on and the softbox needs a Bowens mount light.
Related guides
See every webcams and ring lights guide and all computer peripherals guides.
More picks: best ring light for content creators, best battery powered ring light, best webcam for conference room and best ring light for webcam video calls.







