Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Desk Lamps and Light Bars

Best Swing Arm Desk Lamp (2026): 5 Picks Compared

Five swing arm desk lamps compared by reach, mounting, bulb and warranty, from a 36-inch task light to clamp-on architect lamps.

Best Swing Arm Desk Lamp (2026): 5 Picks Compared

The best swing arm desk lamp is the one whose reach clears your monitor and whose mount fits your desk, because a lamp that cannot reach the work or cannot attach to the desk is decoration. Swing arm lamps range from clamp-mounted architects to weighted-base task lights, with reaches from 18 to 36 inches here. We compared five by arm reach, mounting style, bulb situation, build and warranty term, using only what each listing publishes. Two of the five include a clamp, two need a separate bulb purchase, and only one includes the bulb in the box.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

The picks

Bostitch VLF100D Swing Arm Lamp

Bostitch VLF100D Swing Arm Lamp

Bostitch9.7/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An all-metal swing arm lamp with 36-inch reach and a replaceable LED bulb included, backed by a 3-year warranty.

Pros

  • 36-inch reach clears monitors and objects, the longest here.
  • Replaceable LED bulb included (9W, CRI 80).
  • All-metal construction with multi-joint adjustment.
  • Limited 3-year warranty, the longest term here.

Cons

  • No certification stated on the listing.
  • No color temperature adjustment.
  • Push-button switch only.
  • Black only in this listing.
Detailed Review

The Bostitch VLF100D is the workhorse pick: a fully adjustable multi-joint swing arm with 36 inches of reach that clears monitors and desk objects, on a flat base that fits any desktop or tabletop. The all-metal construction suits daily office use, and the flat base keeps it planted without a clamp.

It includes a replaceable 9W LED bulb with CRI 80 in an E26 base, so there is no separate bulb purchase and no compatibility guesswork. When the bulb eventually fails, any E26 replacement fits. The limited 3-year warranty is the longest coverage of the five, and the replaceable bulb design keeps the lamp serviceable for years.

Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 25/25, value 22/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 4/5: 84 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Reach36 in.
BulbLED included
Warranty3-year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. Limited 3-year warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

TORCHSTAR 2-in-1 Desk Lamp

TORCHSTAR 2-in-1 Desk Lamp

TORCHSTAR9.7/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-in-1 metal swing arm lamp that stands on its base or clamps to surfaces, with a UL-listed plug.

Pros

  • Base or C-clamp mounting up to 2 inches wide.
  • UL-listed power plug.
  • Spring-balanced arm extends to 18 inches.
  • Solid metal shade and arm with weighted base.

Cons

  • Bulb not included; A19 or G25 recommended.
  • No warranty term stated.
  • Rocker switch only, no dimming.
  • Red finish only in this listing.
Detailed Review

The TORCHSTAR works two ways: standing on its weighted base or clamped to any vertical or horizontal surface up to 2 inches wide, which covers desks, shelves and headboards. The spring-balanced metal arm extends to 18 inches with a rotatable base and shade, lighting a large area from a small footprint.

The power plug is UL-listed, the only stated certification in this roundup. It takes E26 or E27 bulbs (not included), with A19 recommended and G25 as an alternative; other bulb models are not recommended, and using them may cause suboptimal lighting or unstable performance. The 55-inch cable and rocker switch keep daily use simple, and the slim shape takes up little desk space. Note the adjustment caution: loosen the base locking screw before moving the arm, and never force it while tightened.

Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 24/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Arm reach18 in.
MountingBase + clamp
CertificationUL-listed plug

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL-listed power plug, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

LEPOWER Clamp Desk Lamp

LEPOWER Clamp Desk Lamp

LEPOWER9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A metal swing arm lamp with clamp and base mounting, E26 socket and 12-month warranty.

Pros

  • C-clamp plus standing base included.
  • 12-month warranty stated.
  • Metal shade and base, 7.3 lb build.
  • Push-button switch on the cord for easy reach.

Cons

  • No certification stated.
  • Bulb requirements not detailed beyond E26.
  • 6W LED rating is modest.
  • White only in this listing.
Detailed Review

The LEPOWER UT2020 pairs a metal swing arm lamp with both a C-clamp (up to 2 inches) and a thickened standing base, so it mounts almost anywhere in the home or office. The adjustable head focuses light for reading, studying, drawing, sewing and crafts, and the metal shade directs it without spill.

The listing states a 12-month warranty and a 6W LED rating on 120V. A push-button switch on the cord handles on/off, and the 7.3-pound build stays put on the desk. The white finish suits bright rooms.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 22/25, value 22/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 2/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
MountingBase + clamp
Warranty12-month

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 12-month warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Globe Electric 32in Multi-Joint

Globe Electric 32in Multi-Joint

Globe Electric9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 32-inch multi-joint architect lamp with metal clamp in matte black and brass accents.

Pros

  • 32-inch multi-joint arm with spring-loaded top.
  • Metal clamp mounts to surfaces up to 2 inches.
  • Rotary switch on the shade for quick access.
  • Matte black with antique brass accents.

Cons

  • Bulb not included; 60W E26 sold separately.
  • No warranty stated.
  • No certification stated.
  • Partially adjustable arm only.
Detailed Review

The Globe Electric 62000009 is a 32-inch multi-joint desk lamp in matte black with antique brass accents and an industrial look. The metal clamp mounts to any surface up to 2 inches wide, and the spring-loaded top arm points light where needed.

It needs a 60W E26 bulb, sold separately, compatible with LED and incandescent bulbs. The rotary switch sits on top of the shade for quick access, and the industrial structure suits modern offices. The listing states no warranty, so buy it for the form and reach.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 22/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Height32 in.
MountingClamp

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No UL or ETL listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Globe Electric 28in Architect

Globe Electric 28in Architect

Globe Electric9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 28-inch architect swing arm lamp in matte rose with white accents for bedrooms and offices.

Pros

  • 28-inch architect scale with small sturdy base.
  • Matte rose finish with white accents.
  • Rotary switch on the shade.
  • Spring-loaded swing arm moves up and down.

Cons

  • Bulb not included; 60W E26 sold separately.
  • No warranty stated.
  • No certification stated.
  • Partially adjustable arm only.
Detailed Review

The Globe Electric 52028 is a 28-inch architect desk lamp in matte rose with matte white accents, a modern take on the minimalist classic with exposed springs. It stands 28 inches tall when fully extended on a small, sturdy metal base that keeps the desk tidy.

It needs a 60W E26 bulb, sold separately, and works with LED, incandescent or halogen. The rotary switch on the shade is easy to reach, and the minimalist classic design suits chic decor. The listing states no warranty.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 22/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 70 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Height28 in.
MountingTabletop

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No UL or ETL listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Lamps near paper and water. Use the supplied adapter, keep the lamp head away from paper, curtains and drinks, and treat flicker-free and brightness figures as the maker's claims.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Lamp Office Score Reach / Height Bulb Mounting Warranty Amazon
Bostitch VLF100D Swing Arm Lamp 9.7/10 36 in. LED included Tabletop 3-year View on Amazon
TORCHSTAR 2-in-1 Desk Lamp 9.7/10 18 in. arm E26, not included Base + clamp Not stated View on Amazon
LEPOWER Clamp Desk Lamp 9.5/10 Not stated E26 Base + clamp 12-month View on Amazon
Globe Electric 32in Multi-Joint 9.5/10 32 in. E26, not included Clamp Not stated View on Amazon
Globe Electric 28in Architect 9.5/10 28 in. E26, not included Tabletop Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026. Two of the five listings state a warranty term.

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance (arm reach, adjustability, bulb), build (materials, mount), value (features for the form), safety and warranty. For desk lamps, safety means stated certifications like UL listing. Two of the five listings state a warranty term, from 12 months to 3 years. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Bostitch VLF100D Swing Arm Lamp 9.7 33 25 22 0 4
TORCHSTAR 2-in-1 Desk Lamp 9.7 29 24 21 7 0
LEPOWER Clamp Desk Lamp 9.5 28 22 22 0 2
Globe Electric 32in Multi-Joint 9.5 29 22 20 0 0
Globe Electric 28in Architect 9.5 28 22 20 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best swing arm desk lamp

Measure the reach you need

Reach decides whether the light lands on the work. The Bostitch stretches 36 inches, clearing monitors and desk objects, while the Globe black reaches 32 inches and the Globe rose stands 28 inches tall. Longer reach means fewer repositionings during the day. The TORCHSTAR arm extends to 18 inches, best for close task work. Measure from the mount point to the far edge of the work area before choosing, and leave a little slack for repositioning.

Lamp Reach Mounting
Bostitch VLF100D 36 inches Tabletop
Globe Electric black 32 inches Clamp
Globe Electric rose 28 inches Tabletop
TORCHSTAR 18 inches Base + clamp

Pick the mounting style

Clamps free the desktop entirely: the TORCHSTAR, LEPOWER and Globe black all clamp to surfaces up to 2 inches wide. Weighted bases like the TORCHSTAR and Bostitch sit on any flat surface with no installation, which suits renters and shared desks. For a dorm desk with no free surface at all, see the best desk lamp with clamp.

Check the bulb situation

Only the Bostitch includes a bulb: a replaceable 9W LED with CRI 80. The TORCHSTAR needs an E26 or E27 bulb (A19 recommended, G25 alternate), and both Globes need a 60W E26 bulb sold separately. The LEPOWER lists E26 without bulb details. Budget for the bulb when comparing total cost, and see the best desk lamp for studying for reading-focused picks.

Read the warranty

The Bostitch states a limited 3-year warranty, the longest here, and the LEPOWER states a 12-month warranty. The TORCHSTAR and both Globes state no warranty term. Only the TORCHSTAR states a certification, with a UL-listed plug. A stated certification is worth more than marketing adjectives when the lamp runs for hours. For late-night writing sessions, see the best desk lamp for writers.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best swing arm desk lamp for a small desk?

A clamp model: the TORCHSTAR, LEPOWER and Globe black all clamp to surfaces up to 2 inches wide, freeing the desktop for the keyboard and papers. Measure the desk edge thickness before ordering. The TORCHSTAR also stands on its weighted base when no clamp surface exists.

Do any of these lamps include a bulb?

Only the Bostitch, with a replaceable 9W LED bulb. The TORCHSTAR and both Globes need separate E26 bulbs, and the LEPOWER lists E26 without bulb details.

Which lamp reaches the farthest?

The Bostitch at 36 inches, followed by the Globe black at 32 inches and the Globe rose at 28 inches tall overall. The TORCHSTAR arm extends to 18 inches.

Can these lamps dim?

None of the five listings states dimming, so brightness control comes from bulb choice alone. The Bostitch uses a push-button switch, the TORCHSTAR an easy rocker switch, the LEPOWER a handy push-button on the cord, and both Globes a rotary switch on the shade.

Which lamp has the longest warranty?

The Bostitch with a limited 3-year warranty, then the LEPOWER with 12 months. The other three state no warranty term, so register the purchase and keep the receipt.

Bostitch VLF100D Swing Arm Lamp
Still deciding? Our top pickBostitch VLF100D Swing Arm Lamp
Check price on Amazon

See every Desk Lamps and Light Bars guide and all Desks and Desk Lighting guides.

More picks: desk lamps and light bars, desk lamps with clamps, desk lamps for studying and desk lamps for dorm rooms.