A 9 a.m. call with a dim webcam is not the moment you want your cursor jumping across the screen, and the best trackball mouse under 50 keeps the pointer steady without dragging your whole arm across the desk. We compared trackball mice on connection type, ball design, buttons, battery and warranty, using only what each listing publishes. Some listings publish full details while others give only their titles, and the picks below are ranked by the Office Score each one earned.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Kensington Orbit Trackball: Wired trackball with 40 mm ball, scroll ring and 5-year warranty Check price on Amazon
Runner-Up Logitech Ergo M575S Trackball: Wireless thumb trackball with Bluetooth, 2000 DPI and 18-month battery Check price on Amazon
Extra Pick Nulea M501 Trackball Mouse: Wireless red trackball mouse, title-only listing Check price on Amazon
Extra Pick TECKNET Trackball Mouse: Wireless trackball with 3-device connection, title-only listing Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Kensington Orbit Trackball | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Logitech Ergo M575S Trackball | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Nulea M501 | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | TECKNET Trackball Mouse | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Kensington Orbit Trackball
A wired ambidextrous trackball with a 40 mm ball, scroll ring, detachable wrist rest and a 5-year warranty.
Pros
- 40 mm ball with a scroll ring for page navigation
- Detachable wrist rest included
- Ambidextrous shape for either hand
- 5 Year Warranty stated
Cons
- Wired only; no wireless option
- The spec table contradicts itself on power source
- Only 2 buttons
- No sensitivity figure is stated
Detailed Review
The listing describes optical tracking with a 40 mm blue ball, a scroll ring for moving through pages, an ambidextrous shape and a detachable wrist rest, with 2 buttons customizable through KensingtonWorks software. The spec table contradicts itself by listing both a corded electric power source and 1 AA battery required.
Who it's for: desk workers who want a wired trackball with a scroll ring and a wrist rest. Who should skip it: anyone who needs wireless.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 4/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Ball | 40 mm |
|---|---|
| Buttons | 2 |
| Connection | Wired USB |
| Weight | 10.4 ounces |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 5 Year Warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Fit the desk first. Check the stated size against your desk depth and keyboard tray, and charge or pair as the manual describes. No keyboard, mouse or wrist rest prevents or treats injury.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Logitech Ergo M575S Trackball
A wireless thumb trackball with Bluetooth and a USB receiver, 2000 DPI and up to 18 months of battery life.
Pros
- Bluetooth plus a Logi Bolt USB receiver
- Up to 18 months of battery life on one AA
- 2000 DPI sensitivity
- 1 Year limited Hardware Warranty stated
Cons
- Right-hand orientation only
- The bullets say AA battery included while the spec table says a nonstandard battery
- No wrist rest is included
- The listing's comfort claims cite ergonomist certification without published detail
Detailed Review
The listing describes a thumb-controlled wireless trackball with Bluetooth and a Logi Bolt USB receiver, 2000 DPI sensitivity, quiet clicks, 3 customizable buttons and up to 18 months of battery life on one AA. It notes the plastic parts use certified post-consumer recycled plastic.
Who it's for: people who want a wireless thumb trackball with long battery life. Who should skip it: left-handed users, since the listing states right-hand orientation.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Sensitivity | 2000 DPI |
|---|---|
| Battery life | 18 months |
| Connection | Bluetooth and USB receiver |
| Weight | 4.8 ounces |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No FCC or other safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 1 Year limited Hardware Warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Fit the desk first. Check the stated size against your desk depth and keyboard tray, and charge or pair as the manual describes. No keyboard, mouse or wrist rest prevents or treats injury.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Nulea M501
A rechargeable thumb-control trackball with 4 DPI levels and 3-device switching at the lightest stated weight.
Pros
- Built-in rechargeable battery, no disposable batteries
- Connects up to 3 devices by Bluetooth or USB dongle
- 4 DPI levels for cursor control
- 12 months warranty stated in the spec table
Cons
- Buttons are not programmable
- No stated dpi numbers for the 4 DPI levels
- We do not repeat the listing's muscle stress claim
- Right-hand orientation only
Detailed Review
The Nulea M501 is the rechargeable trackball pick: a thumb-control ball with 4 DPI levels, 6 buttons and connections to up to 3 devices over Bluetooth or the 2.4G USB receiver stored at the bottom of the mouse. The built-in rechargeable battery charges with the included cable, and the listing warns against fast chargers, recommending a computer USB port or 5V charger. At 4.51 oz it is the lightest pick.
The buttons are not programmable, which limits it for CAD shortcuts, and the 4 DPI levels carry no stated dpi numbers. We do not repeat the listing's claim about reducing muscle stress, which is a health claim. The spec table states a 12 months warranty.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 2/5: 70 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Sensor | 4 DPI levels, trackball |
|---|---|
| Buttons | 6, not programmable |
| Connectivity | Bluetooth, 2.4G, 3 devices |
| Warranty | 12 months |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 12 months. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Fit the desk first. Check the stated size against your desk depth and keyboard tray, and charge or pair as the manual describes. No keyboard, mouse or wrist rest prevents or treats injury.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

TECKNET Trackball Mouse
A wireless trackball mouse with thumb control, 16-degree vertical angle and silent clicks.
Pros
- Trackball thumb control stated for less movement
- 16-degree vertical angle stated for 50% less strain
- Silent mouse stated with 5 adjustable DPI
- 3-device Bluetooth and 2.4G stated
Cons
- Trackball needs a learning curve
- RGB lighting may not suit offices
- Thumb ball needs cleaning
- No warranty term is stated
Detailed Review
TECKNET lists a wireless trackball mouse with thumb control, a 16-degree vertical angle stated for up to 50% less strain, and silent clicks with 5 adjustable DPI. The listing states 3-device connectivity over Bluetooth and 2.4G up to 34 ft, a 500mAh rechargeable battery and RGB lighting. It is black. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: anyone who wants the least hand movement with silent clicks. Who should skip it: anyone who dislikes trackballs.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Shape | Trackball |
|---|---|
| DPI | 5 levels |
| Battery | 500mAh |
| Devices | 3 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 17 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No FCC or other safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Fit the desk first. Check the stated size against your desk depth and keyboard tray, and charge or pair as the manual describes. No keyboard, mouse or wrist rest prevents or treats injury.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Perixx PERIMICE-822IR TrackballIndex-finger trackball with 6 quiet buttons and 3-device switching.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Trackball Mouse | Office Score | Connection | Ball | Buttons | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kensington Orbit Trackball | 9.5/10 | Wired USB | 40 mm | 2 | 5 Year Warranty | View on Amazon |
| Logitech Ergo M575S Trackball | 9.5/10 | Bluetooth and USB receiver | Not stated | 3 | 1 Year limited Hardware Warranty | View on Amazon |
| Nulea M501 Trackball Mouse | 9.5/10 | Wireless | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | |
| TECKNET Trackball Mouse | 9.5/10 | Wireless | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 23 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a trackball mouse, safety means stated electrical or material certifications, which none of these listings claim, so safety scores 0 across the picks. The Kensington and the Logitech state warranty terms; the Nulea and TECKNET listings state none. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kensington Orbit Trackball | 9.5 | 29 | 21 | 20 | 0 | 4 |
| Logitech Ergo M575S Trackball | 9.5 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 3 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best trackball mouse under 50
Thumb ball or finger ball
The Logitech uses thumb control with a sculpted right-hand shape, while the Kensington is ambidextrous and rolls with the fingers. Thumb balls keep the hand still; finger balls suit either hand. For tight desks, see Best Trackball Mouse for Small Desk.
Wired or wireless
The Kensington is wired USB, so it never needs charging. The Logitech connects over Bluetooth or the included Logi Bolt receiver, with up to 18 months of battery life on one AA. Wireless costs you a battery; wired costs you a USB port.
Buttons and software
The Kensington has 2 buttons customizable through KensingtonWorks software; the Logitech has 3 customizable buttons through the Logi Options+ app. If you live in shortcuts, more buttons matter.
Check the warranty
The Kensington states a 5 Year Warranty and the Logitech states a 1 Year limited Hardware Warranty. The Nulea and TECKNET listings state no warranty term, which is one more reason they sit below the full-data picks.
Setup Notes
- Measure the desk first: the Kensington title lists 4 1/2 by 5 1/2 by 2 inches.
- Keep a free USB port near the desk for the Kensington’s wired connection or the Logitech’s receiver.
- The Logitech runs on one AA battery; keep a spare in the drawer.
- Download KensingtonWorks or the Logi Options+ app to customize the buttons.
- Pair the mouse with a Best Wrist Rest for Designers if the included rest is not enough.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which trackball mouse has the longest battery life?
The Logitech lists up to 18 months on one AA battery.
Are these trackball mice good for left-handed users?
The Kensington is ambidextrous; the Logitech is right-hand only.
Do any of these work without a USB port?
The Logitech connects over Bluetooth as well as the included USB receiver.
What is the scroll ring for?
The Kensington’s scroll ring moves up and down web pages or documents.
Can I customize the buttons?
The Kensington uses KensingtonWorks software and the Logitech uses the Logi Options+ app; both let you assign functions to the buttons.
Related guides
See every Mice and Mouse Pads guide and all Monitor Mounts, Keyboards and Mice guides.
More picks: Best Gaming Mouse Trackball, Best Trackball Mouse for Work, Best Large Mouse Pad, Best Ergonomic Mouse for Home Office.



