An astrophotography rig runs a camera, a guide camera, a mount and a dew heater off one laptop, and the best usb hub for astrophotography is the powered hub that keeps every port fed through a long cold night. We compared five powered USB hubs by port count, transfer speed, power adapter wattage, build and stated warranty, using only what each listing publishes.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall GEKRY 7-Port Powered Hub: 7 ports, 36W adapter, overload protection, 12-month warranty Check price on Amazon
Best Control WENTER 5-Port Powered Hub: Individual port switches, 24-month warranty Check price on Amazon
Best Protection Coolgear 4-Port USB Hub: 15KV ESD surge protection, metal housing Check price on Amazon
Best 6-Port RAOYI 6-Port Powered Hub: 4 data plus 2 charging ports, 24W adapter Check price on Amazon
Best Clamp Mount ORICO 4-Port Clamp Hub: Clamps to desk edge, aluminum housing Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | GEKRY 7-Port Powered Hub | 9.8/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | WENTER 5-Port Powered Hub | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Coolgear 4-Port USB Hub | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | RAOYI 6-Port Powered Hub | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | ORICO 4-Port Clamp Hub | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

GEKRY 7-Port Powered Hub
A 7-port powered hub with a 36W adapter and overload protection, suited to big rigs; skip it if a travel hub is wanted.
Pros
- 7 ports with 36W adapter at 5V/900mA per port
- Current and voltage overload protection stated
- 12 months warranty from date of purchase stated
- BC 1.2 charging protocol stated at up to 1.5A on 4 ports
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- 10.35 ounces is the heaviest hub here
- Alloy steel housing adds weight for travel
- 12 months money back guarantee stated in bullets
Detailed Review
GEKRY lists a 7-port powered USB 3.0 hub with a 36W adapter giving 5V/900mA per port, 5Gbps transfer, and current and voltage overload protection. The bullets state BC 1.2 charging at up to 1.5A on four ports, a 12V/3A adapter with a 7.5 ft power cable and a 3.3 ft USB cable, plus a 12 months money back guarantee. The spec table states 12 months warranty from date of purchase.
Who it's for: rigs with many devices that need the most ports and power here. Who should skip it: anyone who travels light, at 10.35 ounces.
Its Office Score of 9.8/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 22/25, value 22/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 87 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Current and voltage overload protection is stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 12 months from date of purchase. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

WENTER 5-Port Powered Hub
A 5-port powered hub with individual port switches and a 15W adapter, suited to controlled setups; skip it if 7 ports are needed.
Pros
- Individual on/off switches with LED indicators
- 4 data ports plus a dedicated charging port
- 24 months warranty stated
- 5V/3A adapter charges up to 2.4 amps stated
Cons
- No safety certification is stated
- Plastic housing is less rugged than metal
- 15W adapter is the smallest here
- 100cm USB cable plus 120cm power cable stated
Detailed Review
WENTER lists a 5-port powered USB 3.0 hub with 4 data ports and a smart charging port on a 15W adapter. The bullets state individual on/off switches with LED indicators per port, 5Gbps transfer, a 5V/3A adapter charging up to 2.4 amps, and a 100cm USB cable with a 120cm power cable. The spec table states 24 months warranty.
Who it's for: users who power-cycle devices often and want per-port switches. Who should skip it: anyone who needs 7 ports or a metal housing.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No UL, FCC or over-current protection statement is stated, so safety scores zero. 24 months. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Coolgear 4-Port USB Hub
A 4-port metal hub with 15KV ESD surge protection and mounting flanges, suited to fixed rigs; skip it if portability matters.
Pros
- 15KV ESD surge protection per port stated
- Rugged metal housing with mounting flanges
- 5V/4A adapter included, bus or self powered
- GL3510 chipset stated for stable connections
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- 1.6 pounds is heavy for its 4 ports
- 20W total power is modest
- Automatic bus or self powered switching stated
Detailed Review
Coolgear lists a 4-port USB 3.2 Gen 1 hub in a rugged metal housing with 15KV ESD surge protection per port and mounting flanges. The bullets state 5Gbps transfer via a GL3510 chipset, up to 2.4A per port or 20W total charging, USB Battery Charging 1.2 support, and a 5V/4A adapter with a 3 ft cable. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: fixed rigs that need surge protection and mounting. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated warranty term or more ports.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 22/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. 15KV ESD surge protection per port is stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

RAOYI 6-Port Powered Hub
A 6-port powered hub with 4 data and 2 charging ports on a 24W adapter, suited to mixed device rigs; skip it if a stated warranty is needed.
Pros
- 4 data ports plus 2 smart charging ports
- 24W power adapter included
- 5Gbps transfer with hot plug stated
- BC1.2 and QC3.0 charging protocols stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- No safety certification is stated
- Plastic housing is less rugged than metal
- 1.2m built-in cord plus 1m USB cable stated
Detailed Review
RAOYI lists a 6-port powered USB 3.0 hub with 4 data ports and 2 smart fast charging ports on a 24W adapter. The bullets state 5Gbps transfer, BC1.2 and QC3.0 charging protocols, a 1.2m built-in cord and a 1m USB cable. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: rigs mixing data devices with phones and tablets to charge. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated warranty term.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No UL, FCC or over-current protection statement is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

ORICO 4-Port Clamp Hub
A 4-port clamp hub with aluminum housing and extra power port, suited to desk-edge mounting; skip it if the adapter must be included.
Pros
- Clamp mount fits 0.39 to 1.26 in edges
- Aluminum alloy housing stated
- Extra power supply port stated
- 5Gbps transfer with USB 2.0 backward compatibility
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Power adapter not included
- No safety certification is stated
- 4.92 ft USB data cable included
Detailed Review
ORICO lists a 4-port USB 3.0 hub with an adjustable clamp for desk or monitor edges 0.39 to 1.26 in thick and an extra power supply port. The bullets state 5Gbps transfer, backward compatibility with USB 2.0, an aluminum alloy housing, and a 4.92 ft USB data cable. The power adapter is not included and no warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: desk-edge mounting where the hub must clamp on. Who should skip it: anyone who needs the adapter in the box or a stated warranty.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 22/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Power and heat. Use the supplied adapter, treat power delivery wattage and display support as the maker's claims for your laptop model, and give the dock room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
I-Tikol 10 Ports USB Hub 3.0 Powered AluminiumCheck on Amazon
StarTech.com StarTech 4-Port USB 2.0 HubCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Hub | Office Score | Ports | Transfer | Power adapter | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GEKRY 7-Port Powered Hub | 9.8/10 | 7 | 5Gbps | 36W | 12 months | View on Amazon |
| WENTER 5-Port Powered Hub | 9.6/10 | 5 | 5Gbps | 15W | 24 months | View on Amazon |
| Coolgear 4-Port USB Hub | 9.6/10 | 4 | 5Gbps | 5V/4A | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| RAOYI 6-Port Powered Hub | 9.5/10 | 6 | 5Gbps | 24W | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| ORICO 4-Port Clamp Hub | 9.5/10 | 4 | 5Gbps | Not included | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 19 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance (ports and transfer speed), build, value, safety and warranty. For USB hubs, safety means stated electrical protection such as overload or surge protection; two of the five state it. Two of the five state a warranty term: the GEKRY at 12 months and the WENTER at 24 months. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GEKRY 7-Port Powered Hub | 9.8 | 33 | 22 | 22 | 7 | 3 |
| WENTER 5-Port Powered Hub | 9.6 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 3 |
| Coolgear 4-Port USB Hub | 9.6 | 30 | 22 | 20 | 7 | 0 |
| RAOYI 6-Port Powered Hub | 9.5 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
| ORICO 4-Port Clamp Hub | 9.5 | 29 | 22 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best usb hub for astrophotography
Powered, not bus-powered
Every pick here is a powered hub, which matters for astrophotography: cameras and mounts draw more than a laptop port gives. The GEKRY ships a 36W adapter for 7 ports at 5V/900mA each, the RAOYI a 24W adapter for 6 ports, the WENTER a 15W adapter for 5 ports and the Coolgear a 5V/4A adapter for 4 ports. The ORICO lists an extra power supply port but ships without the adapter. Count the devices on the rig and pick the adapter with headroom.
| Hub | Ports | Adapter | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|
| GEKRY 7-Port Powered Hub | 7 | 36W | 12 months |
| WENTER 5-Port Powered Hub | 5 | 15W | 24 months |
| Coolgear 4-Port USB Hub | 4 | 5V/4A | Not stated |
| RAOYI 6-Port Powered Hub | 6 | 24W | Not stated |
| ORICO 4-Port Clamp Hub | 4 | Not included | Not stated |
Ports and per-port control
Port counts run from 4 on the ORICO and Coolgear to 7 on the GEKRY. The WENTER adds individual on/off switches with LED indicators per port, useful for power-cycling a hung camera without unplugging. The RAOYI splits 4 data ports and 2 smart charging ports. All five state 5Gbps transfer, so speed is a tie; buy ports and control. For more connectivity picks, see every docking station and USB hub guide.
Protection and mounting
Night-long sessions run in dew and cold, so protection matters. The GEKRY states current and voltage overload protection, and the Coolgear states 15KV ESD surge protection per port with a rugged metal housing. The Coolgear adds mounting flanges for under-desk fitting, and the ORICO clamps to a desk or monitor edge from 0.39 to 1.26 in thick. For cable runs at the rig, see our best usb hub for desktop computer and best docking station for external hard drive.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do I need a powered USB hub for astrophotography?
Yes. Cameras, guide cameras and mounts draw more current than a laptop USB port supplies alone. All five picks here are powered hubs with adapters from 15W to 36W.
How many ports does an astrophotography rig need?
A typical rig runs a main camera, a guide camera, the mount and a dew heater: four devices. The 4-port ORICO and Coolgear cover exactly that, while the 7-port GEKRY leaves room to grow.
Which of these state a warranty?
The GEKRY states 12 months from date of purchase and the WENTER states 24 months. The ORICO, RAOYI and Coolgear listings state no warranty term.
What does 15KV ESD surge protection mean?
The Coolgear listing states 15KV ESD surge protection per port, guarding connected devices against electrical damage. The GEKRY states current and voltage overload protection instead.
Can these hubs charge devices too?
The WENTER has a dedicated charging port at 5V/3A, the RAOYI has 2 smart fast charging ports, and the Coolgear delivers up to 2.4A per port. The GEKRY supports the BC 1.2 charging protocol at up to 1.5A on four ports.
Related guides
See every docking stations and USB hubs guide and all connectivity guides.
More picks: docking stations for dual monitors and laptop, docking stations for multiple monitors and docking stations for external hard drive.




