The 9 a.m. video call starts in a minute, the laptop is almost dead, the phone needs a charge, and the only free outlet is behind the desk. The best wall outlet extender turns that one outlet into a small power station without a power strip snaking across the floor. We compared wall outlet extenders by outlet count, USB charging ports, surge protection, listing certification and warranty term, using only what each listing publishes.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Lvetek 5-Outlet Extender: 5 outlets, 4 USB ports and 1680J surge protection, ETL listed Check price on Amazon
Best for USB-C Charging Anker 10-in-1 Extender: 20W USB-C charging and 10 ports in a 1.19-inch thin unit Check price on Amazon
Best Circuit Breaker Philips 6-Outlet Extender: Resettable circuit breaker and limited-lifetime warranty Check price on Amazon
Best Two-Pack GE 6-Outlet Extender 2-Pack: 12 outlets across two rooms, UL and ETL listed Check price on Amazon
Best Stable Mount Cable Matters 6-Outlet 2-Pack: Mounts to both wall-plate outlets with a stabilizing post Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Lvetek 5-Outlet Extender | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Anker 10-in-1 Extender | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Philips 6-Outlet Extender | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | GE 6-Outlet Extender 2-Pack | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Cable Matters 6-Outlet 2-Pack | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Lvetek 5-Outlet Extender
Five AC outlets plus four USB ports (one USB-C) with 1680J surge protection in a wall-mountable unit for home or dorm use.
Pros
- 1680J surge protection is the highest joule rating here
- Four USB ports including a USB-C port with 3A max output
- ETL listed with a fire-resistant casing
- Secures to the outlet with an included screw
Cons
- 1-year warranty is shorter than the Philips limited-lifetime term
- Five AC outlets is fewer than the 6-outlet picks
- Single unit, not a 2-pack like the GE or Cable Matters
- No 20W fast USB-C charging like the Anker
Detailed Review
The listing describes a 5-outlet extender with 4 USB ports (one USB-C) and a built-in 1680J surge protector, ETL listed, with a fire-resistant casing. It mounts to a standard grounded duplex receptacle with an included screw and measures 5.51 by 3.77 inches. The listing states a 1-year manufacturer warranty.
Who it's for: a dorm room or bedside setup that needs USB charging and surge protection in one wall unit. Who should skip it: anyone who needs more than five AC outlets or a multi-pack for several rooms.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 4/5: 84 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Outlets | 5 |
|---|---|
| USB ports | 4 (1 USB-C) |
| Surge protection | 1680J |
| Rating | 125V/15A |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. ETL listed; 1680J surge protector and fire-resistant casing are stated, so safety scores 9 of 10. 1 Year Manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Anker 10-in-1 Extender
Six AC outlets and four USB ports (two USB-C with 20W fast charging) in an ultra-thin 1.19-inch profile for travel or desk use.
Pros
- 10 ports total: 6 AC plus 2 USB-A and 2 USB-C
- 20W USB-C fast charging per the listing
- Ultra-thin 1.19-inch profile sits close to the wall
- 18-month warranty plus a connected equipment warranty
Cons
- 300J surge protection is lower than the Lvetek 1680J
- No listing certification (UL or ETL) is stated
- Shared 15W output when multiple USB ports are used at once
- Type A 2-pin plug, while the other picks use grounded 3-pin plugs
Detailed Review
The listing describes a 10-in-1 extender with 6 AC outlets, 2 USB-A and 2 USB-C ports, a 300J surge protector and 20W USB-C fast charging in a 1.19-inch thin profile. It states an 18-month warranty and a connected equipment warranty. No UL or ETL listing certification is stated.
Who it's for: a traveler or desk user who wants USB-C fast charging and a slim unit that hugs the wall. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a certified (UL/ETL) unit or the highest surge protection here.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 4/5: 85 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Outlets | 6 AC + 4 USB |
|---|---|
| USB-C charging | 20W |
| Surge protection | 300J |
| Profile | 1.19 in |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. 300J surge protector is stated; no listing certification is stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 18-month warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Philips 6-Outlet Extender
Six AC outlets with a resettable circuit breaker and ETL listing in a three-sided design that fits three bulky adapters.
Pros
- Resettable circuit breaker with a reset switch for overload protection
- Limited-lifetime warranty, the longest term here
- ETL listed and rated 125VAC/15A/1875W
- Three-sided design fits three bulky adapters without blocking outlets
Cons
- No USB charging ports
- No surge protection joule rating is stated
- Spec table lists 240 volts while the bullets say 125 VAC
- Six outlets only, with no multi-pack option
Detailed Review
The listing describes a 6-outlet wall tap with a resettable circuit breaker, ETL listed and rated 125VAC/15A/1875W, with a limited-lifetime warranty. Note the contradiction: the spec table lists 240 volts while the bullets and title say 125 VAC; the title and bullets win, but confirm with the seller.
Who it's for: someone who wants overload protection with a reset switch and a long warranty on a simple 6-outlet tap. Who should skip it: anyone who needs USB charging ports.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 4/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Outlets | 6 |
|---|---|
| Protection | Resettable circuit breaker |
| Rating | 125VAC/15A/1875W |
| Warranty | Limited-lifetime |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. ETL listed; resettable circuit breaker is stated, so safety scores 9 of 10. Limited-lifetime warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

GE 6-Outlet Extender 2-Pack
Two 6-outlet wall taps (12 outlets total) with wide-spaced outlets for bulky adapters, UL and ETL listed.
Pros
- 2-pack gives 12 outlets total for two rooms
- UL and ETL listed, rated 125VAC/15A/1875W
- Wide-spaced outlets fit three bulky adapters per unit
- Secures with included center screws for permanent mounting
Cons
- No USB charging ports
- No warranty term is stated
- No surge protection is claimed in the title or bullets
- Two units to manage instead of one
Detailed Review
The listing describes a 2-pack of 6-outlet wall taps, 12 outlets total, with wide-spaced outlets for bulky adapters, UL and ETL listed and rated 125VAC/15A/1875W. The spec table marks surge protection, but the title and bullets do not claim it, so it is not counted here. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: someone who wants plain, certified outlet expansion in two rooms. Who should skip it: anyone who needs USB charging or a stated surge rating.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 0/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Outlets | 6 per unit, 2-pack |
|---|---|
| Rating | 125VAC/15A/1875W |
| Certification | UL and ETL listed |
| Spacing | Wide-spaced outlets |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL and ETL listed; rated 125VAC/15A/1875W, so safety scores 9 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Cable Matters 6-Outlet 2-Pack
Two 6-outlet wall taps rated 15A/1875W that mount to both outlets of a wall plate for a stable, cord-free setup.
Pros
- 2-pack of 6-outlet taps for two locations
- Mounts to both outlets of a wall plate with a stabilizing post
- ETL listed and rated 15A/1875W
- Compatible with 3-prong grounded and 2-prong cords
Cons
- No USB charging ports
- No warranty term is stated
- No surge protection is stated
- No circuit breaker or overload protection is stated
Detailed Review
The listing describes a 2-pack of 6-outlet wall taps rated 15A/1875W, ETL listed, that mount to both outlets of a wall plate with a mounting screw and stabilizing post. It works with 3-prong grounded and 2-prong cords. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: a behind-furniture or tight-space setup where a stable, cord-free 6-outlet tap is needed in two spots. Who should skip it: anyone who needs USB ports, surge protection or a warranty term.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Outlets | 6 per unit, 2-pack |
|---|---|
| Rating | 15A/1875W |
| Certification | ETL listed |
| Mounting | Screw and stabilizing post |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. ETL listed; rated 15A/1875W, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
JcBlaon 3-Pack ExtenderThree 6-outlet extenders with USB ports and surge protection for several rooms.Check on Amazon
BlueStars Rotating Extender StickExtends 18 to 27 inches to reach outlets behind furniture, with USB-C charging.Check on Amazon
Travel Depot 5-Outlet ExtenderFive outlets plus USB-C fast charging in black for home or office.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Extender | Office Score | Outlets | USB ports | Surge protection | Certification | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lvetek 5-Outlet Extender | 9.7/10 | 5 | 4 (1 USB-C) | 1680J | ETL listed | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| Anker 10-in-1 Extender | 9.7/10 | 6 | 4 (2 USB-C) | 300J | Not stated | 18 months | View on Amazon |
| Philips 6-Outlet Extender | 9.6/10 | 6 | None | Not stated | ETL listed | Limited-lifetime | View on Amazon |
| GE 6-Outlet Extender 2-Pack | 9.6/10 | 6 per unit | None | Not stated | UL and ETL listed | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Cable Matters 6-Outlet 2-Pack | 9.5/10 | 6 per unit | None | Not stated | ETL listed | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 23 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance (outlet count and USB charging), build, value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For an outlet extender, safety means a stated listing certification and stated protections: four listings are ETL or UL listed, and three state a surge joule rating or a circuit breaker. The Lvetek, Philips and Anker listings state a warranty term; the GE and Cable Matters listings do not. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lvetek 5-Outlet Extender | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 20 | 9 | 4 |
| Anker 10-in-1 Extender | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 7 | 4 |
| Philips 6-Outlet Extender | 9.6 | 28 | 20 | 19 | 9 | 4 |
| GE 6-Outlet Extender 2-Pack | 9.6 | 28 | 20 | 21 | 9 | 0 |
| Cable Matters 6-Outlet 2-Pack | 9.5 | 27 | 20 | 20 | 8 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best wall outlet extender
Count the outlets, then count the USB ports
Start with how many things need power. The Lvetek gives five AC outlets plus four USB ports, and the Anker gives six AC outlets plus four USB ports, so a phone, watch and earbuds can charge without a wall wart. The Philips, GE and Cable Matters give six AC outlets each and no USB ports, which suits a desk where every device already has its own charger. For more USB-heavy setups, see power strips with USB.
| Extender | AC outlets | USB ports |
|---|---|---|
| Lvetek 5-Outlet Extender | 5 | 4 (1 USB-C) |
| Anker 10-in-1 Extender | 6 | 4 (2 USB-C) |
| Philips 6-Outlet Extender | 6 | None |
| GE 6-Outlet Extender 2-Pack | 6 per unit | None |
| Cable Matters 6-Outlet 2-Pack | 6 per unit | None |
Read the surge and safety lines
A joule rating is the maker’s stated measure of surge protection: the Lvetek lists 1680J and the Anker lists 300J. The Philips takes a different route with a resettable circuit breaker and a reset switch for overloads. On certifications, the Lvetek, Philips and Cable Matters are ETL listed and the GE is UL and ETL listed; the Anker listing states no certification. For units where the warranty matters as much as the protection, see power strips with surge protection.
Match the mount to the wall
A wall tap that wobbles is a wall tap you stop trusting. The Lvetek secures with an included screw, the GE uses included center screws, and the Cable Matters mounts to both outlets of a wall plate with a mounting screw and a stabilizing post. The Anker takes the opposite approach: a 1.19-inch thin profile that sits close to the wall so gravity does the work. Measure the space behind your furniture first; the Lvetek measures 5.51 by 3.77 inches.
Two-pack or single?
The GE and Cable Matters come as 2-packs, which suits two rooms or a desk plus a nightstand. The Lvetek, Anker and Philips are single units. Do not buy a 2-pack for one outlet and leave the second in a drawer; match the pack to the rooms that actually need power.
Setup Notes
- Measure the outlet space: the Anker is 1.19 inches thin for tight spots, while the Lvetek measures 5.51 by 3.77 inches.
- Check the plug type: the Anker uses a 2-pin Type A plug, while the other four use grounded 3-pin Type B plugs.
- Plan the load: the GE, Philips and Cable Matters are rated 15A/1875W, and the Lvetek and Anker are rated 15A; stay within the maker’s rating.
- Secure the unit: the Lvetek, GE and Cable Matters include a mounting screw, and the Cable Matters adds a stabilizing post.
Frequently Asked Questions
How many outlets does an extender add?
The Lvetek turns one outlet into five plus four USB ports. The GE and Cable Matters 2-packs give six outlets per unit, twelve in total. The Anker gives six AC outlets plus four USB ports from a single unit.
Do any of these have USB-C fast charging?
The Anker lists 20W USB-C fast charging and says it charges an iPhone 15 from 0 to 53% in 30 minutes. The Lvetek lists a USB-C port with 3A max output. The other three picks have no USB ports.
What does the joule rating mean?
The listings present the joule rating as the measure of surge protection: the Lvetek states 1680J and the Anker states 300J. Compare the numbers as the makers state them; a higher number means the maker claims more surge energy absorption.
Can I mount the extender to the wall outlet?
The Lvetek, GE and Cable Matters listings include a mounting screw for securing the unit to a duplex receptacle, and the Cable Matters adds a stabilizing post. The Anker relies on its thin 1.19-inch profile instead.
Are these safe to use in a dorm room?
The Lvetek, GE, Philips and Cable Matters listings state ETL or UL listing, which is the certification to look for. Check your dorm’s rules on wall taps and power strips before plugging anything in, since some dorms restrict them.
Related guides
See every surge protector and cable management guide and all connectivity guides.
More picks: power strips with USB, power strips with surge protection and surge protectors with warranty.




