A stack of paper waits on a home desk while the week fills it further, and the best document scanner for multiple pages is the device that clears that stack without demanding attention for every sheet. This roundup compares desktop and portable scanners by feeder capacity, scan speed, resolution and stated warranty, using only what each listing publishes.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Epson DS-530X: 45 ppm, 100-page feeder, 600 dpi, 1-year warranty stated Check price on Amazon
Best Compact Brother ADS-1300: 30 ppm, 20-page feeder, card slot, 3 lb stated weight Check price on Amazon
Best for Flat Originals CZUR Shine800A3 Pro: A3 flat originals, less than 1 second per page, OCR in 180+ languages Check price on Amazon
Portable Pick Brother DS-640: Compact mobile scanner powered by USB Check price on Amazon
Duplex Portable Pick Canon imageFORMULA R10: Portable scanner with duplex scanning and 20-sheet feeder Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Epson DS-530X | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Canon R10 | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Brother ADS-1300 | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Brother DS-640 | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | CZUR Shine800A3 Pro | 9.3/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Epson DS-530X
A color duplex desktop scanner with a 100-page feeder, 45 ppm single-pass duplex scanning and TWAIN and ISIS drivers.
Pros
- 45 ppm and 90 ipm single-pass duplex scanning
- 100-page automatic document feeder
- Ultrasonic double-feed detection and blank page removal
- Handles extra-long pages up to 240 in, folded papers up to 11 x 17 in, and ID cards
Cons
- Item weight of 8.2 lb makes it the heaviest pick here
- USB connection only; no wireless connection stated
- Large desktop footprint of 6.7 x 11.6 x 6.9 in
- Warranty term is 1 year only
Detailed Review
The Epson DS-530X lists single-pass duplex scanning at up to 45 ppm and 90 ipm, a 100-page automatic document feeder, a peak daily duty cycle of up to 7,000 sheets, 600 dpi resolution, TWAIN and ISIS drivers, ultrasonic double-feed detection and blank page removal. It handles extra-long pages up to 240 in, folded papers up to 11 x 17 in, and ID cards, at 13 watts and 8.2 lb, with a 1-year limited warranty.
Who it's for: a desk with large daily stacks of mixed paper sizes. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a portable scanner or a wireless connection, neither of which the listing states.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 84 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Scan speed | 45 ppm |
|---|---|
| Feeder capacity | 100 pages |
| Resolution | 600 dpi |
| Warranty | 1-year limited warranty |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Ultrasonic double-feed detection protects scanned media, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1-year limited warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Canon R10
A USB-powered portable scanner with duplex scanning, a 20-sheet feeder, 12 pages per minute and built-in software.
Pros
- Duplex scanning scans both sides at the same time
- 20-sheet automatic feeder for multi-page documents
- 12 pages per minute in color or black-and-white
- Built-in software needs no installation and updates automatically
Cons
- USB power only, no battery option is stated
- Item weight of 998 g, heavier than the 170 g AOZBZ
- Not intended for scanning photographs on photo paper
- 600 dpi, below the 900 dpi of the handheld scanners and the 1200 figure of the Epson
Detailed Review
Canon lists a USB-powered portable scanner with duplex scanning, a 20-sheet automatic feeder and 12 pages per minute in color or black-and-white. Built-in software needs no installation and updates automatically, and the scanner handles receipts, business cards, plastic or embossed cards, reports and legal documents. The spec table gives 600 dpi, 2.5 watts, a 3.74 by 11.22 by 1.57 in size and a 998 g item weight, with a suggested daily volume of 500 scans. The listing states a 1-year warranty with Advanced Exchange Service and ENERGY STAR certification.
Who it's for: someone who scans multi-page documents with a feeder and duplex scanning. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a battery-powered wand or a 900 dpi handheld scanner.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 22/25, safety not scored (non-powered gear) and warranty 0/5: 76 of 90 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Feeder | 20 sheets, duplex |
|---|---|
| Resolution | 600 dpi |
| Speed | 12 pages per minute |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Brother ADS-1300
A compact desktop scanner with 30 ppm single-pass duplex scanning, a 20-page feeder and a card slot for small documents.
Pros
- 30 ppm single-pass double-sided scanning
- 20-page automatic document feeder
- Card slot for business cards, ID badges and plastic cards
- Single pages up to 197 in long; multiple pages up to 8.5 x 14 in
Cons
- Renewed (refurbished) model, not a new unit
- 20-page feeder is the smallest feeder among the feeder scanners here
- USB connection only; no wireless connection stated
- Minimum system requirement listed as Windows 7
Detailed Review
The Brother ADS-1300 lists scan speeds of up to 30 ppm, single-pass double-sided scanning, a 20-page automatic document feeder, a card slot for business cards, ID badges and plastic cards, single pages up to 197 in long, multiple pages up to 8.5 x 14 in, 600 dpi resolution, a weight of 3 lb, and 3 bundled software applications. The title and spec table agree that this is a renewed (refurbished) model, and the listing states a 1-year limited warranty.
Who it's for: a small desk that needs a compact scanner for mixed stacks and cards. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a new unit rather than a renewed one, or a feeder larger than 20 pages.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Scan speed | 30 ppm |
|---|---|
| Feeder capacity | 20 pages |
| Resolution | 600 dpi |
| Warranty | 1-year limited warranty |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 1-year limited warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Brother DS-640
A compact mobile scanner with 16 ppm color and black-white scanning, powered by a micro USB 3. 0 cable.
Pros
- Less than 1 foot in length, the most compact pick here
- Powered by an included micro USB 3. 0 cable, with no outlet needed
- Color scan speed equals black-white speed at 16 ppm
- Broad media support: business, embossed, ID, laminated, and plastic cards
Cons
- Single-sheet capacity of 1
- USB only, with no Wi-Fi stated
- Weight contradiction: bullets state about 1. 5 lbs, spec table states 1 pound
- 300 dpi resolution, below the 600 dpi picks
Detailed Review
Brother lists the DS-640 as a compact mobile document scanner scanning color and black-white documents at up to 16 ppm, with color speed equal to black-white speed. The listing states power by an included micro USB 3. 0 cable for use where no outlet is available, the free iPrint&Scan desktop app for scan-to destinations including PC, network, cloud services, email, and OCR, and support for Windows, Mac, and Linux with TWAIN/WIA for PC, ICA for Mac, and SANE drivers. Image tools add automatic color detection and adjustment, image rotation on PC only, bleed-through prevention and background removal, text enhancement, and color drop. Inside the listing, the bullets state a weight of about 1. 5 lbs while the spec table states 1 pound; the bullets win here. The spec table states 300 dpi, 2.5 watts, a 1-sheet standard capacity, dimensions of 1.99 in deep by 11.9 in wide by 1.45 in high, and a 1-year limited warranty.
Who it's for: bag-first workers who scan a page at a time wherever a laptop is handy. Who should skip it: anyone with batches to feed or a desk that needs wireless scanning.
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Scan speed | 16 ppm |
|---|---|
| Feeder | 1 sheet |
| Connection | USB (micro USB 3. 0) |
| Weight | 1 pound (spec table); about 1. 5 lbs (bullets) |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 1-year limited warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

CZUR Shine800A3 Pro
An overhead document scanner for flat A3 and A4 originals, with OCR in 180+ languages and a scan speed of less than 1 second per page.
Pros
- Flat originals up to A3 size at 11.69 x 16.53 in
- Less than 1 second per page
- OCR supports 180+ languages
- Height adjustable neck, 90 degree foldable design and foot pedal
Cons
- Title says 8MP while the spec table lists a 5 megapixel sensor
- Bullets say 4 lb while the spec table says 2.2 lb
- Glossy materials are not recommended
- No warranty term stated
Detailed Review
The CZUR Shine800A3 Pro lists an 8MP camera in its title and less than 1 second per page, with A3 flat originals at 11.69 x 16.53 in, A4 originals at 8.27 x 11.75 in, OCR in 180+ languages, a height adjustable neck, a 90 degree foldable design and a foot pedal. The listing contradicts itself: the spec table lists a CMOS 5 megapixel sensor at 2592 x 1944, a weight of 2.2 lb against the bullets at 4 lb, and DPI of 210 against the bullets at 340 dpi for A4 and 245 dpi for A3. Trusting the title and bullets, this is an 8MP overhead scanner for flat originals, and glossy materials are not recommended.
Who it's for: a desk that scans flat originals and objects smaller than A3 size. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a feeder for stacks of pages, since each original is placed by hand.
Its Office Score of 9.3/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 19/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 64 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Max scan size | A3 (11.69 x 16.53 in) |
|---|---|
| Scan speed | Less than 1 second per page |
| OCR languages | 180+ |
| Resolution (A4) | 340 dpi |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Shredder and printer safety. Keep hair, ties, jewelry, children and pets away from the feed slot, use the safety lock, unplug when not in use, and give printers and adapters room to vent.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| Scanner | Office Score | Scan speed | Feeder capacity | Resolution | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Epson DS-530X | 9.7/10 | 45 ppm | 100 pages | 600 dpi | 1-year limited warranty | View on Amazon |
| Brother ADS-1300 | 9.5/10 | 30 ppm | 20 pages | 600 dpi | 1-year limited warranty | View on Amazon |
| CZUR Shine800A3 Pro | 9.3/10 | Less than 1 second per page | Flat originals | 340 dpi | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Brother DS-640 | 9.5/10 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Canon imageFORMULA R10 | 9.6/10 | Not stated | 20 sheets | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 25 October 2026. Two of the five state a warranty term; the other three state none.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a scanner, safety means stated features that protect originals during a run, such as ultrasonic double-feed detection; the Epson states it and the other four state no safety feature. Two listings state a warranty term: the Epson and the Brother ADS-1300 each state a 1-year limited warranty. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Epson DS-530X | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 7 | 3 |
| Brother ADS-1300 | 9.5 | 29 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 3 |
| CZUR Shine800A3 Pro | 9.3 | 26 | 19 | 19 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best document scanner for multiple pages
Start with feeder capacity
Feeder capacity decides how often you return to the desk during a long stack. The Epson DS-530X holds 100 pages in its automatic document feeder, the Brother ADS-1300 holds 20 pages, and the Canon imageFORMULA R10 holds 20 sheets. The CZUR Shine800A3 Pro has no feeder at all: it scans flat originals placed under its camera, one sheet at a time. The Brother DS-640 states no feeder capacity, so treat it as a single-sheet companion rather than a stack machine. If your pile is a weekly inbox, the Epson feeder clears it with the fewest reloads; for a small daily batch, the Brother ADS-1300 and the Canon R10 are sized right. See the desktop document scanner roundup for more feeder-first options.
Match speed to the size of the stack
Stated speed runs from 45 ppm on the Epson to 30 ppm on the Brother ADS-1300, while the CZUR lists less than 1 second per page for flat originals. The Epson also lists 90 ipm in duplex mode and a peak daily duty cycle of up to 7,000 sheets, which suits a desk that scans in bulk. The Brother DS-640 and the Canon R10 state no speed, so judge them on portability and duplex scanning rather than pace. A scanner that matches the stack size beats a faster one that you leave in a drawer.
| Scanner | Feeder capacity | Stated speed |
|---|---|---|
| Epson DS-530X | 100 pages | 45 ppm |
| Brother ADS-1300 | 20 pages | 30 ppm |
| CZUR Shine800A3 Pro | Flat originals | Less than 1 second per page |
| Canon imageFORMULA R10 | 20 sheets | Not stated |
| Brother DS-640 | Not stated | Not stated |
Figures as stated in each listing. A feeder figure counts pages the maker says the feeder holds; a flat scanner has no feeder figure because each original is placed by hand.
Check the largest original
Size limits matter as much as speed when the stack mixes paper sizes. The Epson handles extra-long pages up to 240 in and folded papers up to 11 x 17 in, plus ID cards. The Brother ADS-1300 scans single pages up to 197 in long and multiple pages up to 8.5 x 14 in, and its card slot takes business cards, ID badges and plastic cards. The CZUR covers flat originals up to A3 size, at 11.69 x 16.53 in, and A4 originals at 8.27 x 11.75 in. Measure the widest sheet you actually scan before choosing; a scanner that cannot take it is the wrong scanner at any speed. See the scanner for large documents roundup for more wide-format options.
Read the warranty line, not the headline
Two listings state a warranty term: the Epson and the Brother ADS-1300 each state a 1-year limited warranty. The CZUR, the Brother DS-640 and the Canon R10 state no warranty term at all. A stated term matters on a device with moving feed rollers and a daily duty cycle, so weigh it beside speed and feeder size. The document scanner with OCR roundup covers text recognition options for the same desk.
Setup Notes
- Measure the desk space against the stated footprints: the Epson measures 6.7 x 11.6 x 6.9 in and the Brother ADS-1300 measures 4 x 11.3 x 3.3 in.
- Plan one USB connection per scanner: all three full-data listings state USB, and the Epson lists 13 watts.
- Check the largest original first: the Epson handles folded papers up to 11 x 17 in, the Brother ADS-1300 handles single pages up to 197 in long, and the CZUR handles flat originals up to A3 size.
- Leave room beside the feeder for the output stack: the Epson feeder holds 100 pages and the Brother ADS-1300 feeder holds 20 pages.
- Confirm the stated system requirements: the Brother ADS-1300 lists Windows 7 as a minimum, and the CZUR lists Windows XP and later plus macOS.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which scanner here has the largest feeder?
The Epson DS-530X, with a 100-page automatic document feeder. The Brother ADS-1300 holds 20 pages and the Canon imageFORMULA R10 holds 20 sheets.
Which scanner handles the longest page?
The Epson DS-530X, which handles extra-long pages up to 240 in. The Brother ADS-1300 handles single pages up to 197 in long.
Do any of these scanners scan both sides at once?
Yes. The Epson lists single-pass duplex scanning at 45 ppm, the Brother ADS-1300 lists single-pass double-sided scanning at 30 ppm, and the Canon imageFORMULA R10 lists duplex scanning in its title.
Which scanner suits flat originals?
The CZUR Shine800A3 Pro, which scans flat originals up to A3 size with a height adjustable neck and a foot pedal. It has no feeder, so each original is placed by hand.
What warranty term do these scanners state?
The Epson DS-530X and the Brother ADS-1300 each state a 1-year limited warranty. The CZUR, the Brother DS-640 and the Canon R10 state no warranty term.
Related guides
See every Home Office Printers guide and all Office Machines and Storage guides. Also see our best document scanner for receipts. Also see our best portable document scanner. Also see our best usb document scanner. Also see our best network document scanner.
More picks: printer stand for small office, mail organizer for desk, receipt organizer for home office.




