The best extension cord with on off switch is the one that lets you kill power to a lamp or charger without crawling behind the desk. A morning video call is no time to discover the lamp switch is buried behind a bookshelf. This roundup compares the switched cords in this group by cord length, amperage rating, wire gauge, switch style, outlet count, UL listing and warranty term, using only what each listing publishes.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Joinfworld Switched Cord: 15A 14AWG outdoor cord, waterproof lighted switch, 2-year warranty Check price on Amazon
Best Foot Switch Coolneon Foot Switch: Foot pedal switch, 5-year warranty, UL listed, dual voltage rating Check price on Amazon
Best 2-Outlet Plugrand Switch Cord: 2-ft cord with 2 outlets, inline switch, UL CUL listed, 16AWG Check price on Amazon
Most Outlets Waksmart Flat Plug: 4 AC outlets plus 3 USB ports, flat plug, 12-month warranty stated Check price on Amazon
Longest Cord Evenpop Switch Cord: 6.56 ft indoor cord with inline switch, 3-prong plug Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Joinfworld Switched Cord | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Coolneon Foot Switch | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Plugrand Switch Cord | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Waksmart Flat Plug | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Evenpop Switch Cord | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Joinfworld Switched Cord
An 8 ft outdoor extension cord with a waterproof lighted inline on/off switch, 14AWG 3-prong construction rated 15A/125V and 1875W, UL listed with a 2-year warranty.
Pros
- 15A/125V and 1875W rating on 14AWG, the highest capacity here
- Waterproof lighted inline switch for indoor or outdoor use
- UL listed components are stated
- 2-year warranty is stated
Cons
- Only one outlet
- No USB charging ports
- Black only in this listing
- No item weight is stated
Detailed Review
Joinfworld lists an 8 ft outdoor extension cord with a waterproof lighted inline on/off switch, 14AWG 3-prong construction rated 15A/125V and 1875W. The bullets state UL listed components, heat-resisting and fire-prevention PVC, and suitability for light strings, lamps, printers and other standard equipment indoors or outdoors. The spec table gives a 96 in length and a 2-year warranty. The title, bullets and spec table agree on the 15A rating.
Who it's for: someone who wants the highest stated capacity here with an outdoor-rated waterproof switch. Who should skip it: anyone who needs more than one outlet or USB charging.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 3/5: 85 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 8 ft |
|---|---|
| Rating | 15A/125V |
| Wire | 14AWG |
| Warranty | 2 YEAR |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL listed components and waterproof inline switch are stated, so safety scores 9 of 10. 2 YEAR. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Coolneon Foot Switch
A 6 ft foot-switch extension cord with a 2-prong polarized plug and outlet, 18AWG cord rated 2x2A/125V or 3A/250V, UL listed with a 5-year returnless replacement warranty.
Pros
- Foot pedal switch for hands-free on/off
- Dual rating: 2x2A/125V or 3A/250V is stated
- 5-year returnless replacement warranty is stated
- UL specification met and IP44 rating are stated
Cons
- 2-prong only; no 3-prong plug
- 18AWG wire, thinner than the Joinfworld's 14AWG
- 750W rating, below the Joinfworld and Plugrand
- Only one outlet
Detailed Review
Coolneon lists a 6 ft foot-switch extension cord with a 2-prong polarized plug and outlet, an 18AWG stranded copper zip cord and a push-button foot pedal. The listing states a max rating of 2x2A/125V or 3A/250V, 750W, a UL specification met with an IP44 rating, and a 5-year returnless replacement warranty. The spec table lists the color as white while the title says black; trust the title. The item weight is 5 ounces.
Who it's for: someone who wants hands-free foot control for a lamp or Christmas tree with a long stated warranty. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a 3-prong plug or more than 750W.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 4/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 6 ft |
|---|---|
| Rating | 3A/250V or 2x2A/125V |
| Wire | 18AWG |
| Switch | Foot pedal |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL specification met and IP44 rating are stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 5-Year Returnless Replacement. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Plugrand Switch Cord
A 2 ft 2-prong extension cord with 2 outlets and a mid-cord on/off switch, 16AWG rated 12A/125V in the title, UL CUL listed with no stated warranty term.
Pros
- 2 outlets on a 2 ft cord for chargers and lamps
- Inline on/off switch mid-cord
- UL CUL listed is stated
- 16AWG copper wire, SPT-2
Cons
- Title says 12A while the spec table says 10A
- No warranty term is stated
- 2 ft is the briefest run here
- 2-prong only; no 3-prong plug
Detailed Review
Plugrand lists a 2 ft 2-prong extension cord with 2 polarized outlets and a mid-cord on/off switch, built with SPT-2 16AWG copper wire and a molded PVC jacket. The title and bullets state 12A/125V and UL CUL listed, but the spec table lists 10A input current; trust the title and bullets. The spec table states 1250W and a 24 in length. No warranty term appears in the listing.
Who it's for: someone who wants a short 2-outlet cord with a switch for a desk lamp or chargers. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a 3-prong plug, a longer cord or a warranty term.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 2 ft |
|---|---|
| Rating | 12A/125V |
| Outlets | 2 |
| Wire | 16AWG |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL CUL listed is stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Waksmart Flat Plug
A 3 ft flat-plug power strip with 4 AC outlets and 3 USB ports (17W total), cruise ship approved with no surge protection and a 12-month warranty; no on/off switch is stated.
Pros
- 4 AC outlets plus 3 USB ports (17W total)
- Flat 0.4 in plug fits behind furniture
- Cruise ship approved with no surge protection stated
- 12-month warranty is stated
Cons
- No on/off switch is stated in the listing
- 3 ft cord, shorter than the Joinfworld and Evenpop
- No wire gauge (AWG) is stated
- No UL listing is stated
Detailed Review
Waksmart lists a 3 ft flat-plug power strip with 4 wide-spaced AC outlets and 3 USB ports totaling 5V/3.4A and 17W, in a 4.5 by 1.7 by 1 in body. The listing states cruise ship approval with no surge protection, a 0.4 in thin flat plug with a 45-degree angle, and a 12-month warranty. No on/off switch appears anywhere in the listing, so it does not meet the switch criterion of this roundup.
Who it's for: a traveler or dorm user who wants outlets plus USB in a pocket-size strip. Who should skip it: anyone who specifically needs an on/off switch.
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 23/35, build 19/25, value 19/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 2/5: 68 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 3 ft |
|---|---|
| Outlets | 4 AC + 3 USB |
| USB output | 5V/3.4A, 17W |
| Warranty | 12 months |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Cruise ship approved with no surge protection is stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 12 Months. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Evenpop Switch Cord
A 6.56 ft indoor 3-prong extension cord with an inline on/off switch, 18AWG rated 125V/3A, with a 30-day warranty.
Pros
- 6.56 ft, the longest cord here
- Inline on/off switch
- 3-prong plug (NEMA5-15P to 5-15R)
- 30-day warranty is stated
Cons
- 3A rating, for low-power devices per the listing
- 18AWG wire
- Indoor use only; switch is not waterproof
- 30-day warranty is the briefest stated term here
Detailed Review
Evenpop lists a 6.56 ft indoor 3-prong extension cord with an inline on/off switch, 18AWG triple-core copper wiring rated 125V/3A, with NEMA5-15P to NEMA5-15R plugs and an SVT wire jacket. The bullets warn the switch is not waterproof and the cord is for indoor use only. The spec table states a 30-day warranty. The title, bullets and spec table agree on the rating.
Who it's for: someone who wants the longest cord here with a simple inline switch for indoor lamps and small appliances. Who should skip it: anyone who needs outdoor use or more than 3A.
Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 19/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 2/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 6.56 ft |
|---|---|
| Rating | 3A/125V |
| Wire | 18AWG |
| Warranty | 30 days |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. 3-prong plug is stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 30 days. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Evenpop Black CordBlack version of the 6.56 ft indoor cord with an inline on/off switch.Check on Amazon
SURAIELEC Braided Cord6 ft braided cord with pushbutton switch, rated 15A/1875W, 1-year warranty.Check on Amazon
MARSTEK Waterproof Cord3 ft waterproof inline switch cord rated 20A/125V with IP67 housing.Check on Amazon
Astutivo Foot Switch 2-PackTwo 5.9 ft foot-switch cords, 18AWG, UL recognized switch.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Cord | Office Score | Length | Rating | Switch | Outlets | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Joinfworld Switched Cord | 9.7/10 | 8 ft | 15A/125V, 14AWG | Waterproof inline, lighted | 1 | 2 YEAR | View on Amazon |
| Coolneon Foot Switch | 9.6/10 | 6 ft | 3A/250V or 2x2A/125V | Foot switch | 1 | 5-year | View on Amazon |
| Plugrand Switch Cord | 9.5/10 | 2 ft | 12A/125V (title) | Inline | 2 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Waksmart Flat Plug | 9.4/10 | 3 ft | 125V, USB 17W | Not stated | 4 AC + 3 USB | 12 months | View on Amazon |
| Evenpop Switch Cord | 9.4/10 | 6.56 ft | 3A/125V | Inline | 1 | 30 days | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 23 October 2026. Four of the five state a warranty term; three state a UL listing.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance (cord length, amperage and wattage rating, switch style and outlet count), build (wire gauge, jacket material and plug type), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For an extension cord, safety means a stated UL listing, waterproof rating or 3-prong plug on the listing. Three of the five state a UL listing; the Joinfworld adds a waterproof switch and the Evenpop a 3-prong plug. Four listings state a warranty term: Coolneon at 5 years, Joinfworld at 2 years, Waksmart at 12 months and Evenpop at 30 days. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Joinfworld Switched Cord | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 20 | 9 | 3 |
| Coolneon Foot Switch | 9.6 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 8 | 4 |
| Plugrand Switch Cord | 9.5 | 27 | 20 | 20 | 8 | 0 |
| Waksmart Flat Plug | 9.4 | 23 | 19 | 19 | 5 | 2 |
| Evenpop Switch Cord | 9.4 | 26 | 19 | 19 | 5 | 2 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best extension cord with on off switch
Match the amperage to the load
Cords are rated by amperage, voltage and wattage: the Joinfworld states 15A/125V and 1875W on 14AWG wire, the Plugrand 12A/125V in the title on 16AWG, the Coolneon 3A/250V or 2x2A/125V, and the Evenpop 3A/125V. A lower AWG number means thicker wire: the Joinfworld’s 14AWG carries its stated 15A while the 18AWG Evenpop is rated 3A. If the wall outlet itself is the bottleneck, a wall outlet extender adds receptacles at the source.
Pick the switch style for where the cord lives
Inline switches sit mid-cord: the Joinfworld’s is waterproof and lighted, the Plugrand’s and Evenpop’s are simple inline buttons. The Coolneon uses a foot pedal you step on, which suits a floor lamp behind a sofa. The Waksmart lists no switch at all, so it cannot do this job. For cords that run underfoot, a flat extension cord for under rug lies flatter than a round one.
Count the outlets, then count the devices
The Plugrand’s 2 outlets suit a lamp plus a charger on a short run. The Waksmart’s 4 AC outlets and 3 USB ports suit a travel bag, though it has no switch. The other three offer a single outlet each, so plan for one device per cord.
| Cord | Length | Outlets | USB |
|---|---|---|---|
| Joinfworld Switched Cord | 8 ft | 1 | Not stated |
| Coolneon Foot Switch | 6 ft | 1 | Not stated |
| Plugrand Switch Cord | 2 ft | 2 | Not stated |
| Waksmart Flat Plug | 3 ft | 4 AC | 3 ports |
| Evenpop Switch Cord | 6.56 ft | 1 | Not stated |
Figures as stated in each listing. Only the Waksmart lists USB ports. See best power strip with outlets for more multi-outlet options.
Read the warranty line, not the headline
Four listings state a warranty term. The Coolneon states 5 years with returnless replacement, the Joinfworld 2 years, the Waksmart 12 months and the Evenpop 30 days. The Plugrand states no manufacturer warranty. A switch is a moving part, so a written term matters more here than on a plain cord.
Setup Notes
- Measure the run first: cords here run from the 2 ft Plugrand to the 6.56 ft Evenpop.
- Match the plug to the device: the Joinfworld and Evenpop list 3-prong plugs, the Plugrand and Coolneon list 2-prong polarized plugs.
- For outdoor use, only the Joinfworld states a waterproof switch; the Evenpop states its switch is not waterproof.
- Check the rating before you plug in: the Joinfworld states 15A/1875W, the Plugrand 12A/125V in the title, the Evenpop 3A/125V.
Frequently Asked Questions
How are extension cords rated?
Cords are rated by wire gauge (AWG), amperage and wattage. The Joinfworld states 14AWG at 15A/1875W, the Plugrand 16AWG at 12A/125V in the title, and the Evenpop 18AWG at 3A/125V. Match all three figures to the device you plan to plug in.
What does the AWG number mean on an extension cord?
A lower AWG number means thicker wire, which carries more current. The Joinfworld’s 14AWG wires carry its stated 15A, while the 18AWG Evenpop is rated 3A. The Joinfworld bullets make the same point against a traditional 16AWG cord.
Can I use an indoor extension cord outdoors?
Only if the listing says so. The Evenpop states its switch is not waterproof and the cord is for indoor use only. The Joinfworld states a waterproof inline switch for indoor or outdoor use.
What is the difference between a 2-prong and 3-prong cord?
The Joinfworld and Evenpop list 3-prong plugs; the Plugrand and Coolneon list 2-prong polarized plugs. Match the plug to your device: 2-prong cords suit 2-prong devices like lamps and chargers.
Do any of these cords state a warranty?
Four of the five do. The Coolneon states 5 years with returnless replacement, the Joinfworld 2 years, the Waksmart 12 months and the Evenpop 30 days. The Plugrand states no manufacturer warranty.
Related guides
See every surge protectors and cable management guide and all audio, power and connectivity guides. Also see our best indoor extension cord. Also see our best extension cord reel.
More picks: extension cord organizer, surge protector with warranty, docking stations and USB hubs.




