Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Surge Protectors and Cable Management

Best Outlet Extender with Shelf (2026): 4 Picks Compared

Four outlet extenders with shelves were compared for home and dorm use, ranked by outlets, USB ports, surge figure and warranty.

Best Outlet Extender with Shelf (2026): 4 Picks Compared

The best outlet extender with shelf solves a small, nagging problem: the phone charges on the bathroom counter next to the sink, or the toothbrush has nowhere to sit while it charges. This guide compares outlet extenders with shelves using only what each listing publishes, checking AC outlets, USB ports, surge figures, shelf size and warranty. Every number below comes from the listings.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Shiningwell Outlet Extender
    Best Overall Shiningwell Outlet Extender: 1800-Joule surge figure, 10-lb shelf and 1-year warranty Check price on Amazon
  • AICODE Outlet Extender
    Best Night Light AICODE Outlet Extender: RGB night light with 6 color modes and a 9.45 x 3.94 inch shelf Check price on Amazon
  • Mifaso Outlet Extender Black
    Best Spacing Mifaso Outlet Extender Black: 1.7-inch spaced outlets with 4 USB ports and touch night light Check price on Amazon
  • Mifaso Outlet Extender White
    Best Compact Mifaso Outlet Extender White: 6 AC outlets with swivel plug and removable shelf Check price on Amazon

The picks

Shiningwell Outlet Extender

Shiningwell Outlet Extender

shiningwell9.7/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 6-AC outlet extender with 3 USB ports, an 1800-Joule surge figure, a dimmable night light and a 10-lb shelf.

Pros

  • 1800-Joule surge protection with over-current, over-charging and overheating safeguards.
  • Manufactured in accordance with U.S. electrical safety standards, per the listing.
  • Shelf measures 3.4 x 7.9 inches and supports up to 10 lbs.
  • 1 Year warranty stated in the spec table.

Cons

  • The spec table lists 6 ports against the 9 devices in the bullets.
  • The shelf requires a vertically mounted outlet.
  • GFCI outlets fit only if the plastic alignment posts are trimmed.
  • Only one USB-C port among the three USB ports.
Detailed Review

The shiningwell listing describes a 6-AC outlet extender with 3 USB ports (1 USB-C and 2 USB-A, 5V/3.4A total), 1800-Joule surge protection, a removable 3.4 x 7.9 inch shelf rated for 10 lbs, a dimmable night light with an ambient sensor, and a 1 Year warranty. The spec table lists 6 ports while the bullets say it charges up to 9 devices; the 9-device figure matches 6 AC plus 3 USB.

Who it's for: buyers who want an 1800-Joule surge figure and a 1-year warranty. Who should skip it: anyone with horizontal outlets, since the shelf requires vertical mounting.

Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
AC outlets6
USB ports3 (1 USB-C, 2 USB-A)
Surge joules1800-Joule
Shelf3.4 x 7.9 inches, 10 lbs

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. 1800-Joule surge protection; manufactured in accordance with U.S. electrical safety standards, so safety scores 8 of 10. 1 Year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

AICODE Outlet Extender

AICODE Outlet Extender

AICODE9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 6-AC outlet extender with 3 USB ports, a 900J surge figure and an RGB night light with a large detachable shelf.

Pros

  • Charges 9 devices at once: 6 AC outlets plus 3 USB ports.
  • RGB night light with 6 color modes and an auto sensor, 0.6W.
  • Detachable 9.45x3.94-inch shelf with no tools required.
  • 12-month replacement backing stated in the bullets.

Cons

  • Not for horizontal outlets.
  • No UL or ETL certification is stated.
  • The 900J surge figure is stated only in the title.
  • USB-C limited to 5V/3A with no higher wattage stated.
Detailed Review

The AICODE listing describes a 9-device extender with 6 AC outlets (125V/15A, 1875W max), 3 USB ports (1 USB-C at 5V/3A and 2 USB-A at 5V/2.4A each), a 900J surge figure in the title, an RGB night light with 6 color modes and auto sensor, and a detachable 9.45x3.94-inch shelf. It is not for horizontal outlets, and the center screw is optional.

Who it's for: buyers who want a night light and a large shelf on the extender. Who should skip it: anyone with horizontal outlets or anyone who needs a UL or ETL certification.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 3/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
AC outlets6
USB ports3 (1 USB-C, 2 USB-A)
Surge joules900J
Shelf9.45 x 3.94 inches

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. 900J surge protection with flame-retardant PC housing, so safety scores 6 of 10. 12-Month Replacement And 30-Day Money Back. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Mifaso Outlet Extender Black

Mifaso Outlet Extender Black

Mifaso9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 5-AC outlet extender with 4 USB ports, wide 1.7-inch outlet spacing and a touch-controlled night light.

Pros

  • 4 USB ports against 3 on the other picks.
  • 1.7-inch spacing between outlets fits large chargers.
  • 1.5W LED night light with touch on/off.
  • 1 year warranty in the spec table.

Cons

  • 5 AC outlets against 6 on the other picks.
  • No joule figure is stated for the surge protector.
  • No UL or ETL certification is stated.
  • The plastic prong must be cut off for GFCI and USB outlets.
Detailed Review

The black Mifaso listing describes a 3-sided extender with 5 AC outlets, 2 USB-A and 2 USB-C ports, 1.7-inch spacing between outlets, a 4.7 x 6.3 inch shelf, a 1.5W touch night light and a surge protector, with a 1 year warranty. No joule figure is given for the surge protection, and the plug is Type A 2-pin.

Who it's for: buyers who need 4 USB ports and wide outlet spacing. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated joule figure or a UL certification.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 3/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
AC outlets5
USB ports4 (2 USB-A, 2 USB-C)
Outlet spacing1.7 inches
Shelf4.7 x 6.3 inches

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Surge protector with screw mount for duplex outlets, so safety scores 4 of 10. 1 year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Mifaso Outlet Extender White

Mifaso Outlet Extender White

Mifaso9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 6-AC outlet extender with 3 USB ports, a swivel plug and a removable shelf.

Pros

  • 6 AC outlets (15A/125V/1875W) with a swivel plug.
  • 1 USB-C and 2 USB-A with 5V/3.1A total output.
  • Removable shelf keeps devices off the counter.
  • 490 Joule surge figure with over-current, over-charging and over-heating safeguards.

Cons

  • The spec table lists 1800J against the 490 Joule in the bullets.
  • No warranty term is stated.
  • No UL or ETL certification is stated.
  • No night light is included.
Detailed Review

The white Mifaso listing describes a 6-AC outlet extender (15A/125V/1875W) with 1 USB-C and 2 USB-A ports (5V/3.1A total), a removable shelf, a swivel plug and a 490 Joule surge protection. The spec table lists 1800J for surge protection against the 490 Joule in the bullets; trust the bullets.

Who it's for: buyers who want a compact 6-outlet extender with a shelf and no light. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated warranty term or a night light.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
AC outlets6
USB ports3 (1 USB-C, 2 USB-A)
Surge joules490 Joule (bullets)
PlugSwivel

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. 490 Joule surge protection with over-current, over-charging and over-heating safeguards, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • Shiningwell 8-in-1 ExtenderShiningwell 8-in-1 Extender6 AC outlets with 2 USB ports, FCC Certified, shelf includedCheck on Amazon
  • AICODE 2-Pack ExtenderAICODE 2-Pack ExtenderTwo extenders with 6 AC outlets, 3 USB ports and 900J surge protectionCheck on Amazon
  • TESSAN Outlet ExtenderTESSAN Outlet Extender6 AC and 3 USB with dimmable night light and shelfCheck on Amazon

Compare the picks

Outlet extender Office Score AC outlets USB ports Surge joules Shelf Warranty Amazon
Shiningwell Outlet Extender 9.7/10 6 3 (1 USB-C, 2 USB-A) 1800-Joule 3.4 x 7.9 in, 10 lbs 1 Year View on Amazon
AICODE Outlet Extender 9.6/10 6 3 (1 USB-C, 2 USB-A) 900J 9.45 x 3.94 in 12-Month Replacement View on Amazon
Mifaso Outlet Extender Black 9.5/10 5 4 (2 USB-A, 2 USB-C) Not stated 4.7 x 6.3 in 1 year View on Amazon
Mifaso Outlet Extender White 9.5/10 6 3 (1 USB-C, 2 USB-A) 490 Joule Removable Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 23 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For outlet extenders, safety covers the surge figure, stated certifications and overload safeguards. The shiningwell and the black Mifaso each list a 1 year warranty term, and the AICODE lists a 12-month replacement; the white Mifaso states no term. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Shiningwell Outlet Extender 9.7 30 21 21 8 3
AICODE Outlet Extender 9.6 30 20 21 6 3
Mifaso Outlet Extender Black 9.5 28 20 20 4 3
Mifaso Outlet Extender White 9.5 29 20 20 5 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best outlet extender with shelf

Every pick here turns one duplex outlet into a charging station with a place to set the phone. The differences are port count, surge figure, shelf size and which outlets they fit. Measure the wall space around the outlet too, since a wide unit can cover the second duplex.

Count the outlets and ports

The white Mifaso, AICODE and shiningwell each list 6 AC outlets, while the black Mifaso lists 5 AC outlets with wider spacing. On USB, the black Mifaso lists 4 ports (2 USB-A and 2 USB-C) against 3 ports (1 USB-C and 2 USB-A) on the other three. The white Mifaso, AICODE and shiningwell each list 1875W total for the AC outlets. USB-C ports matter for newer phones and tablets: the black Mifaso lists 2 USB-C ports against 1 on the other three. The table below lines up the counts side by side.

Pick AC outlets USB ports Surge joules
Shiningwell Outlet Extender 6 3 (1 USB-C, 2 USB-A) 1800-Joule
AICODE Outlet Extender 6 3 (1 USB-C, 2 USB-A) 900J
Mifaso Outlet Extender Black 5 4 (2 USB-A, 2 USB-C) Not stated
Mifaso Outlet Extender White 6 3 (1 USB-C, 2 USB-A) 490 Joule

Compare the surge figures

The shiningwell lists an 1800-Joule surge figure, the AICODE lists 900J in its title, and the white Mifaso lists 490 Joule in its bullets. Note the white Mifaso spec table says 1800J against the 490 Joule in the bullets; the bullets take precedence. The black Mifaso states a surge protector without any joule figure. Higher joules mean more stated absorption capacity, but only the figures the listing prints can be compared.

Check the shelf and the outlet it fits

The AICODE shelf measures 9.45 x 3.94 inches, the shiningwell shelf 3.4 x 7.9 inches with support up to 10 lbs, and the black Mifaso shelf 4.7 x 6.3 inches; the white Mifaso shelf is removable with no size stated. Fit matters too: the AICODE is not for horizontal outlets, and the shiningwell shelf requires a vertically mounted outlet. The white Mifaso adds a swivel plug. A shelf that holds the phone while it charges keeps the cord short and the counter clear. For keeping the whole setup tidy, see the power strip holder guide, and for desk-side power see desk grommet with power outlet.

Read the warranty line

The shiningwell spec table states a 1 Year warranty and the black Mifaso spec table states 1 year. The AICODE bullets promise a 12-month replacement and 30-day money back. The white Mifaso states no warranty term. A stated term beats a general support promise when the unit fails early. Keep the order confirmation until the term ends.

Setup Notes

  • Check the outlet type first: the AICODE is not for horizontal outlets, and the shiningwell shelf requires a vertically mounted outlet.
  • Match the load to the listed watts: the white Mifaso, AICODE and shiningwell each list 1875W total for the AC outlets.
  • Plan the shelf load: the shiningwell shelf lists support up to 10 lbs; the other shelves state no load figure.
  • Use the screw mount where listed: the AICODE center screw is optional for extra stability, and the black Mifaso includes a screw for duplex outlets.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many devices can these extenders charge at once?

The AICODE, shiningwell and black Mifaso each list 9 devices at once, while the white Mifaso lists 6 AC outlets plus 3 USB ports. Count the ports you will actually use before choosing.

What surge figures do the picks list?

The shiningwell lists 1800-Joule, the AICODE lists 900J, and the white Mifaso lists 490 Joule in its bullets. The black Mifaso states a surge protector with no joule figure.

Do these fit GFCI or horizontal outlets?

The AICODE states it is not for horizontal outlets. The shiningwell fits GFCI outlets only if the plastic alignment posts are trimmed off. The black Mifaso notes its plastic prong must be cut off for GFCI and USB outlets.

Which picks state a warranty?

The shiningwell lists a 1 Year warranty and the black Mifaso lists 1 year. The AICODE promises a 12-month replacement with 30-day money back. The white Mifaso states no warranty term.

How much weight can the shelves hold?

The shiningwell shelf lists support up to 10 lbs. The other three shelves state no load figure, so keep heavy items off them.

Shiningwell Outlet Extender
Still deciding? Our top pickShiningwell Outlet Extender
Check price on Amazon

See every Surge Protectors and Cable Management guide and all Audio, Power and Connectivity guides.

More picks: power strip with timer, short extension cord, USB hub with power delivery, power strip with remote control.