A 9 a.m. video call starts and the spare-room office is already a mess: printer paper on the floor, tax folders against the desk leg, a chair sinking a little more every week. A steel storage cabinet fixes the floor part of that problem: it locks, it holds real weight, and it stays steady under a bottom shelf of paper reams. We compared five locking steel storage cabinets for the best steel storage cabinet, using only what each listing publishes: shelf count, weight capacity, steel thickness, lock type and stated dimensions.
OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall INTERGREAT 72in Cabinet: 0.88mm steel, 180 lb per shelf, 900 lb total, wall-mount anti-tip Check price on Amazon
Largest Capacity SISESOL 72x36x18 Cabinet: 72x36x18 in, 5 shelves, 900 lb total, 180 lb per shelf Check price on Amazon
Best for Tools SUXXAN Rolling Cabinet: Two inside-door pegboards, 5 shelves, rolling casters, 600 lb Check price on Amazon
Best Anti-Tip Greenvelly 72in Cabinet: Anti-tip wall fix, 150 lb per shelf, 3-point lock, 0.8mm steel Check price on Amazon
Best Rolling SISESOL Rolling Cabinet: 360-degree casters, lockable, 75 in tall, 3-point locking Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Office Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | INTERGREAT 72in Cabinet | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | SISESOL 72x36x18 Cabinet | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | SUXXAN Rolling Cabinet | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Greenvelly 72in Cabinet | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | SISESOL Rolling Cabinet | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

INTERGREAT 72in Cabinet
A 72 inch locking steel cabinet with 4 adjustable shelves, 0.88mm cold-rolled steel, 180 lb per shelf and a 900 lb total capacity with wall-mount anti-tip holes.
Pros
- 0.88mm cold-rolled steel is the thickest stated in this group
- 180 lb per shelf and 900 lb total capacity are clearly stated
- Wall-mount holes with 2 pre-drilled points for anti-tip fixing
- 3-point locking system with 2 keys is stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated in the listing
- Bullets say 72 inch but spec table lists 71 inch height in one place
- Wall mounting requires a suitable wall and hardware not listed
- Assembly is required with no stated time
Detailed Review
INTERGREAT lists a 72 inch tall steel cabinet with 2 doors and 4 adjustable shelves, made from 0.88mm cold-rolled steel with a powder-coated finish. Each shelf holds 180 lb per the bullets, for a 900 lb total. The 3-point lock uses 2 keys, and the back panel has 2 pre-drilled holes for wall mounting to prevent tipping. The spec table gives 16 by 32 by 72 inch dimensions and 81.8 lb. One inconsistency: the bullets describe a 72 inch cabinet while the spec table lists 71 inches in the size field; the 72 inch figure appears more often, so we use it. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: someone who wants the thickest steel and highest per-shelf capacity here, with wall mounting. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated warranty or a rolling cabinet.
Its Office Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Steel thickness | 0.88mm |
|---|---|
| Weight capacity | 900 lb total, 180 lb per shelf |
| Dimensions | 72x32x16 in |
| Lock | 3-point, 2 keys |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Wall-mount anti-tip holes and 3-point locking system are stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SISESOL 72x36x18 Cabinet
A wide 72 by 36 by 18 inch steel cabinet with 5 adjustable shelves, a 900 lb total capacity, 180 lb per shelf and a 3-point locking door with 2 keys.
Pros
- 36 inch width and 18 inch depth give the largest footprint here
- 5 adjustable shelves with 180 lb per shelf are stated
- 900 lb total capacity matches the highest here
- Cold-rolled steel with powder coating, waterproof and rust-resistant per the listing
Cons
- No warranty term is stated in the listing
- At 91 to 92 lb it is the heaviest cabinet here
- Bullets say 5 shelves but spec table lists 6 in one field
- Large footprint needs a wide, level floor space
Detailed Review
SISESOL lists a 72 by 36 by 18 inch metal storage cabinet with 2 doors and 5 adjustable shelves, cold-rolled steel with a phosphor-free powder coating the listing calls waterproof, scratch-resistant and rust-resistant. The 3-point lock uses 2 keys with magnetic door catches. Total capacity is 900 lb with 180 lb per shelf. The bullets describe 5 shelves while the spec table lists 6 in the Number of Shelves field; the title and bullets consistently say 5, so we use that. Item weight is 91 lb in the bullets and 92 lb in the spec table. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: someone who needs the widest cabinet here for bulky items, with the joint-highest stated capacity. Who should skip it: anyone short on floor space or needing a stated warranty.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Dimensions | 72x36x18 in |
|---|---|
| Shelves | 5 adjustable |
| Weight capacity | 900 lb total, 180 lb per shelf |
| Lock | 3-point, 2 keys |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. 3-point locking system with 2 keys and magnetic door catches are stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SUXXAN Rolling Cabinet
A 71 inch rolling steel cabinet with 5 adjustable shelves, two inside-door pegboards, locking casters and a 600 lb stated capacity.
Pros
- Two inside-door pegboards for hooks and hand tools are unique here
- Four swivel casters with two locking brakes for repositioning
- 5 adjustable shelves with a 600 lb total capacity
- Dent-resistant powder-coated steel is stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated in the listing
- 600 lb capacity is lower than the two 900 lb cabinets
- Assembly is required with no stated time
- Pegboard hooks are not included per the listing
Detailed Review
SUXXAN lists a 71 by 32 by 16 inch rolling metal cabinet with 2 doors, 5 adjustable shelves and two pegboard panels inside the doors for compatible hooks and hand tools. Four swivel casters make it repositionable, two locking to hold it in place. The cabinet locks with a key, and total capacity is 600 lb. The spec table lists a 94.8 lb item weight and a powder-coated finish the listing calls dent-resistant. Assembly is required. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: someone who wants tool storage with pegboards plus a rolling cabinet for a garage or workshop. Who should skip it: anyone needing the highest weight capacity or a stated warranty.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Dimensions | 71x32x16 in |
|---|---|
| Shelves | 5 adjustable |
| Weight capacity | 600 lb total |
| Special | Two inside-door pegboards, rolling casters |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Locking doors and locking casters are stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Greenvelly 72in Cabinet
A 72 inch steel cabinet with 4 adjustable shelves, 150 lb per shelf, a 3-point interlocking lock and an anti-tip wall-fix design.
Pros
- Anti-tip design with wall-fix points is stated for safety
- 150 lb per shelf capacity is clearly stated
- 0.8mm cold-rolled steel with reinforced structure
- 3-point interlocking system with 2 keys
Cons
- No warranty term is stated in the listing
- 4 shelves is fewer than the 5-shelf cabinets here
- 600 lb total is lower than the 900 lb cabinets
- Assembly is required with no stated time
Detailed Review
Greenvelly lists a 72 inch tall metal cabinet with 2 doors and 4 adjustable shelves in 0.8mm cold-rolled steel with a reinforced structure and a wear-resistant coating. Each shelf holds 150 lb per the bullets. The 3-point lock uses 2 keys, and the listing describes an anti-tip design that fixes to the wall. The spec table gives 16 by 32 by 72 inch dimensions and an 84 lb item weight. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: someone who wants a stated anti-tip design for a home with children or a classroom. Who should skip it: anyone needing five shelves or the highest capacity.
Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Dimensions | 72x32x16 in |
|---|---|
| Shelves | 4 adjustable |
| Weight capacity | 150 lb per shelf |
| Steel | 0.8mm cold-rolled |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Anti-tip wall-fix design and 3-point interlocking lock are stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SISESOL Rolling Cabinet
A 75 inch rolling steel cabinet with lockable 360-degree casters, adjustable shelves and a 3-point locking door with 2 keys.
Pros
- 75 inch height is the tallest cabinet here
- Detachable 360-degree swivel casters for moving between rooms
- 3-point locking system with 2 keys is stated
- Cold-rolled steel with powder coating per the listing
Cons
- Title says 5 tiers but bullets say 4 adjustable shelves, a contradiction
- No weight capacity figure is stated in the listing
- No warranty term is stated
- Assembly is required with no stated time
Detailed Review
SISESOL lists a 75 inch tall rolling metal cabinet with 2 doors, detachable 360-degree swivel casters and a 3-point lock with 2 keys. The title describes 5 tiers while the bullets describe 4 adjustable shelves; the spec table lists 5 in the Number of Shelves field, so the shelf count is not consistent. Dimensions are 75 by 31.5 by 16 inch, 85 lb. The frame has a powder-coated finish the listing calls waterproof, scratch-resistant and rust-resistant. No weight capacity and no warranty term are stated.
Who it's for: someone who wants the tallest rolling cabinet here for moving between a garage and a home office. Who should skip it: anyone needing a stated weight capacity or a consistent shelf count.
Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Dimensions | 75x31.5x16 in |
|---|---|
| Shelves | 4 adjustable (title says 5 tiers) |
| Mobility | 360-degree swivel casters, detachable |
| Lock | 3-point, 2 keys |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. 3-point locking system with 2 keys is stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Anchor it. Anchor tall bookshelves and file cabinets to the wall with the supplied hardware or an anti-tip kit, load the lowest shelves and drawers first, and open one drawer at a time.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Letaya 71in Cabinet5 shelves, 3-point lock, wall-mount holes, 0.8mm steel frameCheck on Amazon
Greenvelly 72×36 CabinetWide 36 in model, 4 shelves, anti-tip wall fix, 3-point lockCheck on Amazon
Kelueo Rolling Cabinet1,000 lb capacity, rolling casters, magnetic doors, vent holesCheck on Amazon
BYNSOE Rolling Cabinet75 in tall, 4 shelves, 360-degree wheels, 180 lb per shelfCheck on Amazon
Tivostaral 71in Cabinet1,000 lb total, 5-year warranty stated, anti-tip, 0.9mm steelCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Cabinet | Office Score | Shelves | Weight capacity | Dimensions | Lock | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| INTERGREAT 72in Cabinet | 9.7/10 | 4 adjustable | 900 lb total, 180 lb per shelf | 72x32x16 in | 3-point, 2 keys | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| SISESOL 72x36x18 Cabinet | 9.6/10 | 5 adjustable | 900 lb total, 180 lb per shelf | 72x36x18 in | 3-point, 2 keys | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| SUXXAN Rolling Cabinet | 9.6/10 | 5 adjustable | 600 lb total | 71x32x16 in | Key lock | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Greenvelly 72in Cabinet | 9.6/10 | 4 adjustable | 600 lb total, 150 lb per shelf | 72x32x16 in | 3-point, 2 keys | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| SISESOL Rolling Cabinet | 9.5/10 | 4 adjustable | Not stated | 75×31.5×16 in | 3-point, 2 keys | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 23 October 2026. None of the five state a warranty term.
How we scored them
The Office Score weighs performance (shelf count, capacity, stated dimensions), build (steel thickness, frame, finish and item weight), value for the stated specs, safety and warranty. For a storage cabinet, safety means a stated locking system and anti-tip or wall-fix features; all five state a lock, and the INTERGREAT and Greenvelly add wall-fix anti-tip points. None state a warranty term, so warranty scores zero across the board. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Office Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| INTERGREAT 72in Cabinet | 9.7 | 30 | 22 | 21 | 8 | 0 |
| SISESOL 72x36x18 Cabinet | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 7 | 0 |
| SUXXAN Rolling Cabinet | 9.6 | 29 | 21 | 21 | 7 | 0 |
| Greenvelly 72in Cabinet | 9.6 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 8 | 0 |
| SISESOL Rolling Cabinet | 9.5 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 7 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best steel storage cabinet
Measure the footprint before anything else
Width and depth decide where a cabinet can live. The SISESOL 72x36x18 needs a 36 by 18 inch patch of floor, the widest here; the others sit at 32 by 16 or 31.5 by 16. Measure the wall or alcove, leaving room for the doors to swing open. In a small storage corner, the narrower 16 inch depth keeps it out of the walkway.
Read the per-shelf capacity, not just the total
Total capacity hides how the weight spreads. The INTERGREAT and the wide SISESOL each state 900 lb total with 180 lb per shelf. The Greenvelly states 150 lb per shelf, and the SUXXAN states 600 lb total without a per-shelf figure. Match your heaviest item, a case of paper or a toolbox, against the per-shelf number, not the headline total.
| Cabinet | Height | Item weight | Steel |
|---|---|---|---|
| INTERGREAT 72in Cabinet | 72 in | 81.8 lb | 0.88mm |
| SISESOL 72x36x18 Cabinet | 72 in | 91 lb | Cold-rolled |
| SUXXAN Rolling Cabinet | 71 in | 94.8 lb | Metal |
| Greenvelly 72in Cabinet | 72 in | 84 lb | 0.8mm |
| SISESOL Rolling Cabinet | 75 in | 85 lb | Cold-rolled |
Figures as stated in each listing; only two listings state a steel gauge.
Lock type matters more than lock count
All five lock with a key, but the mechanism differs. Four state a 3-point locking system, which engages at three points on the door frame; the SUXXAN states a key lock without that detail. If the cabinet holds documents or tools you want secured, the 3-point statement is the stronger claim, and each of those four includes 2 keys.
Rolling or fixed, and the anti-tip question
The SUXXAN and the tall SISESOL roll on casters, which suits a garage where the cabinet moves between work zones; both have locking casters. The INTERGREAT and Greenvelly state wall-fix anti-tip points instead, which suits a home office or classroom where children or foot traffic could tip it. Pick mobility or stability for the room, and check that a rolling storage cabinet fits through your doorways.
Count the shelves you will actually adjust
Five shelves sound better than four until you map your items. The wide SISESOL and the SUXXAN state 5 adjustable shelves, the INTERGREAT and Greenvelly state 4, and the tall SISESOL contradicts itself between 5 tiers in the title and 4 adjustable shelves in the bullets. Count the tall items first, a printer, binders, a toolbox, and buy the shelf count that fits the tallest thing, not the biggest number.
Setup Notes
- Measure the floor footprint and door swing before ordering; the widest cabinet here needs 36 by 18 inches plus clearance.
- Check the per-shelf capacity against your heaviest item, a case of paper or a toolbox, not just the total.
- For wall-fix models, confirm the wall type and have suitable anchors; none are included.
- Assemble near the final spot; the heaviest cabinet here is listed at 91 to 92 lb before loading.
- Keep the 2 keys somewhere separate; no listing describes a replacement key process.
Frequently Asked Questions
What cabinets are best for storage in a home office?
A locking steel cabinet with adjustable shelves suits a home office, securing documents and holding paper and equipment weight; the INTERGREAT and the wide SISESOL each state 180 lb per shelf with a 3-point lock.
How much weight can a steel storage cabinet hold?
Stated totals here run from 600 lb on the SUXXAN and Greenvelly to 900 lb on the INTERGREAT and the wide SISESOL. The tall rolling SISESOL states no capacity, so treat it as unknown.
Do these cabinets need to be fixed to the wall?
The INTERGREAT and Greenvelly state wall-fix anti-tip points, for use wherever children or foot traffic are near. The rolling models use locking casters instead and are meant to move.
What does a 3-point locking system mean?
It is the maker’s term for a lock that engages the door at three points on the frame rather than one. Four of the five state it; the SUXXAN states a key lock without that detail.
Can I adjust the shelves to fit tall items?
All five list adjustable shelves on pegs, and the wide SISESOL and SUXXAN notes say shelves can be removed for standing room. Measure your tallest item first, then set the spacing to clear it.
Related guides
See every bookshelves and file cabinets guide and all office machines and storage guides. Also see our best lockable storage cabinet. Also see our best storage cabinet rolling. Also see our best small storage cabinet. Also see our best storage cabinet corner. Also see our best storage cabinet for garage. Also see our best extra large storage cabinet with doors. Also see our best storage cabinet for office supplies.
More picks: bookshelves and file cabinets, office machines and storage, desk organizers and whiteboards.




