Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Home office gear, compared spec by spec.

Surge Protectors and Cable Management

Best Surge Protector for Whole House (2026): 4 Compared

Four whole-house surge protectors compared: UL ratings, replaceable modules, warranties and amp figures, on what each listing actually states.

Best Surge Protector for Whole House (2026): 4 Compared

The best surge protector for whole house protection sits at your breaker panel and guards every circuit at once. We compared four listings, from a UL-listed unit with a 10-year warranty to compact high-amp models, on ratings, features and what each listing actually states. Every figure below comes from the Amazon listings, not from our own electrical measurements.

OfficeKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

The picks

Intermatic IG2240-IMSK

Intermatic IG2240-IMSK

Intermatic9.6/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 120/240 VAC UL-listed whole-house protector with replaceable IMODULES and a under 50,000 10-year connected equipment warranty; suits long-term protection.

Pros

  • UL Listed whole-house protector stated
  • Replaceable IMODULES, no rewiring
  • under 50,000 connected equipment warranty, 10 years
  • Type 1 enclosure, tamper-proof doors

Cons

  • 7 lb, the heaviest here
  • Metal enclosure, indoor only stated
  • Higher complexity than fixed units
  • No stated surge amp rating
Detailed Review

Intermatic lists the IG2240-IMSK as a 120/240 VAC UL Listed whole-house surge protector with three replaceable IMODULES and LED status lights. The bullets state a under 50,000 connected equipment warranty for 10 years, a module power switch for maintenance, and a Type 1 enclosure with tamper-proof doors. The spec table gives 7 pounds and a metal build. The listing states no surge amp rating.

Who it's for: homeowners who want maintainable, warrantied whole-house protection. Who should skip it: anyone who wants the simplest install.

Its Office Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Voltage120/240 VAC
RatingUL Listed
Warrantyunder 50,000, 10 years
Weight7 pounds

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL Listed, so safety scores 5 of 10. under 50,000 connected equipment warranty, 10 years. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Eaton CHSPT2SURGE

Eaton CHSPT2SURGE

Eaton9.5/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A Type 2 SPD, NEMA 4, single phase 120/240V; suits panel mounting.

Pros

  • Single phase 120/240V stated
  • NEMA 4 enclosure
  • Fits any load center stated
  • Quick connect design stated

Cons

  • No stated warranty
  • 13.44 oz, light but small
  • Type 2 only
  • No stated surge amp rating
Detailed Review

Eaton lists the CHSPT2SURGE as a Type 2 SPD whole home surge protector, NEMA 4, single phase 120/240 volts. The bullets state it connects to any manufacturer's load center with a quick connect design. The spec table gives 13.44 ounces and wall mounting. No warranty and no surge amp rating are stated.

Who it's for: homeowners who want a UL-rated Type 2 unit that fits any panel. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty.

Its Office Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 70 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
TypeType 2 SPD
EnclosureNEMA 4
Voltage120/240V
Weight13.44 ounces

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No UL 1449 listing or joule rating is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Furniqro FHSPD108S

Furniqro FHSPD108S

Furniqro9.4/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 108,000-amp whole-house protector for 120/240V with LED and audible alarm; suits high-capacity needs.

Pros

  • 108,000 amps in title
  • LED status and audible alarm
  • Indoor/outdoor enclosure
  • 2-pole 20A breaker recommended

Cons

  • Spec table says 60,000 amps, not 108,000
  • No warranty stated
  • 0.46 kg compact
  • No UL listing stated
Detailed Review

Furniqro lists the FHSPD108S with 108,000 amps in the title, though the spec table says 60,000 amps surge spike capacity. The bullets describe LED status indicators, an audible alarm, indoor/outdoor use and compatibility with all load center brands at 120/240V, 60Hz. The spec table gives 7.6 by 3.58 by 2.56 in and 0.46 kg. No warranty and no UL listing are stated.

Who it's for: buyers who want a compact high-capacity unit. Who should skip it: anyone who wants UL listing or a stated warranty.

Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 67 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Amps108,000 (title); 60,000 (spec)
Voltage120/240V
Size7.6 x 3.58 x 2.56 in
Weight0.46 kg

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No UL 1449 listing or joule rating is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Furniqro FHSPD36S

Furniqro FHSPD36S

Furniqro9.4/10 Office Score
i
The Office Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 36,000-amp whole-house protector for 120/240V, indoor/outdoor; suits compact installs.

Pros

  • 36,000 amps in title
  • LED status indicators
  • Indoor/outdoor use
  • Compact 7.6 by 3.58 by 2.56 in

Cons

  • Spec table says 60,000 amps, not 36,000
  • Warranty stated as NO
  • No UL listing stated
  • 2-pole 20A breaker needed
Detailed Review

Furniqro lists the FHSPD36S with 36,000 amps in the title, though the spec table says 60,000 amps surge spike capacity. The bullets describe LED status indicators, indoor/outdoor use and 120/240V, 60Hz compatibility. The spec table gives 7.6 by 3.58 by 2.56 in and states the warranty as NO. No UL listing is stated.

Who it's for: buyers who want a compact indoor/outdoor unit. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a warranty or UL listing.

Its Office Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 66 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Amps36,000 (title); 60,000 (spec)
Voltage120/240V
Size7.6 x 3.58 x 2.56 in
WarrantyNO

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 19 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No UL 1449 listing or joule rating is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Surge protector limits. Look for a UL 1449 listing, never plug one strip into another, keep the total load under the stated rating, and replace the unit after a major surge or when its indicator says protection has ended.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Compare the picks

Protector Office Score Rating Voltage Warranty Amazon
Intermatic IG2240-IMSK 9.6/10 UL Listed 120/240 VAC under 50,000, 10 years View on Amazon
Eaton CHSPT2SURGE 9.5/10 Type 2 120/240V Not stated View on Amazon
Furniqro FHSPD108S 9.4/10 Not stated 120/240V Not stated View on Amazon
Furniqro FHSPD36S 9.4/10 Not stated 120/240V NO stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 19 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Office Score weighs performance (stated ratings), build, value, safety and warranty. The Intermatic leads with UL listing, replaceable modules and a under 50,000 10-year connected equipment warranty. The Eaton follows with a Type 2 SPD and a NEMA 4 enclosure. The Furniqro models score lower on stated warranty and certifications. For more, browse our surge protectors and cable management.

Product Office Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Intermatic IG2240-IMSK 9.6 32 20 20 5 3
Eaton CHSPT2SURGE 9.5 30 20 20 0 0
Furniqro FHSPD108S 9.4 28 19 20 0 0
Furniqro FHSPD36S 9.4 27 19 20 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best surge protector for whole house

Ratings and listings

Ratings are where the listings differ most. The Intermatic is UL Listed. Neither the Eaton nor the Furniqro models states a UL listing. Amp ratings need care: the FHSPD108S title says 108,000 amps but its spec table says 60,000; the FHSPD36S title says 36,000 but its spec table also says 60,000. Treat title figures as marketing and spec tables as the listing’s own record; both Furniqro spec tables agree on 60,000 amps.

Warranty and maintenance

The Intermatic states a under 50,000 connected equipment warranty for 10 years, the strongest here, plus replaceable IMODULES with LED status lights so you can swap modules without rewiring. The Eaton states no warranty. The Furniqro FHSPD36S states its warranty as NO; the 108S states none. For a device that absorbs surges, the warranty and replaceable parts matter.

Installation

All four wire to the breaker panel at 120/240V, single phase. The Eaton fits any manufacturer’s load center with a quick-connect design; both Furniqro units recommend a 2-pole 20A breaker and work indoors or outdoors. The Intermatic is a Type 1 enclosure for indoor metal applications with a disconnect switch for maintenance. Hire an electrician; panel work is not DIY.

Before you buy

  • Confirm 120/240V single phase matches your panel.
  • Read the spec table amp rating, not just the title.
  • Check the warranty and whether modules are replaceable.
  • Hire an electrician for panel installation.

Setup Notes

  • Have an electrician install and wire the unit.
  • Use the recommended 2-pole 20A breaker where stated.
  • Check LED status lights regularly.
  • Replace modules or units after major surge events.
  • Keep the area around the panel clear.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which has the best warranty?

The Intermatic, with a under 50,000 connected equipment warranty for 10 years.

Which is UL listed?

The Intermatic is UL Listed. Neither the Eaton nor the Furniqro models states a UL listing.

What is the Furniqro amp rating?

Titles say 108,000 and 36,000 amps; both spec tables say 60,000 amps.

Do I need an electrician?

Yes. These wire to the breaker panel; panel work is not DIY.

Which has replaceable modules?

The Intermatic, with three replaceable IMODULES and LED status lights.

Intermatic IG2240-IMSK
Still deciding? Our top pickIntermatic IG2240-IMSK
Check price on Amazon

See every surge protectors and cable management guide and all connectivity guides.

More picks: surge protectors for pellet stoves and surge protectors with USB-C.